We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner yesterday and lunch today - both superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bertie - CLOSED

Bertie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner yesterday and lunch today - both superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi,
We had dinner yesterday evening at the restaurant following the advice of local friends and - couldn't resist - lunch earlier today... The food really was succulent, maybe even more today!
starters we took: fish tartare, slices of meat on aubergines (forgot the name), a lebanese salad and grilled octopus inside a cabbage leaf
main courses: entrecote, salmon fillet (on top of beetroot and yoghurt - delicious!) and some kind of large raviolis (boiled then oven-baked?)
deserts: chocolate mousse and "malabi"
we also tried a few of their cocktails which were very special - some better than others

all in all,every dish was really tasty, almost every cocktail was ordered a second time, the staff were really friendly and funny.
so, i highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    60
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inventive, elegant, but unpretentious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Grilled cabbage stuffed with fresh baby octopus. I couldn't imagine such a dish, but it's among the signature creations of Bertie's terrific young chef. Being a spoiled California foodie, I didn't expect to have such a fine, imaginative meal in tel aviv. Delighted that several Israelis recommended this place. Also had marvelously prepared veal cheek, also a first time dish for me. Scrumptious. And, Bertie's has a good selection of wines, as well as whiskey...and a knowledgeable, friendly bartender. This place is a must for tel aviv visitors looking for a memorable Israeli culinary experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food with Good Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice staff. Good food!
Nice to see some professional bartending here! Nice selection of seafood and meats! Try the sweetbreads!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSandwichNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modi'in
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent! yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We celebrated a birthday of a friend, it was a wonderful experience!

The service was great, kind and fast, and the food was delicious!

We are there again on thursday (-:

Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmishoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At Bertie - again, this time for a FANTASTIC lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I went again to Bertie. This time wne over lunch and tried their new lunch menu. Had a "fatush salad" as starter and the salmon as main course. Enjoyed every bite! and every minute! I sat on the bar, enjoyed watching the new alcohol collection and had a nice chat with the waitress on the cocktails but ended up with a nice glass of rose, Amphora. Atmosphere was relaxed, the music was very nice and the food was excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tali821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertie also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing