We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, lovely view”
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Tel Aviv
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely view”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The view from my balcony at the Carlton was perfect - beach, sunset, crashing waves. In fact the views are great from everywhere at the Carlton...the rooftop pool, the beachside restaurant. It's fun to watch the local surfers whilst drinking (excellent) coffee and eating (a fantastic) breakfast. The selection at the breakfast buffet is superb so I'm surprised to see this was criticized in another post.

The rooms at the hotel are newly refurbished and very nice, I particularly liked the fresh flowers and other thoughtful touches. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful, particularly on reception. My one and only criticism is the internet access...I can't understand why some hotels still charge for wifi access. It's 2013! It's particularly irritating for business guests, especially if you have 2 phones and 1 laptop - I had to pay separately for all 3, every 24 hours.

Aside from that, everything else was great. If they can sort out the wifi charges I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear rachelw77,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose the Carlton for your future visits to Israel.

Your comments regarding the internet have been passed on to our management team. The internet charges are valid for 2 devices with the second device charge (taken on the same day) being removed at the time of departure. If you could provide us with further details regarding your stay and the charges we will of course investigate this further for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    330
    109
    35
    28
See reviews for
385
370
77
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my second hotel on the beach front in Tel Aviv, and this one ticks all the boxes, great staff, great views, amazing breakfast with fantastic views over the marina. For my stay here nothing was too much trouble for the staff even when asked to prepare food in the late hours after work. For breakfast it was a one hundred metre walk over the prom to the restaurant. This is set beside the marina over looking the harbour and sea which is amazing inside or out on the veranda, the food is plentyfull with great service, especially the expresso. Again for the rooms a front sea room is a must, the rooms are of a high standard with the normall bits etc.

Room Tip: a forward sea room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear steven d,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest at the Carlton Tel Aviv, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive for complete guest satisfaction, and we are delighted that this was evident to you during your visit.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in Carlton for a week as a part of our honeymoon and really enjoyed our time there. We had a room on the Executive floor facing Tel-Aviv Marina which provided us with a great view and a fresh breeze from the sea. The room was clean, modern, newly renovated and very comfortable. We really appreciated nice extra touches like fresh green apples on every floor and in the lobby, fresh fruit in the room every day, chocolates on the bed at night etc. We also had access to the Royal Business Lounge which was very nice and had the most helpfull staff.
Hotel is located on the beach promenade in just 15 minutes walk from the Tel Aviv port where are lots of restaurants and stores located which makes it very convenient. Though you have to walk at least 5-7 minutes to get to a normal beach where you can rent sunbeds and umbrellas because there is nothing like this right in front the hotel. The hotel staff provided us with as many beach towels as we needed, so we just took them walked a little to the beach spots we liked.
The breakfast buffet was very good but the same every day. I've stayed in other Israeli hotels previously and I think this one had a good but the smallest choice and variety for a 5-star.
On a down side of our stay is that despite the fact that we lived on a recently renovated executive floor, our door lock broke 6 times over the course of the week. Almost every day we had to call for help to get back into our room which was really annoying and disappointing.
If not the door problems we are overall very happy with our stay and will recommend the hotel and friends (though I think it is more suitable for older couples).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Anna K,

Thank you for your review and we were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton Tel Aviv. We apologise for the issues you encountered with regards to your door and have ensured that our maintenance team have taken care of this problem.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once again on your future visits to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great views from the roof, nice lobby, old, dated and small rooms, small bathrooms but updated (barely), definitely not a 5 star hotel, good location, on the water, no beach chairs or sitting area by the water, pool is on the roof. Very good breakfast buffet, overall disappointing and really a 3 star hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank cchinea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear cchinea,

We were sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at the Carlton Tel Aviv. We pride ourselves both on our facilities and service and your comments have been passed on to our management team in order to enable us to improve. It should be noted that there are no star ratings in Israeli hotels, and with regards to the beaches, that all of Tel Aviv's beaches are public which in turn means that no hotel is able to provide beach chairs or sitting areas for their guests.

We hope that you will return to the Carlton Tel Aviv on your next visit to Israel and enjoy the wonderful experience that we strive to achieve for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There hardly are new hotels in Israel. Even though Carlton seems to have been built in the 1970s, its new fixtures and fittings positions it well relative to aged hotel stock in the country. The location is amazing - the hotel is based right by the seaside on a lovely embankment where it's great to have an early morning run. The rooms are sizeable and the swimming pool on the 15th floor is most pleasant. There also is a large open air swimming pool with several 50m lanes in front of the hotel by the marina.

Overall, I would have ranked the hotel as "excellent" but the fact that the hotel gym comes for an extra cost - and that is for a facility which is sold as part of the hotel!!! - and horrible service in the Blue Sky rstaurant on the 15th floor I have to lower the mark. I wrote a separate review for the restaurant as I did not want that one-off experience to ruin the review of the hotel but I would strongly suggest that the management improve the staff training and deliver the mesage that waiters are not to insist on tips. A Russian speaking waitress in Blue Sky was insisting particularly strongly that it is to be 10% in Israel. She ruined the evening, but as I said I don't want that one-off experience to ruin the entire review.

I enjoyed my stay and have no problem in recommending - with a couple of reservations - the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safaricakes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear safaricakes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Your comments regarding both the gym and the service in the Blue Sky restaurant have been noted and have been passed on to the relevant departments for further review. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once again on your future visits to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our family of five (3 kids) had a delightful stay at this boutique hotel (Aug-Sept) and we were so impressed with all aspects of this hotel. We could not find any faults except wanting to stay longer here! From the attentive, customer service oriented bell boys, front desk and restaurant staff to the room maids and pool attendants, they ensured our stay was just perfect..|The location of the hotel is ideal just a hop step from the boardwalk and beautiful beach. We stayed in the royal floor and the rooms were very attractive and well appointed. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a wide variety of choice and the staff were pleased to offer my kids other foods too to ensure they were happy. This really is an elegant sophisticated hotel and the roof top pool, bar are so chic. We would have no reservations at all to recommend the Carlton as an ideal hotel in Tel Aviv. And we plan to be back again. Thank you to the staff .. You really do get it right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Monique A

It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests during your recent visit to Tel Aviv. We hope that it won't be too long before you return to Israel and give us the opportunity of hosting you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from a 9 night stay at the Carlton Hotel. I loved everything about this hotel. It has a small boutique feel to it and the staff provided friendly and excellent service. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Any request I had was dealt with within minutes. The pool was immaculately clean and has an incredible view of the Tel Aviv Marina and sea and has an awesome breeze. The hotel is located right on the beach promenade. A 5 minute walk to the left takes you to Gordon and Frishman beaches and a 15 minute walk to the right takes you to the port where there are many great restaurants. I did not have breakfast at the hotel but there are many great cafes within walking distance. I have stayed at the Sheraton and David Intercontinental and found the Carlton to be much more superior in terms of quality and value. Nice extra touches are fresh green apples on every floor and in the lobby, chocolates on your bed at night and super comfortable beds at the pool. The staff were amazing and a special thank you to Doron for going above and beyond. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear ScubaNYC16

We are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay with us here at the Carlton Tel Aviv. Our Guest Relations team constantly strives to ensure complete customer satisfaction and we are delighted that our efforts are apparent to our guests.

We hope that you will return to visit us again, and next time don't forget to check out our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#41 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#48 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.1 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#60 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Property: Carlton Tel Aviv
Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri, Tel Aviv 6357325, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#9 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing