We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly staff”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent friendly staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Besides the obvious attraction of location, reasonable prices and high standards of cleanliness and comfort, we are always impressed by the fact that many of the staff have remained throughout our many years of staying here.
We are looking forward to returning in a few weeks time.
Linda and Ian from London

Room Tip: We likr the newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 630lindar630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    352
    165
    49
    32
See reviews for
150
201
85
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having just returned to the UK, spending four nights at the Metropolitan, I would suggest that management spend a few nights in the bed rooms. Little storage place for the contents of our suitcases - bathrooms very outdated, and four days was enough for this type of hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure that you do not overlook the construction site being undertaken next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John42Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Metropolitan hotel in Tel Aviv during a tour of Israel with our group and found this hotel to be great. The food and service were excellent and the location of the hotel was fantastic, especially being there on the Shabbat. The rooms were a good size and the welcome basket we received on our arrival was wonderful. The buffet was fantastic featuring great cheeses and fantastic fresh salads and also hot dishes. This hotel is also in walking distance to the port with its variety of restaurants and shops and and the Mediterranean Sea for swimming. Would recommend the hotel and its location to anyone wanting to experience life in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well placed for the sights of Tel Aviv - it is clean and well staffed (sometimes more staff than guests in the breakfast room - you can find yourself tripping over them - and not necessarily in a helpful way!) The wi fi is variable - best in the lobby, it cuts out a lot elsewhere. Unlike some other guests, I did not find the reception staff particularly helpful. My room was kept very clean.
I found the staff somewhat stand offish - a bit superior and aloof, with no particular reason for being like his.
The breakfast was ok.
There are probably more helpful and friendly hotels in the area - particularly for tourists - I was a lone traveller and the lack of warmth, smiles and welcome is not what I have experienced elsewhere. It is the intangibles which make me feel that I would not return here. All of the basics are well met.
It was very hot during my stay and I thought they might consider opening the pool a little early - but clearly not - "go and swim in the sea", I was told - not great for a lone traveller who can't leave belongings unattended - but probably understandable in the grand scheme of things.
The hotel is kept very busy wit a mix of tour groups and also hosts many events for locals - so the lobby & entrance area can be very buzzy.
Cleanliness and location are what makes this an ok stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LeedsYorksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I will stay there again!
And this is the only hotel,that sent a thank you letter to me,for giving them a resume from our,17 people from Norway, stay there in 2009. Great!
Everyone have to see the CENTER of the world,on good and bad.
I love ISRAEL

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrid1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

On our recent adventure to Israel we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with Walking Adventures. It is in a great location to shops, restaurants and the beach. Also close to Joppa for a walk from the hotel. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. Great breakfast choices and friendly staff. To start your adventure here to explore magnificent Israel is a good choice

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Mediterranean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR8TRAILBLAZERFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not suitable for a business traveler and, with so many hotels around, it will not be my choice for a leisure travel either.
The hotel is located two blocks from the beach, it caters to large-size packaged-tour groups, which, possibly, is the reason for owners’ indifference to the needs of business travelers. I stayed there for a month, here are my observations:
1) they don’t have working internet. Well, they do have free WiFi – but it is down nearly half of the time, and when it is up it is terribly slow - it takes several minutes to download email messages into Outlook. Forget about using Skype, paying bills online or browsing content-rich pages.
2) No air conditioning. To be exact there is an air conditioner, but it is turned off. There were some very hot nights in late Feb, so I tried to turn on the air conditioner, but it did not work. When I complained at reception they told me that air conditioning is available only during summer months.
3) Many windows overlook a huge construction site, a lot of noise from 7am to 6pm
4) No iron in the room – “for fire safety reasons” one has to go to the special ironing room on the 7th floor.
5) If you consider an apartment at “Metropolitan Suites” for a long stay (that is small building next to the main hotel tower) – please be aware that there is no stove in the kitchen (only microwave) - for "fire safety reasons", they say; also there is no washing machine.

Room Tip: rooms with the sea view (on the s-w and n-w sides) get a lot of noise from a huge construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#49 of 100 in Tel Aviv
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
#51 of 100 in Tel Aviv
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#69 of 100 in Tel Aviv
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 100 in Tel Aviv
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: 11 Trumpeldor St | P.O. Box 26505, Tel Aviv 63803, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#39 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Tel Aviv
Metropolitan Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing