We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Home Apartments
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We read the reviews here and decided to proceed cautiously. We read that there were some cleanliness issues, but that otherwise it was a fine hotel, near the beach, and inexpensive.

In practice, this hotel was ultra-dirty. To make my review 10 times better they only need to clean this hotel. The floors were very dirty. If you dropped some water on the floor and wiped up the water, the tissue would brown. Behind the spare blankets in the closet was mildew. In the bathroom: a general sense of uncleanliness.

I normally stay in inexpensive hotels. For example, if there's a Marriot, Courtyard by Marriot, and Fairfield Inn (also a Marriott property), I'll usually pick the Fairfield Inn: it's the cheapest and yet it is always clean and comfortable.

The Home Hotel was cheap, but was not clean or comfortable.

What's certain is that the hotel has potential. We had a small suite and most of the things in the suite were in good shape. But can't they do a better job cleaning? Scrub the floor, clean the closets... CLEAN.

I guess we should have figured it out when one reviewer below indicated that the cleaning staff left a pile of used little hotel soaps near the bathroom sink. If they think that people want to use a stranger's used hotel soap, then they have a wierd concept of cleanliness.

The positives: the beach is 2 blocks away and is fantastic. (that's the one reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1) Obviously, the price is also good... but you don't get anything for it.

I would not stay here again. Indeed, we left early when my son appeared to develop a rash from the place. With all hotels in Tel Aviv booked solid, we went to a bed and breakfast in a small town. The stuff was much older that the stuff in the Home Hotel, but it was clean and it was comfortable.

I wish we would have paid the extra cash and slept at the Metropolitan or Alexander Suites.

3  Thank Klockner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

Great Location, great value, not sparkling clean... (black spotted mildew on the shower curtain ...yikes! ) Staff very helpful... I would stay here again... only meters to the beach. What a deal!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TorontoStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

The 1st night was terrible, they put me in room 32, wich doesn't look like the pictures on the website. The airco let the window thrill, so I did not sleep well. The next day they moved me to another room (22). Good kitchenette, closet, bathroom. The view from the window was lame, but he... you only sleep in it. Bathroom (shower) could be a bit cleaner.

Every day clean towels, 2 times a week the sheets. Some cleaners did even the dishes :D Free internet, 3 minutes walk from SoFrisham-beach (the best), near Mike's Place. A big supermarket, with fresh bread every day, on Ben Yehuda, just a 5 minutes walk.

For $ 55 per night it is a bargain, especialy with a cheap $ in comparison to the €.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shefayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We just got back from Israel and stayed at The Home for 10 days. Really, for me the only positives were that we had a great ocean view and were in a good location to go by foot to many places.

The negatives:
The hall ways are filled with the smell of smoke...even though there are NO SMOKING signs posted everywhere. Even the guy at the reception desk was smoking!

The Website boasts maid service, yet the bed sheets are only changed 2x per week. When you are across from the beach and traveling with kids...2x per week is hardly enough. When we requested new sheets, they gave us the sheets to change them ourselves!

I'd bring slippers to walk around and even use in the shower. Not the cleanest place ever!

There was a small tower of used hotel soaps near the sink for us to use! Gee thanks....I think I'll use my own soap! That's pretty gross for my taste!

At night when you are attempting to sleep you hear everything from the busy road below (and we were on the 3rd floor!) including honking, loud radios, people screaming down the street to one another and sirens. VERY LOUD! This continues at all hours of the night into the am.

The staff downstairs is helpful, however, they don't seem to know much. Like where things are and how to get there. You'd think a local would know where the bus station was or which direction the market was.

Beds were very soft. Basically covered couches/foutons.

There's free internet access downstairs and there's usually someone on the computer. When you do get a chance to use the computer, make sure you wash your hands with soap and water (twice) b/c the keyboard and mouse look oily from all the people who used it! Blech

The Website also boasts about free wireless, however, the wireless only works in the lobby - not your room. And it only works when it wants! Worked for me on the first night and then couldn't get back online after. Same happened to another guy trying to use his laptop.

All in all, you get what you pay for here. You want a cheap place to stay while in Israel, go here. If you are looking for something more hotel-like...stay at a hotel! It's worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Motek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

We stayed for 7 nights in Tel Aviv at The Home Apartment Hotel and wished we could have stayed a few more nights. The rooms were clean and well furnished with fully equipped kitchenette and separate bathroom, cable T.V., safe, private phone line with automatic answering, hot-spots for internets services, air conditioning and heating units.

Very nice view of the Meditteranean that cannot be beaten.

The hotel has the ideal location in front of the beach (Frisman's beach).

The stuff was truly homey and kind.
for all that we paid 55$ for couple per night!!!

We made the reservation through the web site at: www.thehome.co.il.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Larry-gur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed for 5 nights total in July 2006. Okay, here's the deal.

PROS:
You can't beat the location or price. $70 a night. Practically free. A one minute walk to Frishman Beach, which is where we wanted to spend our days. Close to retaurants, bars, etc., which is where we wanted to spend our nights. Satellite TV, safe, mini-fridge to keep your food and drinks, and good closet space. Plenty of towels.

CONS:
Staff -- in general, not the most helpful or competent (there were a couple of notable exceptions, tho), but then again, we weren't expecting concierge service.

Room -- we stayed in 2 different rooms. We were told we had to switch beause they did not have the same room available for consecutive nights. Didn't make sense, since we just switched from one "B" floorplan to another. But whatever.

The main problem however, was that there seemed to be a great inconsistency between the rooms. Our friends were also staying there, and while our 1st "B" room was large and roomy and with a view of the sea, their "B" room was tiny, more like an "A" room, with only a stand-up shower, and with no view -- but they were paying the same price. The same with our second room -- it was tiny and quite different from the first.

Cleanliness -- the walls are dingy -- paint peeling, dirt spots. Floors could use a good mopping -- you'd better wear flip flops or your soles will turn gray. Bathtub could use a good bleaching. Basically, it's like staying in the guest bedroom of one of your not-so-rich and not so clean friends. Would stay there again if we wanted to spend many nights in Tel Aviv and wanted to save lots of $$$.

6  Thank ElLaLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

The following is part of a letter I sent to The Home, in appreciation of an outstanding four days.
.............................................


I am writing you to thank you and all the staff for a delightful visit. You could not have been more welcoming.

I was truly impressed with the way you rushed to the first aid kit when Gloria appeared with her scraped arm and her bruises. We felt like family rather than paying guests.

Also most impressive was the speedy manner in which you addressed the shortcomings of the bathroom. Within a couple of hours, the problems were attended to and the bathroom was spotless. And the faulty room safe was fixed also.

And we certainly cannot complain about your rates. Very modest, considering the location, which is ideal.

We will be recommending your hotel to any friends/relatives of ours visiting Israel. And we hope to stay with you again in the not too distant future.
.......................................................
The hotel is two minutes from the Tel Aviv beach and promenade. The rooms offer basic fridge and microwave, some mismatched cutlery and dishes plus plenty of closets. Very comfortable beds and a high level of cleanliness.

This is fabulous value for $50 a night.

4  Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#88 of 102 in Tel Aviv
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ness Ziona
Hotel Ness Ziona
#74 of 102 in Tel Aviv
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#92 of 102 in Tel Aviv
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andromeda Hill Holiday Suites
Andromeda Hill Holiday Suites
#78 of 102 in Tel Aviv
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympia Hotel Tel Aviv - By Zvieli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#84 of 102 in Tel Aviv
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home Apartments

Address: 6 Frishman St, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $85 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our THE HOME is located in Tel Aviv's ultimate vacation scene, a minute away from Frishman Beach in the acclaimed and vibrant city center, and only a five minute walk from Tel Aviv's upscale Dizengoff and Ben Yehuda Streets and Kikar Hamedina. Nearby you'll find restaurants, coffee shops, bars, stores, a supermarket open 24-7, as well as movie theaters. And we're just a short distance from the modern museums and "Habima" and "Cameri", Israel's leading international theater companies.THE HOME is only a five minute drive from charming Old Jaffa and the picturesque Neve Tzedek neighborhood.There is convenient transportation to any location in Israel. We'll be glad to assist you, recommend itineraries, and book tours and rental cars for any area you choose to visit in the country.For more information, you can also use the following link to access Egged, Israel's main bus company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Home Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Hotel Tel Aviv
Home Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing