We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near the beach”
Review of Hilton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tel Aviv
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Tuusula, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the beach”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Large hotel by the beach, bit away from city centre. Review based on a six night stay in March’10 (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe)

Location:
There’s not too much happening in the immediate neighborhood, but if you are willing to walk for 10 min or so there are quite many bars/restaurants/cafes along the beach in the south and especially in the harbor to the north. Hotel is not right on the beach but very close to it.

From the Ben Gurion airport it’s approximately 30 min drive.

Room:
I had a basic room in 6th floor which was quite large, certainly more than enough for me as a single traveler. It was in very good shape, no stains etc anywhere. There was quite large balcony with good views.

One negative point: the room was a connecting room and unfortunately the inside door between the rooms has very little sound insulation, which is especially bad since the door is facing directly the bathroom/toilet. So I’ll let you imagine what kind of noises could be easily heard from the next door, alas… Apart from that there was very little noise.

Room had large LCD TV and the normal equipment such as safe, ironing board and mini bar. WLAN connection worked fine, though it was expensive.

Three complimentary bottles of water were replenished every day. In addition I received a bottle of wine, fruit plate and some chocolates.

Etc:
One bit strange thing was that rooms were being cleaned starting already at 8 o’clock in the morning, so I would recommend using the Do Not Disturb sign quite often here if you intend to sleep late.

As HHonors Diamond member I did not get access to Executive Lounge, as normally is the case elsewhere in the world. Separate Business Lounge in 12th floor is used for HHonors members instead. Not really a big thing as such since the Business lounge was actually better than many Executive lounges I’ve been in, but an interesting clear violation of the global rules which clearly state that EL access must be given …

Hotel is very close to the approach line of the local airport (Sde Dov), luckily that’s a small airport with not too much traffic but occasionally you’ll get airplane noise.

Outdoor pool has sea water in it, i.e. salty and somewhat cold. Pool is also basically open towards the sea which means wind can make it a bit cold to stay at the pool. During my stay there was constant very strong sea wind.

As a part of conference I was attending we had lunch there everyday and selection + quality of the food was good. Breakfast was also good with a wide selection, even though I didn’t see any kind of meat anywhere.

We used the hotel VIP service when leaving and it worked very well: 50 min from the hotel door to tax free shop at the airport. Normally it could easily take you that 50 min just queuing for the normal security checks

Would I return there?
Yeah, quite a solid performance. Not the über-luxury 5 star hotel as such, but good nevertheless

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    502
    207
    112
    88
See reviews for
472
462
111
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Just stayed there for two nights. It is one of the nicer hotels and the staff is excellent. As noted in some of the other reviews, the double bed rooms aren't very big. They kindly upgraded us to double queens because there was 3 of us— much better!
However, $22 for one day of internet? That's the most expensive I've ever seen. Also, the pool area is closed for renovations or season or both.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atoqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Nothing special but this place is fine. The location is good for tourists -- right on the water but not far from a nice area on Dizengoff that has good restaurants and cafes and very close to the new port development. Lobby area is better than average for a Hilton.

Pick this property because it is decent, in a good location, and because there aren't a lot of good hotel options on the beach in Tel Aviv. It is fine but not special. Liked the breakfast but it is a big hotel buffet.

A few recommendations / suggestions:

- Ask for a room facing Jaffa (i.e., South). The view is a bit better. Port side gets you a view of a smoke stack and a run way
- The fitness area is a bit hard to find. It really is in that dumpy area out back on the R level behind the unmarked door. Only place I have ever seen Cybex treadmills and Ellipticals -- opt for a run along the beach if the weather is agreeable
- Check out the restaurant / cafe just in front of the hotel down on the beach. It is a great place to sit and watch the sunset or relax in the afternoon. To reach the restaurant, go out the front door of the hotel, turn right, and follow the path down to the beach. You can't enter directly from the hotel. The shashuka is really good.
- Light sleepers may need ear plugs. Walls are paper thin and you can hear doors slamming in the hallway. There is also construction on the South side (perhaps an argument against my recommendation of a Jaffa view).

A word of warning -- room rates are high given the quality of the property. If you don't mind being away from the beach, I'd check out the Montefiore.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Good standard "Main Hilton" hotel but incredibly expensive. My first time in Tel Aviv and believe the place in general is expensive, though... Nice sea views. Didn't really have a chance to use many of the facilities but believe it is pretty well equipped.

Room was quite spacious and nicely decorated but nothing special, certainly not for the price.

Usual gripe: paying for internet access; how come hotels charge us for this essentially fixed-cost item? Answer: because they can. Why don't they charge extra for running water and lighting? One day this will seem as unacceptable as smoking on planes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Spent 5-days on recent business trip at Hilton. The hotel was chosen by the meeting organizer. Our first trip to Israel, so glad they did they planning.

Airport is outside Tel Aviv and about 35-minute drive to hotel without traffic. The hotel is north of downtown. First thing to say it is right on the Med. The view could not be better. From our 5th floor room we had water views along wtih city skyline. Really great. All of the rooms have a view of the water either facing north or south.

Check-in was easy with lots of help. The hotel is gated with guards, but never seemed unsafe or overt in security. The lobby is bustling with lots of sitting areas, drinking areas and business corners as you can expect. The hotel really is more of a business hotel than resort, but it could serve either purpose nicely.

Room was large with king bed. Bathroom was sufficient. The great thing was the walk-out balcony. Even thought the weather was rainy and chilly (50's), it was always nice to step out on the balcony and enjoy great Med views and sounds. We faced south and ovelooked alittle marina. Sruf was high several days and even saw surfers catching some decent waves fromt the hotels beach. It was too nippy to enjoy the beach, but could tell it was a nice one.

We had room service upon arrival and had to get our burger fix. It was more than adequeate in making us a good US-style burger. Other than that we did not eat at the hotel.

I did search tripadvisor and found a great breakfast place just outside the hotel down a residential street called Benedicts. its speciality is no surprise - eggs benedict and it was really good. Went there a couple times during the trip.

Around the hotel is residential areas, some embassies and bustling city life. The area right around the hotel is not what I would call touristy, but there are several neighborhood restuarants, stores and such that are very interesting to walk around. It is a "gritty" area - city life similar to a NY/Chicago without as tall of buildings but not spotless and sanitized like a tourist area.

Several evening we walked about 3/4-mile north along the Med to the old harbor area. It has lots of great restuarants, bars, coffee houses and boutiques. Really fun and easy to get to.

Highly recommend the hotel.

Other Israel Notes:
1) Musts: Jerusalem, Masada and Dead See visits. The only thing about Jerusalem was when we went through the Sceptler area, felt very touristy and not as awe-inspiring as we had hoped. Very crowded. Being Christian we were a little disappointed especially when compared to the western wall area that seemed much more revered and special.
2) OK: Ceasara tour was OK but would not take time from the others.
3) Loved engaging with all the taxi drivers, tour guides, etc. Amazing pride and history from several older people who had great stories. Being a huge history buff, it was like having professors along everywhere. Dont be afraid to engage them. They seem to have attitude, but they are very proud and easy to get going.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Overall I have mixed feelings about this Hotel but was broadly happy with my stay

On the plus side it has a decent bar and very good Sushi resteraunt.My colleague and I ate in both the bar and the sushi resteraunt. I found the staff in the bar/resteraunt to be very professional and helpful
Location is also good on the seafront and there's a great park to run around for jogging laps
I did use their VIP security clearance service for my flight home which worked really well

For the not-so-good the price of "extra's" were outrageous.$8 for a bottle of water. The night I arrived the complimentary bottles of water were not there but did appear the next again day ! Don't be caught out by this - there is a petrol station selling water right next to the hotel so get it from there. Likewise $22 for internet use and $15 for the gym is all too steep [ I went jogging for exercise ! ] -Hilton Honors VIP makes no difference btw
Mostly my experience of the staff was good -there was only once when I felt there was an "attitude" which was at the front of house ,so I can understand why others may have found the hotel to be wanting

On balance I would stay there again as it was better than the other hotels I've stayed at in Tel Aviv but I certainly would'nt rave about it

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

comfy rooms. great pool and beach.
the location is a bit far from the city of tel aviv, but it makes it feel a little calmer than the hustle and bustle of the city.
i would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saylorchicLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#25 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#41 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#47 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#55 of 100 in Tel Aviv
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#60 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tel Aviv

Property: Hilton Tel Aviv
Address: 205 HaYarkon St. | Independence Park, Tel Aviv 63405, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#27 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#27 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#34 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Hilton International Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing