We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent: food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yaffo Tel Aviv

Yaffo Tel Aviv
Ranked #119 of 1,576 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.mevashlim.com/Article/25409001.asp
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent: food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Chaim Cohen is Israel's laeding chef - it is reflected in this new restaurant of his.
The open kitchen is in the center of the restaurant - a nice touch. At first it looks as a gimmick but once you are sitted and enjoying the food it is intersting to watch and even becomes a conversation item.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    76
    42
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
523 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant - unjustified prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went for a business dinner. The place is quite impresive - a combination of simplicity and exclusiveness. The part of the open kitchen attracts, the service was very good and the wine suggestions were decent.
The plates were good and taste was as expected from cheff Haim Cohen.
Alll that will be enough for an "excellen" rating but... the price is in my view, way to high... (80 US$ per person when sharing starters and deserts).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabaOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited this restaurant last night on the recommendation of a friend and it was excellent. A little out of the way, being in the business district but clearly popular with clients of all ages. Very trendy with a buzzy atmosphere and great decoration. On first sight the menu looks a little unusual but don't be put off, everything we tried was absolutely outstanding. Fantastic cocktails to start and a good choice of wine. Probably the most expensive restaurant we've visited in Israel but well worth the money - if you haven't been, go and try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Watching the action in the open kitchen is a blast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We sat around the open kitchen and it was fascinating to watch the action. The music is soft and the deserts swim by you just to make sure you leave some room for the third course.

The calamari salad with greens, potatoes and yogurt was big and pretty filling for an appetizer. The famous knaffe was huge and much less sweet than the regular version. It reminded me of Russian syrniki. In a good way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sashulya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a great restaurant. i was there yesterday for the first time to celebrate my birthday with close friends. the atmosphere is hot/cool; the place has an up-scale feel. and as for the food - although a tad pricey - it was excellent. worth every penny. I loved it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaffo Tel Aviv also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Yaffo Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing