We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertising Misleading, but Hotel's Location Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Grinnell, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Advertising Misleading, but Hotel's Location Wonderful”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chose the hotel for its location, price with one breakfast, and airport shuttle. The location was wonderful, and the desk staff worked to be very helpful. However, the room was not ready when I checked in (about 6:00 pm). Rather, they gave me a free beverage in the bar, and the room was ready after I had finished drinking the beverage. More significantly, the price I had requested included 1 breakfast, but the breakfast was NOT included in my costs --- I had to pay extra for breakfast. Most seriously, the hotel does not run a hotel shuttle; instead they call a taxi --- which any hotel could do. The taxi ride was ILS 160 rather than the ILS 150 quoted in the online literature (I think the extra ILS 10 was a tip the taxi driver gave to the desk clerk for calling this taxi company), but I am not sure.

Overall, the hotel is a fine place to relax, being just across from the beach, the rooms were clean, service was good. The bathroom was tiny (I had to twist around the sink to get to the toilet), but the room was quite functional, and the view was fantastic. However, the description/hotel information on Trip Advisor was misleading.

Room Tip: Choose the hotel for its proximity to the beach and fine view. Be somewhat skeptical about whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Henry,
Thank you for your review; guests' comments are an important tool that enables us to understand our guests' needs. I assume that your arrival was on Saturday, otherwise there is no chance that you would not get your room on time. Saturdays are a bit of a problem due to late check-outs of the Israeli guests, and we are glad that our reception staff were able to offer you something to drink while you waited. We are not sure where it was that you read our hotel offers an airport shuttle; we never published anything like that, and unfortunately, in Tel Aviv there is no shuttle service at all to the airport. The cost of a taxi to the airport during the daytime is 160nis, and at night it is 170nis. It used to be 150 nis, and 160nis during the night, but the prices went up in the past few months. Under no circumstances do we get money directly from the taxis for calling them! We are glad that you had a nice stay with us.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    288
    185
    70
    42
See reviews for
216
237
83
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best reception staff in Tel Aviv, rooms on the small side but amazing
value if you are looking for a hotel opposite the beach 2 minutes to Ben Yehuda,
small garden with pool. Does the job if you are touring and want to lay your head
in a clean hotel with good service.Ask Tali Danit or Micheal anything they go out of
their way to please!!

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Vera,
Thank you for your review;
We are very glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us, and appreciate your warm comments about our staff. We will send your regards to our staff, especially to Michael, Tal and Danit.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
We would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is unbelievable! The staff are so helpful and have responded to all enquiries amazingly. Not only are the staff professional, they are friendly and really take an interest in our holiday. The staff that deserve a special mention are Asaf, Ira and Danit they have been superb. The location of the hotel is fantastic being opposite the beach and a short taxi ride away from Tel Aviv port. The breakfast has many options and does not disappoint. This hotel and staff has made this holiday such an enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting tel aviv.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw311293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Daniel,
Thank you for your review; guests' comments are very important to us. We are very glad to hear that you had such a nice experience here;
Our staff are doing their job with love and we are glad it is obvious. We thank you for your compliment about our staff, and those will be passed on to them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
We would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I came with friends for a holiday here and can honestly say we don't want to leave this hotel. The staff have been absolutely fantastic, from check in all the way through our holiday. The food has been delicious, and the service is unbelievable. The hotel is very lucky to have Asaf, Ira and Danit- they are all superb members of staff, among others! They are friendly, helpful and just brilliant! The amenities of the hotel are great, it is clean and the beds are comfortable. I cannot wait to return to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Avi,
Thank you for your review; we are so happy that you had such a wonderful holiday with your friends at our hotel. We are indeed very lucky to have the staff that is here! We are aware, and very proud of it! Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
We would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our travel agent recommended the Basel, and it met our needs just fine. Not fancy but rooms are adequate and well air conditioned in the summer heat. Great breakfast buffet, great location, pool is small but very welcome in the heat. Staff were very helpful, including when we needed help late one evening. Our rooms were at the back, so were quiet. They have some connecting rooms for families, which is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review;
We are very glad to hear you were able to enjoy our service, food and amenities.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
We would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I read a few mixed reviews about this hotel before booking it and I can honestly say that I was really pleased by our experience.
Firstly location: excellent. On the opposite side of the street is the beach. There are some of the big name hotels between you and the beachfront but considering they probably cost three times as much as the Basel, I wouln't pay extra just to be on the other side of the street. Also on the beach are nice bars, restaurants and an open air gym machine area which is suitable for all ages. The restaurants are a bit more expensive than those away from the beach but have a nice atmosphere. The hotel is also only a 10 minute walk from Dizengoff centre and all of the shops and restaurants in that area.
Rooms: We had two doubles for my family and they were clean and smart. I saw some reviews complaining about the size. Well I am not small and I found them perfect for two people with a good bathroom too. We were on the 1st floor and I believe that some rooms on the top floor may be slightly bigger and refurbished. Overall no complaints and nice to have a room safe.
Staff: very polite and helpful. The three days we were there happened to coincide with gay pride in Tel Aviv and lots of people were staying at the hotel and partying on the beach opposite and the staff coped very well at busy times. A nice little touch was the fresh or dried fruit plus fruit juice that was put out in reception every day. I had one small issue over how much I was charged and the staff dealt with it promptly and without fuss.
Parking: some reviews suggested the parking lot opposite was cheaper than the hotel parking. I found the lot was 50NIS and the hotel only 40NIS per day with the benefit that the hotel has about 10 of their spaces undercover and out of the sun if you are lucky.
Breakfast: We had a room only deal but for 40 NIS per person ( about £6.80) you could add breakfast. Make sure the staff know you are resident in the hotel because otherwise you get charged a higher rate. This happened to me but I spotted it and they quickly changed the bill. The breakfast selection was superb, probably the best we had in our tour around Israel. Lots of hot and cold foods and things being cooked fresh.
Swimming pool: not huge but big enough for the kids to cool off and mess about in. Towels are provided. About 4pm there is no more sun round the pool because it is blocked by the hotel opposite but we found that this was a lovely time of day to go down to the beach.
I saw some reviews claiming staff were writing the reviews on this site or asking people to do it. I certainly didn't find any of that and overall was very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Check which ones have been refurbished and exactly what type of view. Some of the sea views are lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brambleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed and helpful review;
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience here and enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
We would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel seems "okay" at first, but I stayed here 10 days and learned how wrong first impressions can be. Rooms small, and never cleaned properly. Had to ask for clean towels, etc. every single night as they were never replaced by cleaner who took away used ones. Never got new coffee mugs, water glasses, etc. Crazy rule at pool: One towel per guest per day, if it is not returned, you are charged. Four days in a row there were NO towels to rent at pool. Had to bring in GM to get that fixed. Worst thing: husband came to stay for a few nights and hotel DEMANDED extra $50 per night, even though I had booked on Expedia. I offered to pay for his breakfast (which they priced at $13/day) but they never backed down on the extra $50/day charge. Highway robbery. Elevators routinely out of order. Cards advertising prostitution all over sidewalk in front of hotel every day, like Strip in Vegas. Not for kids!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The bathrooms are ridiculously tiny, even by Japanese standards. I am 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you for your review;
unfortunately, due to the loss of our laundry manager, we did have a problem with the towels at the hotel for one week. We tried to do our best and solve it, but until new towels were bought and brought to the hotel it took a little time. However, there was never such a rule at the pool that only one towel will be given to the guests per day, and we sure never charged any guests for towels. There is indeed a difference in price when there is a booking for a single room or a double room; it is the same when booking online through expedia.com, booking.com or any other way. Other people who booked their double room on expedia.com for the same dates, paid 32$ more than you per night. We did not ask for 50$ more, but 25$ including breakfast. The cards outside on the sidewalk are something that we try to take care of as best as possible.
We have a person cleaning the sidewalk outside of the hotel every half an hour; other than that, unfortunately, there is nothing we can do. When noticing them, our staff always stop the people who throw those cards outside. We cannot take responsibility over that. Thank you for choosing to stay with us;
we would love to see you again amongst our guests in the future.
Regards, Eitan Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
#74 of 100 in Tel Aviv
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#60 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#69 of 100 in Tel Aviv
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#45 of 100 in Tel Aviv
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 100 in Tel Aviv
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel

Property: Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Address: 156 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6345115, Israel (Formerly Leonardo Basel Hotel)
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#43 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing