We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Libyan Comfort Food in Jaffa”
Review of Dr. Shakshuka

Dr. Shakshuka
Ranked #983 of 1,906 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Doctor Shakshuka is a kosher restaurant serving North-African home-style cuisine, which has many fans. Most of the cooking is done in the family kitchen by the mother of the family. The restaurant caters to private events in a unique and authentic atmosphere. Doctor Shakshuka offers the best Turkish shawarma made of thin slices of lamb with minced lamb meat in between, skewered on one huge spit, in his new shawarma place (same location).
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

After a walking all morning in Tel Aviv and Jaffa, we looked for lunch in old Jaffa. Dr. Shakshuka filled the bill. A funky place with indoor and outdoor seating, they serve Libyan Jewish comfort food. We had shwarma, both chicken and lamb, accompanied by a nice salad and a little dish of pickled vegetables. A huge basket of bread appeared also. We also had a pitcher of homemade lemonade. Service was quick and the food very tasty. The portions were large. The only bit of drama occurred when the waiter said cash or check. Since the fellow at the entrance said they took Visa, I suggested he consult with that guy. All turned out OK but they added 17% to my tab. So I figured that covered the tip too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 577 of 963 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great example of name and nothing else. The food is not tasty anymore . porcinis are small service is sloppy.

Date of visit: April 2012
2  Thank br27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

nice place with an interesting atmosphere. food was served hot but a bit pricey for the meal. not sure i would visit again.

Date of visit: October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bq72also
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I spent 3 weeks in Israel, and ate shakshouka probably every other day (I really love it) so I consider myself as having a bit more than a passing familiarity with the dish. While I enjoyed just about every dish of the stuff when in Israel, my traveling companions and I agreed that Dr Shakshouka's was the best. There was a certain complexity to the flavor of the sauce that was unparalleled, and no single note (tomato, garlic, cumin, etc.) was overpowering. It also didn't taste sweetened. It was also similar in price to other restaurants that offered it, or around 50 shekels including salads, tahina, bread, and a drink.
The restaurant has a charming atmosphere, too. I don't know if people would consider that as a sign of a tourist trap, but we didn't.
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oaklandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

if you want to taste properly shakshuka (typical Israel dish), that's the place. the restaurant is cozy and fun even if the price is not really convenient. It's a good place to have dinner after a walk to Jaffa.

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank D2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Shakshuka also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Dr. Shakshuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing