We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience, excellent customer service”
Review of Herods Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herods Tel Aviv
Ranked #62 of 101 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at Herod's in Tel Aviv. A beautiful location right on the beach, magnificent view from the lobby overlooking the water, beach, and marina. We had a very good dinner in the hotel lobby cafe.The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the beautiful views. Breakfast buffet was exceptional with a wonderful variety of foods in a beautiful dining room also overlooking the view. Loved Yossi, the waiter, very attentive and full of personality. Had an opportunity to meet the Guest Relations Manager, Merav Yechezkel, who was absolutely lovely, and eager to make sure that everything was perfect. She gave us personal attention, and made us feel special, like family. We totally enjoyed our stay, and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just returned from a long-weekend holiday at the Herods, where we were pleased overall. Our room was clean, comortable and decently sized (although our balcony had obviously not been cleaned for a while, was littered with cigarette butts, and remained uncleaned throughout our stay despite our mentioning this problem to management). The location obviously cannot be beat, and we particularly enjoyed the enormous breakfast selection and the seating in the dining room overlooking the boardwalk and the beautiful coast line. Thought has clearly been invested in the design and layout, and I think they manage to pull-off the "old school Tel-Aviv" concept. The main downside to our stay was the service we received from staff, which was pretty far from what we would have expected from a 5 star establishment. Though treated more or less courteously, the attitude of almost everyone we encountered was a poorly disguised curt, impatient, and generally unhappy demeanor, from the moment we checked in and up until and including the time we checked out, with the exception of two refreshingly polite and helpful workers. For example, the front desk was extremely and surprisingly unaccommodating when we inquired into telephone message which may have been left for us there by guests we had planned on meeting who did not show up when planned (and even though we explained that we could not answer our own phones over the sabbath and shavuot holiday). We were also erroneously charged for two dinners which we did not eat, which someone else had mysteriously charged with our name and room number and then claimed they could not sign for (?!) , as well as a bottle of wine from the mini-bar which was still sitting innocently and un-drunk in said room mini-bar. To the hotel's credit, these charges were removed pretty easily although not before the front desk clerk had made us a feel like we were being dishonest and demanded to see a receipt for the restaurant we "claimed" to have been eating at that same night. Bottom line - not amazing value for money, but comfortable and pleasant. It is certainly a place I would recommend for families or large groups who want a good hotel on the beach. We, however, will probably opt to try out a different hotel when we return for another Tel-Aviv vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors are renovated and the north side has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahuvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff are very friendly. A lively lobby. 17th fl executive lounge features free drinks and food, over looking Tel Aviv sunset. Location is great. Overall for the kinda price you pay, I'd recommend it absolutely, especially family travel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Herods is located on the north end of the boardwalk along the beach. The beach itself mimics miami beach with people constantly working out and cycling around. There are numerous ice cream shops and restaurants that dot the boardwalk providing dining options outside of the hotel. However, this brings about noise. Closeby there is club called nightmares with bass pumping pass 3am. The room itself was somewhat dated with the closet completely neglected. The washroom was not fully stocked. The front desk was the worse with usually one person actually working and the other 2 or 3 standing there staring at each other even with a line. Check-in took about 20 minutes with the attendant seeming to do 300 things at once and only 1 of them was for you. Additionally, my luggage was delayed and I was assured my luggage would be delivered to my room once it has arrived even if I was not there. I think the bellboy wanted tips and did not deliver it when I was out for the day so I had to ask the concierge who asked the airport who indicated the bellboy had it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Herods Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Sir / Madam
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Herods Tel Aviv hotel.
We were surprised to hear that your brief stay with us was not according to your expectations and are always happy to learn of our guest's constructive comments in order to make the necessary improvements.
Overall, the hotel constantly positions at least between 2-3 persons at the front desk for swift service. However there are peek times that unfortunately lead to a line at the front desk. For cases like that we also offer to check in \ out at the Club lounge on the 17th floor.
By state law all nightclubs are obligated to stop any noises by 23:00 or midnight on weekends, in case we have any complaint we immediately contact the relevant city departments and take care of any issue, that specific nightclub mentioned is rarely a problem, and is stopped with in case we get any complaints immediately.
Regarding the luggage, the bellboys to have clear instructions to deliver luggage to a room upon arrival from the airport, however clearly this did not happen on your case and for that I apologize. Measures are takes to prevent this from reoccurring.
Regarding the Car park you mentioned, it is not part of the hotel and we can not control every part of any public corner. There are many ways to avoid it if it is not appealing.
It will be our pleasure to see you return to our hotel and ask that you give an additional opportunity to present you with our hospitality.
We would be delighted if you would contact Merav the Guest relations manager for any issue Meravye@fattal.co.il

Best wishes,
Guest relations Department
Merav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just departed from a 7 night stay (business and then pleasure)

Possibly the worst customer service I have experienced in 20 years travelling.

Staff are rude (front desk, pools staff , gym staff and resturant staff)

Be warned if you have a south facing room the noise from the club close by will keep you awake until the early hours.

Positives - good location that's all.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Herods Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Your constructive comments on the level of service are very important to us and we have taken them to our attention.

We were sorry to learn of your unfortunate feeling towards the service of our staff, as we strive to provide a friendly and professional service to all of our guests - business & leisure, and do our utmost to make them feel welcomed.

We would appreciate if you would contact us by mail to Meravye@fattal.co.il to be more specific then "worst customer service I have experienced" in order for us to consistently improve.
There is no nightclub facing south, maybe referring to the north side where we rarely have a problem, and If so it is stopped in case we get any complaints immediately.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and assure you of a pleasant stay by all means.

Best wishes,
Guest relations Department
Merav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My second visit to the hotel. Was very pleasant. The entire staff was gracious. The room was clean and tidy. Highly reccomended. A completely different hotel from the one from my previous visit 3byears ago.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdselka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

After looking at a lot of Tel Aviv hotels, I realized that there are no "bargains"-it's an expensive hotel city. That said, Herod's is a very nice hotel-a great location on the beach; short walk to Dizengoff and other restaurant/store areas; a friendly, helpful staff, a fabulous breakfast buffet, good air conditioning, and a lovely bar/cafe with a pianist playing some evenings (although we found the cafe food mediocre). We booked an "executive" room, on a higher floor, which is a better room, and gives you access to a lounge with free computers, English language papers, espresso/cappuccino machines, and fruit and other snacks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#43 of 101 in Tel Aviv
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#59 of 101 in Tel Aviv
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#24 of 101 in Tel Aviv
1,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#49 of 101 in Tel Aviv
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herods Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Tel Aviv

Address: 155 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6345318, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#20 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#32 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#41 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $205 - $3,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herods Tel Aviv, ideally located near the Mediterranean Sea. Offers the magnificent elegance of the Herods brand. It combines the wonderful experience of today's luxury with the glamour of the magical Tel Aviv on the 1930's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Herods Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tel Aviv Sheraton
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Moriah Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing