We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always at the top”
Review of Dan Tel Aviv Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Always at the top”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Old, but always at the top of the best hotels in Tel Aviv.
Expensive but with an excellent level of service,
Unfortunately the less expensive room are very old, too much.
If you can get a suite, will be like in heaven.

Is time to provide free wifi.

Room Tip: Avoid the less expensive one, are too much old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UBMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear UBMCL,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your impressions of the Dan Tel Aviv Hotel following your stay. We were happy to hear you enjoyed our high level of service and comfort throughout the hotel.
We wanted to take the opportunity to highlight briefly; In addition to the free wifi in the hotel's lobby, all e-dan club guests enjoy and extra one hour of in-room free wifi every day during stay, so you might like to join before your return. Additionally, we constantly refurbish and renovate the guest rooms and public areas so we hope you'll be just as comfortable next time.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,
Tal and the Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    361
    155
    56
    48
See reviews for
360
417
109
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was visiting Israel for elective surgery at Assuta Hospital, and required several weeks of relaxation post-surgery, hence I checked in to the Dan Hotel on the beach shore in Tel Aviv for almost $400 per night for a standard room. It was formidably expensive, but I heard of the history of the place, including it's "Leading Hotels of the World" designation, and sincerely hoped that staying there would be worth the price. I was not impressed with them trying to fleece guests with an extra $20 per day charge for wifi-access in the rooms. Of course ALL hotels on earth have an external internet service provider, so that isn't any excuse to charge for a basic service which most international hotels give included, especially for such a high price.

What a disappointment. The primary word that I feel properly describes this hotel is DIRTY. The shelves in the closet of my room were dusty, the glass tabletops had streaks as if wiped with an old dish-towel. The room smelled old, like a basement. The glasses on the night tables are filthy, spots, fingerprints and even remnants of juice pulp on them. Disgusting! The bathroom towels smelled off, as if they were dried out in traffic. The bed linens were thankfully okay, aside from the tiny tear in one of the pillowcases.

I ordered a Club Sandwich for dinner in my room, but the sandwich was nothing related to a classic Club, rather a smoked-salmon sandwich smeared with margarine, rather than cream cheese. Yuck! The cutlery I received looked scratched and beaten....as if it were scooped from a bin in a thrift store. The stars on the 5 attached to this hotel must have gone missing or terribly astray. The cloth napkin was a patterned synthetic, with a shade of coffee stain and shredded threads on the edge. The salt shakers were filthy.

The leather tray which my dinner was served on, was torn, dirty, and to my shock had spoiled MILK stuck underneath the plastic meshed mat under my food. Utterly disgusting. I immediately placed the tray with the unfinished food outside my door. I paid $400+ per night for THIS?! Out of despair, I decided to try the hotel's Raphael Restaurant for dinner, which was absolutely excellent. What a huge difference!

The next morning I braved the buffet breakfast downstairs, and it had a great variety, although no traditional bacon, ham or sausages due to the kosher dietary rules. The service was sporadic, some staff being excellent and others completely complacent. The food was great. The only thing that bothered me was seeing individual guests cutting the bread loaves on the buffet by themselves, which I found to be terribly unhygienic.

Being that cleanliness is an ongoing concern, rather than a hit-and-miss issue at the Dan Hotel, I decided to find a cleaner hotel for an equal price and found as such in the Sheraton Hotel next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

At the Dan Hotel Tel Aviv you get what you pay for. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The hotel provides a welcome basket of fruit and bottled water. Desk staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful. The real thing you have to consider is why you are in Tel Aviv. If you are a tourist, how much time do you spend in a hotel room? If you are just in a hotel to rest your head, there are other cheaper alternatives. If you want opulence, then this is the place for you. It is centrally located on the beach and close to restaurants with a wide range of faire.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderer3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear TheWanderer3366,
Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay at The Dan Tel Aviv Hotel. It was a great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Tal and the Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

During my last visit in June, a less-than-pleasant check-out left me with a sour taste.

Knowing Dan's adherence to top-quality service, I aired my grievance to the hotel's customer services; the response was immediate, both by a bespoke email and a courtesy call, promising to make it up for me on my next visit.

When I visited the hotel last week, they made good on their promise. They upgraded me to a suite and provided complimentary refreshments.

Overall, a top-quality hotel, with superb Israeli breakfast and fantastic location. Above all, hotel service at its best.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room (budget-permitting!) or for a newly refurbished room with a view in Hayarkon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PericlesSpyrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear PericlesSpyrou,

Thank you for your kind words; It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments, and we are very happy to hear you had a great stay in our hotel.
We strive to give each and every guest as pleasant an experience as possible and we're happy to have had the chance to regain your trust.
We're looking forward to the next time and to become your home away from home.

Best regards,
Tal, Naor and the Guest Relations team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Yes its expensive but its worth it!
This hotel comes thru with all the promises made in their folder!
location is superb, they have an inside and outside swimmingpool, the inside one has provisions for handicapped swimmers. the staff is attentive and the rooms are great, especially the ones with a sea view.
the one 'minor' point is the price and the quality of the wifi, you have to pay extra for wifi and its very slow especially at 'busy' times, like in the morning and late afternoon.
otherwise this hotel is absolutely great!

Room Tip: if you have a sea view room, take a high floor, ohterwise there is noise from the road below. the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirla60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear mirla60,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of your feelings and enjoyment following your recent stay with us; it is always through guest feedback that we are able to develop for the future.
We're so delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and location convenient, making use of all the facilities and amenities.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back again and advise to join the e-dan club too, where among other things, you'll receive one hour of free in room wifi every day during stay.

See you again soon,
With best regards,
Tal and the Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the Dan Tel Aviv in Israel -
The Staff, the food, the location - everything was just perfect -
I loved it all! and I recommend it highly, and will go back, whether for business
or personal, it fits... Their King David Crown Lounge was a great gathering to meet with clients and friends, and their signature restaurant was the best . I believe it was called the 999 - the food and service were top notch.

Room Tip: Requesting the renovated rooms, facing the sea.... Although, I was facing the street, it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Shelly B,
Thanks so much for your kind compliments; we're so delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, particularly our 99 Hayarkon fine dining restaurant and top notch service.
It is our constant aim to create memorable experiences for all our guests so we're overjoyed you decided to share here on Tripadvisor.
We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back, be it for business or pleasure, very soon.
With best regards,
Tal, Naor and The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We are visitig Dan hotel several time in a year and we really love spending time in Tel aviv seasore which is lockated at the exit off the hote. The hotel is a solide one lovely atmosphire and great food. We have been at the hotel above therty time,and if you whant to spend time in Tel Aviv we recomand the Dan Hotel.

Room Tip: view to the sea, it's really justifies the addition to the room price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyGotthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much Mr. Gotthold!
As always, it was a pleasure to see you again.
Guest loyalty is the biggest compliment a hotel can get, so it is truly appreciated.
We'll be looking forward to the next time,
With the very best regards,
Tal, Naor and the Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#42 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#25 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#54 of 100 in Tel Aviv
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#59 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Tel Aviv Hotel

Property: Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Address: 99 Ha - Yarkon Street, Tel Aviv 64432, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#29 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Tel Aviv Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Tel Aviv offers Tel Aviv's finest accommodation. Situated on Tel Aviv's lively seafront promenade, overlooking the warm blue waters and soft sandy beaches of the Mediterranean, yet within easy reach of the city's business districts and Tel Aviv's main attractions and leisure venues, the Dan Tel Aviv Hotel is superbly located for a wonderful family holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dan Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Dan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing