We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the end, it was THE highlight”

Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 49 Food & Drink in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delicious Israel offers foodies and culture-seekers a unique and adventurous way to vacation in Israel. Our culinary and boutique specialty tours are limited to small groups so that together we can veer off the beaten path to eat, explore, learn and experience the authentic “insider” scene of Israeli lifestyle, history and culture.
Fort Lee NJ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In the end, it was THE highlight”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Last June my fiancé and I spend three weeks in Israel (her first trip). We made our own itinerary, renting a car and hiring guides for some days and did our own thing other days. One of the ideas that a friend had given us before we left for Israel was to take a "culinary tour" and so we researched and found Inbal and Delicious Israel on the web. Via email, we booked a day with her on a day that we would be in the Galil. Her suggestion was to meet in Nazareth, go through the Nazareth market then on to an organic goat farm.
I've read most of the high-praise reviews here and still I feel a need to add our experience which went beyond the markets in Tel Aviv.
We met in Nazareth and Inbal took us through the market with stops -- including tastings -- at some of the shops. Highlights in Nazareth were a stop at coffee shop where the owner made us his specialty pastry and coffee (which were excellent) the halvah factory (which was fascinating but we got there in mid-day as they were closing) the baklava and sweet pastry factory and finally a spice store which had been in the family business for 100 years. At the baklava and sweet pastry factory my fiancé ( a very enthusiastic cook) was invited to try her hand at making the pastries (see the attached pictures) which was awesome.
But then after leaving Nazareth we drove to the organic goat farm, Goat With the Wind, located in the middle of nowhere in hills north of Nazareth and East of Haifa. We were greeted and shown around the farm (fiancé loves baby goats and we got there at feeding time) then led to a covered table where we took off our shoes and sat on the floor and were brought a late afternoon meal, an abundance of wine, cheeses, breads, oils, spices, salads and flavors all of which was produce of the goat farm.
Here is what I want to share. Our three weeks in Israel was the trip of a lifetime but, in hindsight, that day with Inbal was THE highlight. Inbal took us to places we never would have gotten to. That was the day that stands out the most vividly and it added so much to the overall experience. It balanced all the seeing and touring and learning with a personal, flavorful immersion into the land. When we tell friends about our wonderful trip, the culinary tour is the one thing we tell everyone they must do when they go.
We've added pictures so Inbal will know who we are and so you all will see how much fun it was. At the end of the day, we dropped her off at the train in Haifa and never had a chance to say "thank you" but now we did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciousIsrael, Owner at Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
This posting actually made me tear up. You made my month. Thank you thank you thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    13
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An absolute must in Tel Aviv”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the absolute best way to explore Tel Aviv, its markets and amazing food scene. You'll get to taste so many delicious local food delicacies, and Inbal is the perfect host sharing her passion and expertise. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jonokalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciousIsrael, Owner at Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Jono. You and your clients are top notch and it is a pleasure every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Fabulous and Delicious time”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank to Inbal Baum of Delicious Israel for an amazing foodie trek through Tel Aviv. Humous, olives, spices, breads, gelato and more. All the delicious street foods of Tel Aviv with the history of Jaffa and Tel Aviv. Inbal is delightful, intelligent and an "in the know" foodie. We walked, we ate, we talked and we had an unforgettable day. Dont miss this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciousIsrael, Owner at Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Sharon - it was equally wonderful to spend the day with you and Steve. Looking forward to seeing you either here or in Cali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you Inbal Baum for such a wonderful tour of the market, it's spices, mediterranean delicacies and finally our traditional meal..the band and I loved every minute of it! (I still have some of the spices though it's going fast!)

We hope that we can return someday to learn more about your city and traditions. And once again, have you as our guide...you're the best!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agrad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Delicious indeed!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent an extended morning walking the streets of Jaffa and Tel Aviv with Inbal on her foodie tour of street food. We tasted "the best" of what the town has to offer.....falafel, ice cream, hummus, olives, almond milk, beer and much more. It was the perfect way to end our two weeks in Israel and only wish we could have had more time and had arrived with an emptier stomach. Definitely a highlight, ranking somewhere close to celebrating our kids' b'nai mitzvah at the Wall. A must do for foodies and everyone. We loved meeting all the locals and making a new friend in Inbal. The hummus just doesn't measure up stateside anymore!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank parentsandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Delicious Israel - Private Culinary Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing