We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding experience all round”
Review of The Rothschild 71

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rothschild 71
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel offering outstanding personal service for 6 nights. We booked direct which and were offered a free upgrade to a very large suite. Everything was spotless, modern, clean lines as per the website and right in the centre of Tel Aviv, brilliantly positioned for walking all over the city. This area is alive, vibrant and Rothschild Bvld is lined with one great restaurant after another. You are given two choices for breakfast options - walking 1 minute to either a restaurant or coffee bar who offer Rothschild hotel customers great breakfast options. We preferred the Hillel Cafe option where there is free wifi.
In fact there is free wifi most everywhere in this go ahead lively city.
We have not been to Tel Aviv in 17 years and can't wait to go back. The hotel offers a great concierge service and can help with any sort of itinerary during your stay. Alon who heads a great team was personable, approachable and very helpful.
Rooms are light, spacious and modern with everything you can possibly need for a comfortable stay in Tel Aviv. Will definitely be back and thank you for a great 21st introduction to a fabulous city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for The Rothschild 71
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 974 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is good. It *might* even be great. It is not amazing though and I wonder why it has such amazing reviews. Maybe I missed something.

I travel to Tel Aviv a lot on business and I normally stay at very boring business style hotels - like the Hilton or the Crowne Plaza. In my personal travel I really like to stay at cool little boutique hotels with some character so feel I can judge the Rothschild against both.

The hotel is well located - right in the middle of Rothschild Boulevard. The decor is "boutique hotel" but not very inspirational. A little mid-century modern, a little European in feel. All in all its absolutely pleasant but it won't win any design awards.

I really think that I will be in a minority (and judging from the other reviews I am) BUT there are a few things that I personally didn't like that much:

1) There is no reception desk. instead members of staff are just sitting around in the lounge area with a laptop. This made me feel like i would be disturbing them by asking for assistance. Also its not entirely clear who works in the hotel and who is a guest. Which I found a little strange. The staff were perfectly pleasant once i had identified them.

2) There are no eating facilities. No room service. No breakfast. No snacks in your room. At these prices it would be good to have access to some food. Of course there are many restaurants on Rothschild Boulevard but bearing in mind that there are literally no other facilities at the hotel - I did question what I was paying a relatively high price for.

I was told by one of the staff members that the Rothschild isn't a hotel but is instead "serviced apartments" and whilst its true that my room consisted of a tiny bedroom and a reasonably sized living room plus a tiny shower room (no bath - which is a pet hate of mine) - so could be termed an "apartment", there are no cooking facilities. Which I thought was strange as there is room for a small cooker or whatever. You could hardly stay there unless you are going to eat out for all of your meals. In which case - why stay at a serviced apartment?

3) Finally when I received my bill (900 USD) for three nights. It was split into 450 USD for "rent" and 450 USD for "services". I questioned this and was told it was quite normal. I stay in a lot of hotels and it is not quite normal. I asked to have the invoice showing the true cost of the room and not split it into different line items (I need this to claim back expenses) and was told that it wasn't possible because of the Rothschild's own tax affairs. I just think this is weird and it will cause me a lot of extra administration and explanation when claiming my spend back from my company. It looks like i spent 450 USD on services... What services? - the hotel doesn't even have any facilities...

In summary this *IS* a really nice boutique hotel - but its not as great as other boutiques I have stayed at, is also quite expensive for what you get (basically no facilities at all) and for ME just wasn't at all what I had expected.

In fairness most residents DID seem to be having a great time but because I was there for business this didn't really suit.

TLDR: Good not great boutique hotel in a fantastic location, absolutely zero facilities, and a "too cool for school" vibe which left me feeling like I would have been better off somewhere else whilst travelling on business.

Room Tip: if you like having a bath - make sure you ask as some rooms only have a shower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank disorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location on Rothschild Blvd. We went to several excellent restaurants within a few blocks. In our two weeks in Israel and 5 different hotels the staff here were the friendliest and most helpful. Breakfast was included and we had a choice of two different restaurants to go to and order off a limited menu of different Israeli breakfasts which were included in our rate. Both were right next door. The Hillel cafe had 4 choices and The Cantina had 3. We tried both, Both were good, and the cooked portion (eggs, etc.) were made specifically for you. For our room, we were upgraded to a suite which had a living room, kitchen, bedroom, hall with closet & bathroom. We had full control of the air conditioning, although not quite as much air made it into the bedroom. Large bathroom with good amenities, but OK counter space, as long as you utilized the shelf over the Toilet. The only disappointment was the pillows were very soft feather pillows so your head sunk down to the bed. This hotel offered coffee and tea & cookies all day in the lobby & wine in the later afternoons.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the hotel and were completely satisfied. The location on Rothschild Boulevard is wonderful: you are surrounded by shops, restaurants, cafes and are within easy walking of culture spots such as the Tel Aviv Museum of Art.
Make sure that you visit the old restored town of Jaffa and additionally, the walk from the New Port area that follows all of the various beaches back to Jaffa is lovely.
Staff in the hotel were very helpful in terms of restaurant recommendations and other top local tips
A superb base in which to visit a fabulous city!

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter (obviously in a city)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainF268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rothschild delivers a great service within a very good surrounding in Tel Avivs most famous street/blvd.

Everything was great
Rooms
Service
a highly motivated team

There was no swimming pool unfortunately, but the beach is more than enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for one night, as we live close by and just took some time off from our house chores. It has a perfect location with a walking distance to all Tel aviv has to offer ( beaches, fine dining, shops etc) and a clean, well equipped room. Another important thing is the excellent value for the money - it was cheaper than other boutique hotels and does not fall behind in all terms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therealnirdotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed overnight here before heading to Europe.

Excellent staff with comfortable rooms with plenty of "gifts" for guess in the rooms in the form of complementary water, nuts, apricots, dates etc.

In walking distant of beach, restaurant etc. The nicest part of the room was the bathroom. clean, comfortable ayout.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyomingDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
1.4 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#24 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothschild 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothschild 71

Address: 71 Shderot Rothschild, Tel Aviv 6578603, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $170 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rothschild 71 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 71 Rothschild Boulevard, the rothschild 71 is all about comfort, intimacy and class for both a business trip and an urban vacation alike. Conveniently situated in the center of Tel Aviv's cultural and financial quarter, located on the famous Rothschild boulevard, in a carefully renovated 'International Style' house built in 1934, the rothschild 71 offers 25 luxurious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Rothschild 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing