We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just if no other Hostel available.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just if no other Hostel available.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is well located, not far away from the beaches (15mn) and nightlife.
However, it's grossly overpriced.
The owner and his son are not very welcoming, and are more interested by the fare than by offering a good customer experience.
Rooms are clean, but are accommodating up to 14 people.
Therefore it is nearly impossible to sleep.
The shower is right in the bedroom, meaning you have no intimacy for showering.
Consequently, I don't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 14 (accomodating 14 ppl !!!) and room 10 (10 ppl)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    123
    20
    19
    24
See reviews for
7
45
229
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Chef is a great hostel with good atmosphere and nice people. You can sit outside till late with music on and have a chat with the other travelers (untill the neighbours call the police :p). They have their own big kitchen in which you can prepare your meals. You can buy beers and other drinks for a good price. The location is also great, next to a supermarket and next to the best bars in town. I recommend this hostel to everybody who is going to tel aviv!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daviddewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've stayed in Chef Hostel for one night. I didn't make a reservation, but I already have known the price. Nevertheless he asked me higher price than internet. about 100 shekel. I made argument and then he gave the room as normal price.

Next... in the morning. He knocked the door strongly. I had to wake up early. I asked why? he asked 100 shekel again to me because I locked the door... There is a small bathroom next to my room and one door more in front of my room and bathroom. Before I slept, I locked the door for security... But he said. Because of me... Nobody could use the share bathroom. However I know there is other big bathroom also and I checked always this bathroom was empty and Nobody didn't use a bathroom near by my room. And I just locked the door from 1 oclock~ 7oclock at night. I knew that was my a little mistake, but I didn't make any problem.

But!! He wanted to get money from me.... I refused... I needed to put my luggage before I took the bus. But they refused.. they again asked money to me... They really hate Asian or They really love money?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonghyuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roycohen, Owner at Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thid guys are a joke try to take every thing for free and get away. i invested tousends to build an extra bathroom for the privae quartes to have tgere two baths and two showers for 4 private rooms. these guys saw a last minute offer at the evening and arrived showing me the special price managment posted for that night. they got that price. and although knowing they have a shered bathroom and not private. the locked the bath for themselfs . in the morning i woke them letting them know tbat is extra. they came down unwilling to pay. i let them go with it cause no harm donr since i woke the up before other tenents. then they asked leaving the lauggae for yhe day. i refused like they refused and like they had nerve eanogh to asset the bath for them . i did not feel generous towards people who can damage my business knowingly.

In this talk its them who said " expkain me is it your people who like money " ? In this poibt i slammed the door in thier face
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hostel is situated a 100m walk from Allenby street, and several minutes away from the market and beach. The bedrooms are fairly spacious, but are without lockers to lock your stuff in for safe keeping. The lounge area is big, with two computers and internet, cable tv, and a fridge with beers and drinks (at a cost). There is a nice patio / lounge area outside, with couches, a mini bar, small splash pool...personally I feel that the hostel is over priced after chatting to several people who were in Tel Aviv round the same time - there are hostels situated on the beach front costing 33% less, with a bar area downstairs, and a better 'hostel vibe'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrkleinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for about a week and had a blast! The showers and toilets are immaculately clean; the mattresses are thick and comfortable; the manager, Roy, is always happy to help; and there are several social areas which makes meeting new people really easy. The hostel also happens to be a few minutes walk from the Central Bus Station, the beach, a 10 shekel falafel place, a rumoured 6 shekel falafel place and some amazing clubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fp199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just renovated. Lots of character. The manager was a character but he let us leave our stuff, hang around and use the internet for the whole day after we'd checked out waiting for our flight. Definitely recommended. It's a labour of love hostel. The manager's dad is also an incredibly sweet, earnest and sincere guy with lots of advice about the city.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Donovan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I travelled for two weeks around Israel and have never stayed in such a nice hostel. The hostel is in a very good location - its close to Tel Aviv's markets and a 7 minute short walk to the beach. The owners are friendly and very helpful. There is a large common room and it has a big garden to sun bath and relax. Everything is less than a year old - its a brand new hostel in Tel Aviv. Also there is a blackboard with events and tours (mostly free) on it. It has recently prepared the upper floor and now features more rooms and more showers. I stayed in a dorm and in a double room and can definitively recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hombre-Lillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#1 of 92 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 92 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#8 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore

Property: Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore
Address: 19 Montefiore, Tel Aviv 6516406, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Hotel Class:2 star — Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We found the nicest roomy house in the true city center(financial cultural historical dining, drinking and night life center) renovated it to be a lovely place with great common area, sparkling showers,fast free wifi, beautiful huge patio. We bought the best beds and mattresses, put AC in all rooms, built open kitchen for me,the chef,to cook you simple high quality meals or snacks with products from the Carmel market which is 200 meter away.my kitchen is open for you to teach me and the rest of the guests your tasty creations.grab a cheep beer, chill in the garden with high quality people. feel comfortable We clean 24/7. We speak 7 languages, and will help you plan your city stay and your Israel trip.We also the operator of the TLV hostels tours(revolutionary cost price day tours to dead sea or the northern coastline) chef roy is the founder the slow bed movement that promote good clean and fairness from all sides. Our guests are young European professionals our place is chick but still cheep offers unbeatable location where you will never need a taxi cause all the cool local bars and clubs are 1 min away. beach is 10 min walk and you are dead in the city center . we have a strict set of rules and conditions since it's first of all our home.and we want to keep it nice and tidy. so you feel happy coming back home.Papa Felix, mama Esther,our intimate team of residents and,chef will welcome with to our fun family Mediterranean warmth and unbeatable knowledge. This is a family business, not a plastic faceless cooperation.we like the personal touch and we enjoy our work therefore we hope you are coming to be sociable and have a good time !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing