We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Can do better on service and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location. Can do better on service and rooms”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed there for 10 days for a business trip. The location is good - across the street from a beach park. The rooms were average, with some things showing their age. The door in the bathroom and the bottom of the counter had wood peeling off. Service in the lobby is average - takes time to get served. The small gym was never terribly busy, but has no hours written. I went early one day (6am) to find it closed with no sign on when it would open. The pool gets very busy in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohitInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear MohitInSeattle,

Thank you for staying with us at the David InterContinental Tel Aviv. We appreciate your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your business trip. Our gym hours are posted on our website, and we can speak to our gym manager about posting the hours somewhere more accessible.

We hope that you will be returning soon to the "SoHo" of Tel Aviv!

Best wishes,

Ely Benhamo
Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    602
    251
    111
    80
See reviews for
513
483
88
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

After reading all of the TA reviews for hotels in Tel Aviv, we settled on the Intercontinental for its brand quality, location and price. We won't make that same mistake twice. The reviewers who gave this property Average and below average ratings are spot on. The hotel does have a great location at the beach (note: NOT on the beach, but across a very busy street) and adjacent to the two hottest areas of Tel Aviv. Unfortunately, that's where it all begins and ends for this property. The service is like that of any stateside huge convention hotel (impersonal, substandard, lazy). We reserved through Amex Platinum travel but of course did not receive a room upgrade (I was warned by many people that this property rarely honors that). The room we received reeked of body odor that worked its way in to the fabric of the furniture. The front desk neither seemed surprised nor was terribly apologetic; between the housekeeper(s), the mini-bar attendant, and the supervisors who should check each room before check in NOBODY thought to do anything about the odor in the room. How lazy is that? They asked us to wait some time for another room, so we authorized them to move our bags when they had it ready and we took a long walk in to town. When we returned four hours later, our room was ready but our bags were nowhere to be found. 40 minutes later they sent the bags to our room. OK, so now we can shower and get dressed for dinner. But, 10 minutes later the bellman returns to our room and announces that we are supposed to move to another room! I told him no and went back to my shower! The bathroom is dingy and feels dirty- there are stains in the tile and tub, the formica-like facing on the door is peeled half way off forcing us to hold it against the door when we want to close it, and, well, you get the idea. In the room, the furniture is all scratched and stained, the phones are missing the info cards for the one touch buttons, so you don't know which button dials which service, the mattress is the quality of a motel bed. OK, its just for one night, so off to dinner in town we go. When we return from dinner, we go to put our valuables in the safe, but it is now broken, with our passports and plane tkts inside! 30 minutes later a security man comes up and gets it open with his pass card, so we sleep with our valuables with us in the bed! The next morning, checking out is similar to Ben Stiller's experience at the airport at the end of MEET THE PARENTS- a half-witted clerk kept banging away at the keyboard when all she had to do was print out the bill for a one night stay that was pre-paid. All in all, IC Hotels should revisit this property and see if it still worthy of their name on the front door. Next time I visit Tel Aviv, I will stay at one of the truly nice boutiques in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-ABH90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was negatively impacted. We try to cater to all of our guests and live up to their expectations of us.

We apologize for the shortcomings you described and hope that we can offer you a more memorable and favorable experience in the future.

Best wishes,

Ely Benhamo
Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unidentified
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It had been a few years since I was last in Tel Aviv, and there haven't been many changes of hotels along the oceanfront. Having stayed at the Sheraton and Hilton hotels before, this was a change -- a little farther south, closer to Jaffa and just steps away from Neve Tzedek. It's a very convenient location.

The service is good and friendly. The (king-sized bed) room was spacious, and the Wi-Fi worked very quickly. (If you join the IHG mileage plan, they give you free Wi-Fi.) The breakfast buffet was reasonably expansive, and they serve until 11am, which is reasonably late. There is an executive lounge off to the side, which is comfortable and private.

The gym is quite small with just a handful of treadmill and elliptical machines, some bicycles, free weights, and basic weight machines. It was never crowded. The spa, across the hallway, however looked pretty busy. The pool area is great -- although they do pack in the lounge chairs and it can get very crowded on the weekends. But the entire terrace stays in the sun so you don't have to move around chasing the light.

There is an AM-PM supermarket and a pharmacy about ten minutes' walk from the hotel, just on the fringes of Neve Tzedek, which is a lovely little village-type neighborhood that is seeing a lot of renovation/rebuilding -- full of boutiques and restaurants and galleries.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Asoloist,

Thank you for vacationing with us and taking the time to share your feedback with us. We at the David InterContinental Tel Aviv are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and are especially thrilled to see that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hotel. We see that you enjoyed our state-of-the-art gym which features TechnoGym equiptment.You mentioned that there haven't been many changes to the hotels along the Tel Aviv oceanfront, but did you know that we've been renovating, and our new Royal Suite will be available to the public this week?

We hope that you will have a chance to experience one of our newly renovated suites when you return.

Best regards,

Ely Benhamo
Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel oozes luxury from the moment you check in. Rooms are very well furnished and equipped with quality toiletries. Very comfortable beds. As a Platinum member of IHG we were treated like royalty with free wifi and wine, water and fruit in the room. Staff very obliging. Excellent location for visiting Neve Tzedek, Carmel market and Yafo, which is a beautiful walk along the coast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Richy57,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Tel Aviv vacation with us at the David InterContinental! We are thrilled to hear that your stay was extremely enjoyable. We do our best to treat all of our guests like royalty,while boasting the best of Israeli hospitality.

We are awaiting your return!

Best wishes,

Ely Benhamo, Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Located across the beach, overlooking the old and modern city. Very close to Yaffo old port. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is kosher, and very rich in offer. Service on the other hand is very slow. I had wait for 5 to 10 minutes to get cutlery or coffee. Room was close to the elevator and you could hear it. The wifi is not included and too expensive, which is astonishing for a 5 star hotel since even some B&B's now offer it for free. Pool and gym are nice. Sauna is not included in room price and costs some 20$.
All in all, check for the room location before you check in but other from that, good hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MinaMSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear MinaMSarjevo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are grateful to hear that you found our location's proximity to the beach and Jaffa Port very convenient. For future reference, we wanted to let you know that signing up for our IHG Rewards Club membership is free and one of the many wonderful benefits of being a member is free wifi.

We hope you take advantage of this opportunity during your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Ely Benhamo, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautiful Hotel close to Neve Tsedek and Jaffa. Nice amenities. Stayed for almost a week. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The common areas are attractive and the pool and proximity to the beach to Neve Tsedek, Jaffa, Nachalat Binyamin and Rothschild Boulevard make this property unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear M W,

Thank you for leaving us with this kind review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your business trip with us at the David InterContinental hotel. We agree that our proximity to Neve Tzedek, Jaffa, Nachalat Binyamin, Rothschild Boulevard and the beach make our hotel the perfect home base for a Tel Aviv trip whether you are going for business, pleasure, or both!

We are looking forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,

Ely Benhamo, Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

After being told this is one the most luxurious hotels in Tel Aviv, and having experienced true luxury across the globe, I was disappointed to arrive in the David Intercontinental to a rather 'station' like appearance with loud , screaming kids running in all directions. The rooms were not bad but no balconies. The pool was unbelievably squashed, with deckchairs placed like sardines next to each other. The pool restaurant rather reminded me of a fast food diner rather than what should be a civilised restaurant of a 5 star hotel. The shabbat dinners were held in the ball room since was the summer and so many people. Entrance for that was like pushing animals out of the way! The manner in which people behaved to get to dinner left a lot to be desired! The actual food was not too bad. Overall, I would not return to this hotel due to a lack of personal service and lack of personal space! (I'm sure at other times of the year and in low season, the hotel is much better!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naamabd, Sales and Marketing at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sweety9London,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us as it helps us learn where we can improve. We are sorry to hear that your vacation wasn't as relaxing as expected. August is our busiest time of the year, and even though we are one of the largest hotels in Tel Aviv, we do our best to individually cater to each of our guests.

We hope that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.

Best wishes,

Ely Benhamo, Sales and Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
1.5 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#25 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#42 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
#48 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#47 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,599 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental David Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Property: InterContinental David Tel Aviv
Address: 12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#32 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#33 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental David Tel Aviv 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Israeli welcome awaits you at your home in the 'SoHo' of Tel Aviv. Ideally located between the city's main cultural centers, Neve Tzedek, the beach, and Old Jaffa, the David InterContinental offers the perfect starting point to exploring the city. Spend the day experiencing Tel Aviv like a local and return to the serenity of the David InterContinental boasting the best of Israeli hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental David Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental David Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Intercontinental Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing