We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'd heard great reviews about this hotel from former colleagues and maybe this gave me higher than normal expectations but I was rather dissapointed with the overall experience. Sure enough its a great location right on the beach front but the service left a lot to be desired and the decor looked dated and buildings could do with some renovations. Its very pricey but not the typical quality expected of a big 5* crowne plaza. The lobby area is impressive but the receptionists always had an indifferent attitude for my entire stay. The most friendly staff worked in the bar at the far end of the lobby but the food menu there is quite limited. The rooms are comfortable enough but I think the photos on the web-site must have been taken quite a while ago. The breakfast menu is a really good buffet style with lots of choices of local and traditional foods. The breakfast room has great views of the sea front but the tables are too close together so there's not much space to get to and from the buffet and again the service from the staff here was poor so I didn't eat my evening meals there. There's a great choice of restaurants just a short stroll down the high street along the beach though!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Dale T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so glad you liked the great location of our hotel. I am sorry for the unacceptable service you received and the condition of our hotel fell below your expectations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with our breakfast area. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    462
    193
    104
    78
See reviews for
487
408
109
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Crown Plaza is very well situated right on the Tel Aviv popular beach front, next to the marina. Direct access to the beach, and within walking distance to the city center and the shops. A good position and good business facilities for business. The exec lounge is well run, clean and the staff extremely friendly. There are always taxi's available, and the hotel offers all Israel tours at reasonable prices.

A walk from the hotel along the beach front in the evening is well worth it, with the sun going down, loads of good eating places along the way, and everyone is friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms with a low number i.e. room xx01-03 are all on the beach view side and those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear KEJA58,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about the Business Lounge. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.
We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.


Sincerely yours,

Ivo Jacome
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was this august 2012 first time in this hotel, was excellent and fantastic in everything and in every side of it. The best was to meet the Director Avi LEVY, Ivo JACOME and Rachel RATZON.
VERY VERY SPECIAL PERSONS. Me and my family feel better than home.
of course from now all my holidays shall be there and i'll bring all my group there!!!
thanks friend never forget you and we miss all of you and your wonderful staff very very kind!!!

betty nd family

Room Tip: corner suites large and sunny with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Betty, and Family,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about Ms. Rachel Ratzon, and Mr. Ivo Jacome. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.
We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely yours,

Avi Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at this property August 26-28 2012.
The rooms are nicely decorated, a good size and clean.
The location is fantastic and is on the best beach.
The food is excellent in the main restaurant, and is also good at the pool and in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaven1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear TravelMaven1818,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! You have covered all aspects of your stay and we are particularly appreciative about your comments on the room and the meals.

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely yours,

Ivo Jacome
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

overall the hotel was really nice and a great place to stay. It was in a good location - the two malls are easily reached and the station is a short taxi ride away.
Pool was really lovely - as was the outdoor jacuzzi - plenty of sunbeds available.
There is also a door that leads straight out to the beach as well but it's a shame that it closes at 8 pm.

The restaurants are lovely - although the sushi restaurant is quite expensive - there was really excellent service in the bar restaurant - although the food took a while to arrive we were offered a free dessert (without complaining)

The executive suite is really really lovely - the food available there is absolutely fantastic! However be warned that you cannot wear flip flops in this room - I did a was swiftly asked to change my shoes.

The room was really nice - shower was superb - and the staff could not have been more helpful.

the best part of this hotel - the phenomenal breakfasts - too much food to name but really superb:)

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for a club level room as access to the executive suite is great - can save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ms. Amanda613,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! You have covered all aspects of your stay and we are particularly appreciative about your comments on the breakfast and business lounge.

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely yours,

Ivo Jacome
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Sleek rooms with all the conveniences. Some great staff, but limited English. . Right on the beach. Nice pool but closes at 8 pm, as does the beach door. Balconies offer beach and city views. Good toursvavail from the concierge. Quick walk to Yafo and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ms. Elizabeth W,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely yours,

Ivo Jacome
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

On the positive side, our rooms were clean and service in the restaurants was prompt and courteous. The Executive Lounge is a fine idea and is well done.

On the negative side, the hotel does not facilitate handicapped guests. There are half-story steps to the lobby bar, the beach, the Bistro restaurant, the pool and the spa. There are no emergency call devices in bathrooms (which can lead to liability concerns). It was our experience that the doors to our rooms and to the Executive Lounge were too hard to open for most people.

On our floor, (12) the elevator call button did not work most of the time. I watched hotel staff pushing the call button repeatedly with no result.

As for our room, the shower was excellent, but by the time we finished our showers, the towels were damp from humidity. Suggestion: move the towel rack outside the shower. There’s plenty of other space.

There does not seem to be any vent in the bathroom that would exhaust humidity from the room. There is, however, a switch plate on the wall next to the telephone. It does not seem to control anything, so I hope the Italian contractor didn’t charge you in the remodeling.

Facing the bed, on the wall behind the lamp on the nightstand on the left there is an almost invisible clock. It is completely useless so again I hope the contractor didn’t charge you.

On the right side wall, again almost invisible behind the lamp, and certainly as difficult to see and more difficult to reach, is the control for the air conditioner. It took some time for us to find it. (I’d suggest that you might not want to hire the Italians again.) Suggestion: If the controls cannot be relocated to a more conventional place, at least put a sign on the wall to inform guests as to the location and use of the A/C controls.

On the room telephone the direct call buttons to “front desk,” and “guest services” did not work. When I inquired the next morning, the front desk told me that they don’t answer the phone after 2230. The following night, at about 2230, we received a phone call from the operator asking if phone service had been restored and asking if we could help to check it out.

There is no clock or clock radio in the room to set an alarm. We could not reach the front desk to leave a wake-up call. (The next morning they told us to use the clock radio in our room.)

Finally, the refrigerator is not set cold enough to cool the contents and there is no visible control to set it cooler. Room temperature drinks are not very appetizing on a hot Tel Aviv day. Obviously, we did not buy any drinks from the room refrigerator.
I think it points to the need for some human factors analysis of designs and some quality control follow up of the contractor’s work.

Speaking of human factors, I've saved the best for last.

Please help me to do an experiment. Go to room 1207 and sit on the toilet. Make sure first that the toilet paper dispenser has a full roll and the cover is properly in place.

Now imagine that you have finished your business and would like to tear off a few sheets of toilet paper. Try to do it!

Did you have any difficulty? We did!

It is not that only 10% to 15% of the human race is left-handed and the dispenser is on the left. No. It is not that the dispenser is badly designed and withholds the paper. No. It is that the dispenser is almost behind the person sitting on the toilet.

The dispenser takes two hands to operate. Whether you are right-handed or left-handed you will have to turn halfway around to operate the dispenser and get toilet paper.

In either event, if you lift the cover of the dispenser to reach the paper and pull on it, the paper will run free. That's bound to cost you a lot of wasted toilet paper.

My wife and I took the toilet paper out of the dispenser (after some aggravation) and put the roll on the washstand facing us.

Of course, this defeated the purpose of the dispenser. It also meant that without some human factors analysis you have bought some dispenser hardware that you really didn't need.

Remove the inappropriate hardware and hang a toilet paper dispenser under the washstand facing the toilet. It will serve everyone.


At the end, all of the email addresses they gave us for comments were rejected.

Room Tip: New rooms are badly designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiePaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo J, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear LouiePaloAlto,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, as I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I'm trying to understand what situations took place that left you feeling not to comment any of these with our Guest Relations Staff, during your staying.

However, after a thorough investigation of this matter, our findings conclude:
There are elevators and ramps to the lobby bar, to the beach, and to the main restaurant, as well as a disabled lift to the pool and the spa.
There is a telephone set, which allows emergency calls, in every guest bathroom.
We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel

Furthermore, I want to assure you Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we are not different at Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations.

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest. We hold earnestly the confidence our guests place in us and we work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Yours sincerely

Ivo Jacome
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#40 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#55 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv City Center
0.1 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#59 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#26 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
Address: 145 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 6345313, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#23 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#25 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean sea, the Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv hotel is superbly located on Tel Aviv's seafront promenade.The contemporary business-oriented hotel, a venue of vibrant activity, in the heart of the bustling international metropolis, is only minutes away from Tel Aviv's cultural and entertainment centers; shopping, business and nightlife districts.In close proximity to the old city of Jaffa, it;s ancient port and whimsical flea market, art galleries, as well as other numerous attractions and 18 km from the airport. Located at the north end of the promenade, Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv offers direct access to the beach and view of the sea from all of it's rooms. The hotel boasts one of Tel Aviv s finest restaurants, combining Far Eastern cuisine with a touch of the French kitchen, as well as Spa & Fitness Club and a pool open year round. Check-in time update : for saturdays is 20:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing