We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we can go back!"”
Review of Orchid Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchid Tel Aviv
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel is very friendly, has a great location on the beach, and the newly renovated rooms are excellent. The breakfast buffet is one of the best, with fresh baked goods and tons of good stuff. They even have free internet with about 5 terminals. It's easy to walk to many sites, or just take short taxi rides anywhere. Nice pool and cool gym if you have time to go there! A great hotel!

Room Tip: High up with a balcony facing the beach is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montreal-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel.Our team here at Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv tries to do their outmost to exceed our guest expectations and we are very delighted to hear that you felt our service was good and that your stay with us was enjoyable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Orchid, thank you for your comments and we wish to have you back on your next visit in Tel Aviv.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit ..

Yours Sincerely

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

My mother-in-law had stayed here just a month earlier and had highly recommended the hotel. It was terrible. Not her fault though as it seems that there are 2 banks of lifts and we got the back end rooms rather than the 2 bed apartments at the beach side of the hotel. Our 2 bed room space was very poor, old and nasty.

The weather was bad and the winds strong so we really noticed the rusted door to the balcony that could not be closed properly and banged all night! We asked but no one could fix it. The corridors stank of who knows what and the interior of the room for my wife and daughter was very poor.

The windows had not been cleaned in ages and one could barely see out of them. I tried to change hotels but in the end gave up as we 'only' had 3 nights there and it was all too hard to change.

Don't stay here unless you have to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPL-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not to the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv standard level.

We have passed your comments to our management team for immediate action.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv hotel in the not so distant future in order to restore your faith in our Hotel.

Kind regards

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have just returned from a 9 day stay in the Park Plaza Orchid, Tel Aviv. First impression, we arrived from a stressful car journey - we had been traveling in the northern part of Israel - and arrived at the hotel at 2 pm on a Friday afternoon! We had to sit and wait until 3.30 until our room was ready! Not impressed!! I walked into the hotel, and on a table display was an orchid - but it was dead! Isn't there the name orchid in the title of this hotel!! The plant was later replenished with another one later that day - but the dining room contain several orchids on the window shelf - all lacking in flower.

Hot and bothered, and by the appearance of several families waiting also for their rooms, I was prepared for sub-standard hotel room. However, we were both surprised with the massive Queen Sized Bed, flat screen tv, wooden floor and sliding door - reading sliding door but no balcony!!

Having had an extended holiday in Israel, we had rather a lot of luggage, but had hardly any wardrobe space or drawers to put all our clothes away. One part of the wardrobe was filled with wiring.

The breakfast was a very substandard Israeli breakfast. I say this because every day the buffet remain the same. Everything was fresh with a selection of 2 salads, a selection of cheeses, hot dishes, breads, rolls, fruits and not the dishes weren't replenished very often. Something I find a common practice in Israel hotels is that the waiting staff like to remove your plates when you've not finished or are just going back to the buffet table for more food.

We choose to dine one night at the hotel whilst it was the start of the Jewish Festival of Shavout! We were advised by the hotel that not many restaurants would be open that night and that we are invited to dine in the hotel for a Gala Dairy Buffet Dinner!!! We arrived back in our hotel room at 8 pm that day - after having a day out - and saw the note. It advised us to book before 10 pm that day and be given a 10% discount. We decided to do this and so on our way out to dinner that evening, we went to the reception to book dinner. She charged us full amount and my husband enquired about the discount! She said this was the price. She called her manager. They still didn't change the price. She spoke to someone else and my husband said he'd go to our hotel room to show them the letter with the discount. On this, she amended the price.

We went for dinner on the Tuesday night - dinner, it was more like breakfast without the breakfast cereal!! The same 2 salads, the same selection of cheeses, hot dishes etc. There was a large group of French staying in the hotel and as soon as they went for the buffet there was nothing left. We asked several times if the buffet was going to be replenished, as there was nothing left. We were very disappointed at having to pay so much money for this. We went out for a walk that everything and low and behold - restaurants were open!! Obviously, not those owned by religious people/kosher restaurants.

The pool area was nice but way too small and got terribly over-grounded with noisy children jumping in and out. There were beds and chairs and parasols and life guard was present but more interested in his tan and his mobile phone. You can to pick up a card from reception to get beach towels - but you could also use the towels for the beach - just across the busy road. At some times, it was like squashed sardines sitting by the pool!! It wasn't relaxing as it was too full of noisy French people.

Overall, the hotel is in a good location if you know Tel Aviv well. The sea is just across the road, and there are shops nearby and plenty of restaurants to choose from - if you want to venture further than the beach to the different areas of Tel Aviv - The Port, Neve Tzedek, the old Train Station, Jaffa. Walking is possible to all areas - though if you like to walk alot then this is ideal but taxis are dead cheap but obviously time-consuming too since the traffic in Tel Aviv is really bad at times.

The rooms were over all clean - though we did complain on the first Saturday that they hadn't been cleaned or that we had clean towels. Their reply, they didn't clean on a Saturday. Having stayed in hotels in Israel for 20 years, I have never encountered this before. Eventually we were given new towels but the following Saturday, the rooms were clean.

Would I stay here again! Possibly. it ticked all the boxes that we needed for a beachy hotel but obviously never eat here for dinner. Guests can also use the Holmes Palace Gym next door. The hotel has free WIFI - a plus in my point!!! - and widly available in all rooms and by the pool! However, I did find that I needed to be in the dining room for my emails to get updated as this never happened in my bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Park Plaza Orchid tel Aviv Hotel and for the detailed feedback, as it is only when people such as you take the time and trouble to do so that we are able to review our standards and improve our level of service and product.

thank you for your comments, which we will use to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Orchid Plaza for 6 nights and would come again. The rooms are rather small, but quiet (we were on the 12th floor) and the bed very comfy. Bed, bathroom and room were clean.

Housekeeping could be improved in some ways: The maids ate our welcome chocolates, which I found quite amusing - they were replaced by an embarrassed front office - probably not the first time that this happened :-))) Housekeeping also forgot - on a regular basis - to replace coffee and milk powder and forgot to wash the coffee cups and drinking glasses once. One day, the dirty towels were taken away without being replaced with new towels. Ironing service is not available (and there is also no iron board in the room), but there is a service station on the 10 floor, which can be used by the guests. The iron is old, though, and there can be quite a queue when several guests want to get ready and iron their clothes.

The pool is rather small (looks much bigger on the pics), but is ok to hang out and relax for a few hours.

The staff at the reception is super friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the free bycicles every day.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel since there are nice breakfast places close by which are a bit cheaper.

All in all, we were happy with the hotel, but have seen better for the price we paid. For Swiss standards, its rather a 3-star hotel, definitely not a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikeswisschocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, General Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable.

With regard to your comment Our Head Housekeeper has followed this up with the Housekeeping Team and further action has been taken in order to avoid a such an incident in the future.

Please be assured that this issue does not reflect the high level of service we strive to provide at the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv hotel We will use your feedback to fine tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed your expectations upon your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for a few days this past March and thought nothing bad about this hotel. We stayed in an Executive Suite and the room was much smaller than represented on the hotel photographs – but this was not a problem, I just wanted to warn this in advance. Hence, the room was beautifully decorated and the furniture was spectacular. The bathroom was large, modern and clean. I have seen other reviews that the window in the shower in a strange place; I did not think it was strange at all, there was plenty of privacy and I thought it was quite nice to take a shower in the afternoon when the sun was shining in the shower.

The only annoying thing in the room was the minibar/fridge. It was full of drawers with drinks, etc which was fine, but if you want to personally put something in the fridge, like a bottle of wine for example, it is impossible. In addition, just to warn people, they have free international calls from the rooms, which is fantastic, but, it is only free calls to landlines -- you will not be able to call to mobile phones internationally – at least not to all countries. Again, this is no big deal, but we just want to warn people about this. We used the internet quite a bit and it was fast and we had no connection problems at all.

The hotel staff was helpful enough when we had questions – although they seemed to be very busy at times so it took a while to ask a question sometimes. The housekeepers in the morning would shout to one another, but this was no big deal as I usually wake up early in the morning naturally – or did I wake up because the housekeepers were shouting???
All in all, I think I would stay here again if I ever come back to Tel Aviv. It was a great location right on the beach and we really enjoyed watching the sun set into the Mediterranean from our enormous balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

I would like to start off by thanking you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a good stay overall.

Please be assured that our housekeeping and Food & Beverage Teams have been made aware of your comments.

On behalf of Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed at the Orchid Park Pla for nearly a month while in Tel Aviv, and loved it. My room was immaculate and I very much liked having a wood floor (nicely refinished) rather than carpet, especially given the sand I sometimes acked in from the beach right across the street. Having free international calls was a great benefit.

Breakfast is superb, both in range of food and in quality. Try the shakshuka, an Israeli mainstay that's sort of poached eggs in salsa. The salads are also first rate.

The health club next door is free to guests and has everything you could want.

The staff is helpful and friendly, but neither fawning nor overly familiar.

Just down Bograshov Street about three blocks is Vaniglia, a great ice cream place. And of course the beach and promenade are immediately across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

On behalf of all the team at park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel. Thank you so much for such a lovely feedback.

The Chefs have a great passion for what he produce, and this can be seen in Buffet breakfast.
We will also make sure your comments are heard by all the departments you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Park Plaza orchid Tel Aviv Hotel for Business or pleasure.

Sincerely


Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

From the moment we arrived at reception we knew how much we were going to enjoy our stay at the hotel. Our room was beautiful, clean and far exceeded what we expected. The staff at the restaurant, pool, bars and reception were attentive and helpful and we cannot wait to return

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPOrchidgm, Manager at Orchid Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

We were delighted to read such fantastic comments!

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel,
I could not wish for better comments!

It’s Was a pleasure to have you at the Park Plaza orchid.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best Regards,

Lior Gabay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#55 of 103 in Tel Aviv
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.5 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#56 of 103 in Tel Aviv
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.1 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#34 of 103 in Tel Aviv
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#63 of 103 in Tel Aviv
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tel Aviv

Address: 79 HayarkonStreet, Tel Aviv 6343236, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#19 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#36 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $168 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Tel Aviv 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Hotel Tel Aviv Ha-Yarkon St 79, Tel Aviv-Yafo, 63432, Israel Orchid Tel Aviv Park Plaza Orchid Hotel, Tel Aviv's business and leisure hotel is centrally located on the promenade and shores of the city that never stops, with magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel offers 202 rooms and suites, ensuring guests maximum comfort in an exclusive and luxurious design. Each room is equipped with high standard facilities including flat-screen TVs, iPad docks and more. The hotel is ideal for business people, families and tourists - for both long and short stays. The hotel has a business center that provides a variety of services and facilities. Computer stations, a printer and photocopier. Business people are invited to relax in the hotel's business lounge with breathtaking views of the sea, light snacks and refreshments and dedicated, professional and courteous staff waiting to assist you. The hotel offers a range of complimentary services for the benefit of hotel guests that include high-speed Wi-Fi access, international calls from rooms and lobby, and more. Apart from business, it is important that our guests enjoy and relax. The hotel offers fine Israeli cuisine served throughout the day, from luxurious Israeli breakfasts to bar-style dinners served at the lobby at sunset. The hotel's spa offers a variety of luxurious and rejuvenating beauty treatments and massages given by professional therapists and masseurs. Keep in shape at the hotel's well-equipped, modern and state of the art gym, belonging to SPACE fitness center or at the swimming pool. The hotel also offers complimentary bicycles for guests seeking to explore the city on two wheels. The hotel's prime and attractive location in the heart of the promenade allows guests to enjoy Tel Aviv's attractions, nightlife and entertainment, restaurants, museums, art galleries, shopping malls, theaters, water sports, hiking and cycling trails - no doubt an unforgettable and unique urban experience. *Smoking in the hotel and it's grounds is strictly prohibited. * Please note that pets of any kind are forbidden in the hotel, other than guide dogs for guests who are registered disabled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orchid Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Orchid Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Park Plaza Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing