We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star and Not on the Beach”
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Tel Aviv
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel overlooks a small boat harbor but has no beach. The pool is on the roof and was so so. The accomodations are in dire need of updating. My travel agent recommended this over the Sheraton - big mistake. The Sheraton is actually on the beach and has full amenities. Don't stay here if you are looking for breach front in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2010

We spend two nights there on arrival in Israel and one night about 10 days later when we took a room just for the day, leaving at 10 pm for a 1 am flight. We found the rooms perfectly adequate, not large, but clean, comfortable and quiet with the walls seeming to be made from concrete. We had a sea view room on our first stay so there was no street noise. Our day room on our return faced the city and we would not have been happy if we were going to sleep there so I'd recommend the sea view room. Breakfast on the sea was great and scenic with good service for anything not on the very expansive buffet. Front desk staff was adequate, not much more. Pleasant but not the kind of interest in customer service that we would have liked. No real interest in the guest but nothing rude either. More disinterest. Nothing that would make us not stay there again. Location quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireHomeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed at the Carlton Tel Aviv with my wife during a trip to Tel Aviv over Easter/Passover. The hotel has a very good location. It is centrally located and is right on the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. The hotel's lobby is nice and spacious and seems to have been recently renovated. The rooms, however, are dated and are in need of a renovation. We had a room with a sea view which was nice but the balcony was very small. We found during our trip that Israel does not have a service culture and that proved to be the case for the Carlton. It took 3 calls and 20 minutes to get an internet access card delivered and they sent us to a local restaurant on the port without exact direction even though the port dragged on for over half a mile and had countless restaurants. The hotel has a small rooftop pool and a very good breakfast that is served in a restaurant across from the hotel with a view of the beach. All things being considered, the Carlton Tel Aviv is an OK hotel but hardly worth the money we paid. Israel is interesting and Tel Aviv is a very well situated city but i don't think we would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Although there is nothing basically "wrong" with the Carlton hotel itself, it has huge problem. It is situated right next to another hotel that has a rooftop swimming pool, and that hotel hosts weddings, parties and events at the pool. The noise is just awful. Louspeakers blasting away. It ruins one's stay at the Carlton, day or night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jon-dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Excellent Location, Highly efficient, Best breakfasts and best breakfast location on Tel Aviv beach front along promonade. Within walking distance of down town Dizzengoff. Great room great service. Needs to be used to be enjoyed. If you are on a hectic touring schedule as apossed to enjoying a beach based holiday. you might wanna save a bit a go elsewhere. But what the hell ....after a long day nothing better than chilling on the nearby beach only 150m from the hotels front door and having sundowners at the hotel bar or at a nearby beachfront cafe.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank jeff1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The rarest commodity in Israeli Hotels is good service. Good service with a smile is virtually an unknown concept. The Carlton has good service, with smiles and a sense of humour, making it unique.
Doron, Moran, Simon and the rest of the Front Desk team were fantastic. Not only did I have the pressure of guests flying in for my daughter' s wedding (all were looked after expertly), but just after the wedding we were stranded by the Icelandic eruption. Even though some of my guests were checking out and checking in like yo-yos trying to catch non-existent flights out, everyone was accommodated without any effort required by either myself or my wife.
The Carlton on the Beach (used for breakfast) is delightful, and has been beautifully renovated. Breakfasts (dairy only) are more than ample, the coffee's good, and the setting is lovely.
The Carlton Lobby has, in my humble opinion, not only the best rare (and Kosher!) hamburgers in Israel, but probably the best east of New York. Sushi is fine too, and I was told that the veal was quite delicious. Coffees and drinks are available on the outside patio, where you can watch the joggers, strollers, the world and his wife and baby and dog too, walk past on the boardwalk leading to Jaffa in one direction and to the old port (where there are great restaurants, bars and a Castro fashion outlet, amongst others).
i can't comment on the Carlton restaurant, as I never had the need to try it. Tel Aviv is teeming with great restaurants and cafes. If you fancy a perfectly cooked 'American Breakfast' (i.e. bacon and eggs) just walk down past the Carlton on the Beach to Fortuna del Mar, and tell Yarden that I sent you. She'll take great care of you.
We had two functions at the Carlton - drinks on the roof watching the sunset around the swimming pool, and a brunch at Carlton on the Beach. A big thank you to Yossi, Vered and the rest of the F & B team for making them both really memorable.
Quibbles? Yes, the rooms are a little tired, although they have everything in them that you'll need. Evian at $7 a bottle is something that should be replaced by complimentary bottled water - something all good 5 star hotels offer in hot countries; wi-fi should be free in all rooms, not just the Royal Lounge (Jimmy please note!). That's about the only slight negatives that I could find. The Carlton is probably not ideal for kids, although I've never been there in the summer months and may be judging the number of youngsters on the wrong months.
Apart from that, I have no hesitation in recommending the Carlton. I wouldn't stay any where else in Tel Aviv, and certainly not at a certain (and much larger) hotel which overlooks the Carlton. As one of the managers said to me 'We are surrounded by big name, international hotels here. If we are going to compete, we have to offer something different at the Carlton. The difference is service". I say no more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonybard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is very outdated. They renovated the hotel, however it seems to be renovated only in the lobby and lobby restaurant. The rooms are in terribly need of renovation, from the plumbing to the air conditioning and the mattresses, everything! The sea view was very nice, however the balcony is soo tiny, and when you sit you get the ridge of the glass before your eyes, so if you want to see the sea, you have either to stand or to shrink a bit...
The service at the front desk is very poor, the staff seems to be more interested to answer phones than to talk to costumers in front of them. Another thing; don't drink the water!!!! it cost $7 a bottle.
Our car was in the valet parking, when we were in a hurry one day they told us that we have to wait for 25 minutes, and then the guy did us a favor and brought the car in 10 minutes and was very anxiously waiting for a tip. However all the other times when we waited for our car, it was there in 5 minutes!
the business lounges is terrible. the milk for the coffee was bad, the mouse of the computer was dis-functional, and it is a tiny room, with nothing in it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#46 of 103 in Tel Aviv
2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Tel Aviv
#41 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
#26 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#52 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri, Tel Aviv 6357325, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#7 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $251 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing