We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachfront Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachfront Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location across from the beach and a very helpful staff .This is a very clean facility with nice showers, The beds in the single private rooms are too narrow for a comfortable sleep. Overall the hostel is way overpriced like the rest of Tel Aviv. There are restaurants close by and some supermarkets in behind. Small kitchen upstairs with a microwave and toaster oven.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Eloraguy,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Beachfront, our staff love meeting guests from around the world and like to help you get the most out of your stay. We try to offer clean, comfortable rooms to the guest at an affordable price, as you say Tel Aviv is an expensive destination, but we hope we provide competitive rates for our location.

Thank you for the comments on the bed size, it would be nice if we could make the beds bigger, however we feel this would take too much space out of our rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review and we hope we see you again at the Beachfront :)

Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    158
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
53
74
111
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Right on the beach, this hostel is clean and has helpful and friendly staff. A nice rooftop bar where free sangria is handed out at happy hour is a bonus as you watch the sun set. I had a private room and it was clean, had its own pavement side outside space to sit should you wish (you won't, as its nicer on the rooftop or across the road on the beach). There's a tv in the room and the bathrooms are a good size and clean. Air con is provided as well which is handy when it gets warm. The cost is reasonable too by Israeli standards, so there's not oo much to fault here. Could do with a lick of paint maybe but it does a good job and is in an amazing place right across from the lovely beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Crazy_Jim_83,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and took full advantage of our great rooftop (with the Sangria!) and location right next to the beach.

We are improving our Hotel all the time and are currently in the process of re-painting areas of the hotel, so thank you for the suggestion. Hopefully when you stay with us again you will see the improvements :)

Happy travels and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for one night as we were headed to the airport the next day. It is right on the beach, but other than that there's not much to it. Bring ear plugs since the walls are paper thin. Rooms were extremely small, like if you put your arms out you can touch the two walls. And that was a double! It was cheap and felt like it. I've been in a lot better hostels. But it has a good location and if you are on a tight budget it will do for a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelqueen28214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Charlotte,

We are glad that you enjoyed our location and hope that you had the chance to relax on our rooftop. We are sorry to hear that your nights sleep was disturbed by noise form other rooms, unfortunately we are unable to address this as it it the construction of the building. We try to offer rooms that are clean and serviceable for a good price considering our beachfront location and hope that guests spend there time on the beach or on our great sea view rooftop.

Happy travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Shared bathroom was never crowded and it was clean; great location; great AC; clean sheets and clean towel. What more could you ask for with such a location with low prices (for Tel Aviv )? Bonus = very friendly and helpful front desk (thank you Emma) and a breakfast next door for 30 shekels that can't be beat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Judith,

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it was a real pleasure having you stay and we really hope to see you again in Israel :)

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Checked in with 40 ppl from my uni on an exchange to Tel Aviv.

Stayed in a double single bed, en suite with a beachfront balcony.

Hotel is a hostel so judging it as a hostel, rooms and facilities were great.
Roof top terrace is amazing for chilling out on. They also have a small bar up there with a pool table and sofas and are working on the cooking facilities. Only a microwave and mini-oven while we were there.

Staff we all friendly and really chilled out.

Cannot speak for the booking as was a group booking but if you are looking for a cheapish and chilled hostel right on the beach then this is the one

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdHill91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Ed,

Thanks for the great review, we really enjoyed having your group staying with us and were sad to see you leave. It was really nice to see you take full use of the facilities and your group celebration on the rooftop was a fantastic atmosphere. Good luck with the studies and we hope to see you in Tel Aviv again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Beachfront Hotel is not a Hotel, it is a hostel and, as such, it offers all that you are expecting. The structure is quite old, but its position is highly valuable because it faces the street along the sea. I occupied one of the private rooms with bathroom, it was quite narrow and long, but with enough space to arrange and place all our stuff (3 persons). The bathroom was essential, but comfortable with hot water. Also, there was a nice tv set.The staff at the reception (where you can help yourself with coffee and tea all the time) was nice and efficient in helping us. On the second floor there is an open terrace from which the view of the sea (and sunset) is wonderful. Annexed is an indoor space where you can relax or prepare yourself a coffee (it has also kitchen facilities). It is a good place to stay if you do not need to spend your all your time in the ho(s)tel (but, who does?). The structure is quite decadent and it looks even more so because it is surrounded by magnificent tall building offering you all comforts and luxury, expensive facilities. I would probably try to renew some parts, especially the terrace and the annexed indoor space, but, really, it is ok to stay there. You have to know that some rooms face the street and sea, some others, like the one we occupied, just faced a wall. The private room was not so cheap also considering that breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nymonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear nymonica,

Thank you for your great, detailed review, we really appreciate you letting other guests know about all our great qualities and appreciate your recommendations for improvements. We are always trying to improve our look and facilities and are working to make the Rooftop terrace more and more welcoming. We are also a hostel which is trying to become more and more like a hostel and hope to provide a fantastic, friendly budget option on the beach.

We would love to have you stay with us again, please contact the Hotel directly so that we can make sure you get a sea view!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was notoriously surprised that the hotel charge the whole amount in day of booking, that is 2 months before actual check in. The booking told about free cancelation till day of arrival.

so it is not a big deal, but not great experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you were surprised by the pre-authorization check. On all our booking sites it does mention that the hotel will carry out a pre-authorization check to ensure that credit cards are valid. The hotels policy is to check the amount of one nights stay, which is 'blocked' on the account and automatically released after 30 days. For future guest information, this practice is widely used within Israel.

We are glad that this issue did not impact too much on your stay and hope that you enjoyed your time at the Beachfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#31 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel
The Embassy Hotel
#35 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.4 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.2 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#3 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hostel

Property: Beachfront Hostel
Address: 78 Retsif Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6343121, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel is located on the famous Tel-Aviv Promenade, Herbert Samuel, overlooking the beautiful beaches of Tel-Aviv. We are situated in the most lively and vibrant part of the city, with all the best attractions within walking distance or a short bus ride away. The Beachfront is a comfortable and friendly hotel offering affordable accommodation right on the beachfront. The two story building offers a variety of rooms accommodating any travelers budget. Our cozy rooms all have air-conditioning, 32" flat screen cable TV, refrigerators and free WI-FI internet connection. We have a huge roof lounge area that is great for sun-bathing, soaking up the sun and loosing yourself in the amazing sea view. We provide an unlimited supply of beach towels and free hot/cold drinks are complementary throughout the day. Our guests enjoy a full breakfast for just 30 ILS at the famous "Yotveta" restaurant next door and 20% discount at the popular 'La Mer' beach restaurant just across the promenade. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you find great areas in the city to explore, book tours and tell you about the best pubs, clubs, restaurants and other hot spots in Tel Aviv! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing