We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Herods Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herods Tel Aviv
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank toy so much for a great vacation! Merav was amazing! We loved every moment! The food was unbelievable, and Merav did her best to make us feel like we are most wanted in the hotel! We go to lots of vacations, but I can not remember when I had so much fun! I can not wait to go back to this hotel again! Irecomend this hotel very much - you would not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    425
    245
    134
    142
See reviews for
451
587
74
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent three nights here, three family members sharing a room for three. Arrived a couple of hours early but could check in and settle into our room. Big effort made to make us welcome, including wine and apples. A third bed was brought straight away but we opted for a proper mattress on the foldout. Room big enough for three. Balcony small but third chair brought on request. Most other requests dealt with promptly. Air con good and bathroom facilities good with plenty of hot water and a great shower but some may like a plug in the sink. We stayed over a national holiday and the hotel was very busy but the standard of service was maintained. Lifts small but adequate without long waits. Decor a little odd but 'thirties' which may explain why it seems out of date. Excellent breakfast buffet with great beach view. Welcomed to use hotel facilities on the day we left on a late flight. Cleanliness good in most areas. Good supply of fresh beach towels. Good beach access but pool area cramped. Reception and Concierge very helpful in assisting with communicating with contacts in Israel we were struggling to manage ourselves. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Direct sun for most of the day on the south side gets very hot in summer. We were glad to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I never take the time to review anything, but my experience there was far from expectation or review.

The plus side:

Shani in concierge was amazing as was Gil at the front desk

Location is pretty solid too, although I think it's better to be a little further south.

Breakfast was pretty awesome.

Now for the bad new:

Other than the above, the staff were not very helpful. I pride myself on being a polite and friendly guy. It seemed like I was bothering everybody anytime that I asked a question. This is not just "Israeli culture." Even if it is, this is not appropriate for a hotel rated with 5 stars. The rooms were old and tired. It needs an update badly. It was quite loud too. Lastly, they nickle and dime you to death from the internet to the gym. Totally uncool. I would spend a little more money and stay somewhere better.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel like the intercont or something. Avoid a room on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattal_Hotel_Chain, General Manager at Herods Tel Aviv, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for finding the time to post about your experience in our Hotel, every kind of feedback is important to us.
We thank you for your kind words, your gratitude was passed on to Shani and Gil.
We are happy to know that our location and breakfast met your expectations
We were surprised to read about our staff's attitude since good service is our priority and something we never compromise on.
We deeply apologize and we assure you this matter will be checked immediately. All of the rooms were recently renovated .
This is high season now in Israel and in Tel Aviv.The hotels in Tel Aviv are a bit louder then regular time, we apologize for the inconvenience
I sincerely hope you will give us the chance to host you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Koby Hatzoel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Following up on Herods (I stay there often for business) I must say that it maintained the high level of service I was used to.

The location is perfect for going to the beach, public transportation, shopping, night-life... The staff was helpful as always and even remembered me from before. In our company rate we get access to the club-floors which means free food and drinks in the lounge all day, along with free wi-fi and gym access. That is why for me, Herods is the absolute best-buy in Tel Aviv.

The food was great as always and the maids did a flawless job with housekeeping this time.

The only negative remarks I have are a loud A/C fan in the room and poor flushing of the toilet. Otherwise, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolaRasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is in a great location on the beach.. However once you leave the beautiful and small lobby the elevators are tiny and outdated just like the rooms. The balconies barely have room to Sit outside especially with more than one person and are dirty with fake plastic grass. Mine had a rusty nail sticking out it!!!! Air conditioning is horrible and almost non effective. Hotel staff is mainly rude and uncaring, after my room flooded I had to call 3 times to get help. Plumbing is awful and noisy all night. Ordered a pizza from room service at 9pm based upon the beautiful advertisement for cheesy Italian style pizza. An hour after ordering it finally arrived cold and looked nothing like ad but more like a frozen mama Celeste pizza from grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpertTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff at the Herod were helpful and friendly and did as much as possible to ensure a comfortable stay. Rachel the concierge and Gill at the front desk deserve a special mention. Both made very good recommendations on restaurants and things to do around town. The location of the hotel is very central and it is within walking distance of some great shopping and eating. This is one of the more affordable hotels on the beach. However, make sure that this hotel is well within your budget as everything is extra including internet as well as the use of the bar fridge in the room. We were lucky to receive an upgrade. The room was clean and comfortable. The balcony does need some work and had quite a bit of mould. Beware if you are particular about your bed. If you like your hotel beds crisp and tight, this hotel may not be for you. The bed and pillows are soft, the linen a bit aged, only one sheet on the bed which was not made to cover the entire mattress. Make sure that you specify your room service to be charged to your room. For some reason, this is not automatic and you may be expected to pay in cash there and then. (Strange for us). Quality of the room service food was very good. The chef restaurant (as Israeli's call it) is buffet only.

Room Tip: Some sea view rooms on the lower floors look onto what is mainly a road and a strip club. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnauzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Very friendly staff. My room was always clean and well prepared. They clean it everytime I left the room (even twice a day). There is also a coffee machine and en electric kettle. Bottle of water prepared. There were apples, vine, tea, everything for free. The only issue I had was with the phone system alarm clock - somebody sets an alarm for my room number at 6:00 AM without my approval. I better disconnected the phone next night, but there was another phone on the fridge :) BTW you cannot use the room fridge without extra payment - it is an automated minibar only. On fridays and saturdays, do not use the Sabbath elevator - it stops on EVERY even floor :) I like the hotel lobby very much (check photo attached). Very good breakfast. I need to visit this hotel also with my family next time!

Room Tip: Choose a beach view (not a port view) room on higher floors. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 906Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#42 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.1 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#27 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#57 of 100 in Tel Aviv
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herods Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Tel Aviv

Property: Herods Tel Aviv
Address: 155 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6345318, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#20 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#32 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herods Tel Aviv, ideally located near the Mediterranean Sea. Offers the magnificent elegance of the Herods brand. It combines the wonderful experience of today's luxury with the glamour of the magical Tel Aviv on the 1930's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herods Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tel Aviv Sheraton
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Moriah Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing