We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small room”
Review of Beachfront Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachfront Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not too clean, not too cozy; but it's at the beach, and rooms with shared bathroom are relatively cheap. Receptionists speak English. Lots of restaurants and cafes around.
So if you just want a place to stay for one ot two nights, it's your choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank typechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

STAY AWAY from this place!

The staff told us we could leave our bag in a room, where only the STAFF MEMBERS have access.

When we came back, 2 GOLD RINGS WERE STOLEN.
They now refuse to help in any way.

THE OWNER REFUSES TO GIVE HIS NUMBER, AND BASICLY WANTS US TO GO AWAY, not calling back etc. etc.

It has been nothing but frustrations, AND WE FEEL HELPLESS IN THIS SITUATION.

THE FRONT DESK STAFF ARE RUDE, and also refuse to help in anyway.

Since the staff claimed that only staff members have access to this room - WHO DO YOU THINK STOLE THE RINGS?

THE DAY AFTER THEY WERE STOLEN, THEY PUT UP BIG SIGNS SAYING; "leave your stuff at your own risk".

Stay away from this "hotel" - you wil save yourself for a lot of anger.

Room Tip: Simply do not book a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeschmith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at 2AM, and the girl at the reception was very polite, gave us a great room with a sea view, as I requested (though I booked last-moment). They clean rooms every day and change linen every 2 days, which is unusual for hostels. They also provide soap, shampoo, toilet paper, towels, and unlimited tea, coffee and water, which is greatly appreciated in hot weather. The beach is just agress the road, and it's wonderful to wake up every day and to have breakfast looking at the sea, and to fall asleep listening to the waves. No matter what needs we had (extra shoulders, extra chair, taxi to the airport, general directions around the city), the stuff always did their best to help us.
Unfortunately the rooms are tiny and you hear every step your neighbours make, but I have no sleeping problems and I fell asleep easily.
I would like to mention the security measures - there are cameras all over the hostel and in case it is needed the stuff can look at the records to establish the course of events (unfortunately, I had such a problem - one of the guest took my key from the reception - but the issue was quickly and delicately solved).
There is also a book exchange on the roof, and sunbeds for those who are too lazy to cross the road)
70 euros is a bit more than I would like to pay for such a room with no breakfast, but in general I really enjoyed staying there, with all the shaps, cafes, beach and Carmel market within walking distance. I would strongly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: I think the level of noise is the same on both sides, so chose a room on the forst floor with a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good hotel is located in front of sea, on other side - carparking. On the second floor showers are in the corridor on the third floor there is good viewing sightseeing terrace, where you can drink beer / wine. Near pubs have happy hours, two-for-one pint.

Room Tip: Ask about room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak57mmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location. It's in the centre of Tel Aviv, practically on the beach!The room was small and very basic (a doule bed and a single bed, a desk, a TV and a fridge) but we did not expect much more for this price. The room was cleaned evey day and the towels were changed. We had two problems with the shower - at first it was leaking and then there was no hot water. Both problems were sorted out immediately by very friendly and efficient staff. It can get a bit noisy early in the morning because of the traffic, but it wasn't a problem for us and our 3-year-old son slept like a log! We do recommend this hotel to budget travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the Beachfront for 4 nights. The location is great, right at the beach and we had a room with sea view on the ground floor which includes a terasse with chairs and a table. We were first quite satisfied - until we tried to sleep. The room was very noisy, on the one hand fron the cars outside and on the other hand all the sounds made in the hotel were audibel in the room. Every time somebody walked along the 2. floor hallway, we woke up. We never got a warm shower, hot water was only available very limitedly. The room was not cleaned for 3 days until we insisted on having it cleaned. The staff was quite friendly but did not help us in regards to how to get around in Israel or how to make further travel arrangements.
The Beachfront is not good value for the money. You will find better hotels with better rates even though they might not be directly at the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is probably awesome in the summer but for the winter season it is terrible. There is no bar or lounge room as advertised. There is no where to sit or eat other than your bed. There are 3 showers and 2 toilets for upwards of 30+ girls to share. Lockers and storage is outside which is no good in the rain. If you book with Hostelworld be prepared to pay 10% deposit twice. Not hospitable for travelers, however would recommend to a weekend beachgoer.

Room Tip: Only the private rooms come with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluepunchbuggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#38 of 101 in Tel Aviv
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#39 of 101 in Tel Aviv
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#13 of 101 in Tel Aviv
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#89 of 101 in Tel Aviv
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
De La Mer
De La Mer
#81 of 101 in Tel Aviv
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Center Chic Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hostel

Address: 78 Retsif Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6343121, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $24 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hostel is located on the famous Tel-Aviv Promenade, Herbert Samuel, overlooking the beautiful beaches of Tel-Aviv. We are situated in the most lively and vibrant part of the city, with all the best attractions within walking distance or a short bus ride away. The Beachfront is a comfortable and friendly hostel offering affordable accommodation right on the beachfront. The two story building offers a variety of rooms accommodating any travelers budget. Our cozy rooms all have air-conditioning, 32" flat screen cable TV, refrigerators and free WI-FI internet connection. We have a huge roof lounge area that is great for sun-bathing, soaking up the sun and loosing yourself in the amazing sea view. We provide an unlimited supply of beach towels and free hot/cold drinks are complementary throughout the day. Our guests enjoy a full breakfast for just 30 ILS at the famous restaurants next door. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you find great areas in the city to explore, book tours and tell you about the best pubs, clubs, restaurants and other hot spots in Tel Aviv! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beachfront Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing