We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance of rice location, and modernity!”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of rice location, and modernity!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Aside from a less than stellar cramped breakfast, the Metropolitan Hotel is the perfect balance of cost for the location and service for a young professional.
Wifi worked well, lobby was clean and bright. Rooms were very nice (in the new tower, I understand). Staff was very helpful, but not overly intrusive. It was great!

Room Tip: Request the new tower as one is still under renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    345
    162
    49
    32
See reviews for
147
198
85
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nueziders, Austria
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

a medium size hotel close to the beach ,the rooms are clean and when you get a high floor room (e.g. 1506) the view can be stunning (beach promenade) the pool has odd closing hours (10-6pm) and the gym is tiny but clean. the staff is very helpful and friendly- the breakfast very rich but not really existing the watter kettle in the rom really an added service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This Hotel scores 5 stars for it's location. Just come out of the hotel and in 100 meters, you have one of the best location to cherish. There are enough number of places to eat.

The only flip side is it is a little too expensive for the facilities it offers. For example, there are no individual irons in the rooms and you have to go to the 7th floor to do the same. Also, my room was little old fashioned.

However, the hotel otherwise is very good. I would certainly stay there again.

There was a guy by name Ahmed at the reception. He was very very friendly and ensured there were no hassles in the same.

Room Tip: A minimum superior room should be taken. Anything below can give you a heartburn like it happened wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giriraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The first time I stayed, the hotel was ok. The 2nd time, I was put in a very cramped room, staff did not listen to issues of the room - blocked shower, broken window and air-conditioning not working. The staff is not friendly. I will not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The good bits:

1 - Welcoming to be greeted by familiar staff again, it was good to be back.
2 - Rooms slight improvement décor wise.
3 - Really like having 2 showers to choose from - that powerful rain shower, and another usual shower that is long enough to reach across to the sink for washing hair with ease. If only all hotels had this simple but extremely effective idea in their bathrooms.

the not so good bits:
1 - yes the hotel's shop is luring but greedy - the smaller tourist shops in Ben Yehuda & Allenby are cheaper.
2 - The room overlooked Ben Yehuda. Each night there was a terrible hum coming from the pillow/headboard/window corner of the room. I know it was not traffic noise as I opened the window and heard a different noise. The noise in the room which affected my sleep sounded like the hum of pipework or air cons and came from the walls of the room. Awful.
3 - what a pity the hair dryers in the rooms are 1200 watts, very weak. Come on, Metropolitan, you could easily afford a decent powerful hairdryer, tut tut...
4 - not enough computers with working printers available in the hotel lobby when you need them.

conclusion:
I would stay here again, because its a very safe & clean hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassicBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powassan, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Upon our early morning arrival, we boarded a luxury touring coach for a city tour of TEL AVIV and JAFFA,( one of the oldest towns in Israel and considered one othe oldest ports in the world) We enjoyed the guided walking tour through Jaffa. After settling in the comforts of this beautiful hotel, we had a guided walking tour through the market, sampling much of the local food. Very delicious! After a short walk along the shoreline we had a delicious dinner at the hotel. After dinner we walked towards JAFFA, seeing the domes of the temple at night..... A magnificent sight! We were very much ready for the clean rooms and comfortable beds waiting for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARILYNJOANNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our room was decidedly dreary, and like the hotel itself it was shabby, not very attractive and had a greyness to it, apart from the lobby which helped first impressions. It was well located being close to the seafront. The bed was uncomfortable, and some of the lights had very dubious wiring, but looking for positive points the room was clean, and the shower was hot. Breakfast was a disaster, with too many people pushing and shoving around the food and trying to get the limited seating. The food was fairly standard with salads, breads, fruit juices etc, and there may have been other options as well, but we didn’t get a chance to find out due to intense crowd press. Staff and customers were snapping at each other, plates were unmoved, it was an unpleasant experience. I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early before the crush begins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#48 of 100 in Tel Aviv
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
#50 of 100 in Tel Aviv
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 100 in Tel Aviv
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#10 of 100 in Tel Aviv
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: 11 Trumpeldor St | P.O. Box 26505, Tel Aviv 63803, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#39 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Tel Aviv
Metropolitan Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing