We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place and food”
Review of Oasis

Oasis
Ranked #149 of 1,614 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: I believe that to being a Chef is not the simple matter of making a career choice, and embarking on a fast-track to a specific goal in a casual manner, misguidedly hoping first for glory or desiring fame. My cuisine is based on 30 years of experience in the best kitchens of California and the world. I base each menu specifically on absolutely the best examples available of produce, fish, and seafood, both local and from abroad, only in their proper seasons. I let the ingredients speak for themselves, letting them tell me what they wish to be transformed into. This way, I respect them and let them shine in their natural perfection." "WHAT KIND OF RESTAURANT IS IT" We simply do not have an answer... We change every day, we cook extremely elevated and complex dishes, we cook "street food" and "culinary in-jokes", we cook tributes to people we love, to places, to memories.... We are influenced by our experiences from around the world, our crew, our lovers and our friends
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very special place and food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very tasty, creative, friendly, and cozy place, led by a chef from San Francisco made for one of a most memorable evenings in Tel Aviv. Clearly frequented and favored by locals. Reservations are essential unless you show up early.

If you like American chain restaurant food, this may not be a place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    16
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and poor food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The place is small and pleasant. It looks modern and in the same time a popular place. But ... The Waite was quite unpleasant and gave us the feeling she has hard work and we don't understand anything ! The menu is very small so the choice is quite limited. We were four people and we shared everything so that we could taste almost the whole menu. As a first course we had a salad zucchini that was delicious. We had also a kind of mushrooms salad on a polenta. We didn't like it that much the polenta was between crunchy toast and chewy bread and quite tasteless. The red pepper with cheese was too spicy for me but my friends like it very much. For main courses we had a pasta with liver we sent back because it was cold. We took also the French kiss which is small blinis with a tiny piece of prosciutto des appointing. The risotto was lacking of salt and pepper at least. The fish which was prepared in asiatic style was good. For dessert we had a chocolat sorbet really good and a browny that was not a browny and had a burnt taste. More than half of what we ate was not tasty. We paid with wine 900 shekels for food for 3 persons. Very very expensive for Israel and for that restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank val039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the standard good restaurant.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is a small place, The Chef makes everything very openly and in accordance with the order.
The dishes vary depending on the market and they are very special.
The atmosphere is very good and the service is excellent.
If you have time to eat only in one restaurant when you are in Tel-Aviv, don't miss, the OASIS.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aviram_safruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good food experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Oasis is like the name is. A little space with big flavours and although limited menu, would please most foodies. Chef Rima is on display as she creates your culinary choices and it is only for a select few, as the place has limited tables. My opinion would be to book to avoid disappointment. All in all a wonderful evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“cellar of a restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a scam the menu was limited. The portions are ridiculously small and would have your 2 year old leaving hungry, Thank-g-d for good Texas company and Israeli Beer, the only good part of the evening.

If you want to feel like a sucker (more reviews about this place have to be written up) visit Oasis, Tel-Aviv, 1 Tchnernikovsky

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing