We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

if this hostel was anywhere else in the world i would accuse it of not being good value for money. the rooms are particularly small, the bathrooms/showers are an interesting experience and the staff are SOMETIMES very hard to come by. the managers are friendly enough but do charge extra on arrival for sheets etc which i found strange. i did enjoy the company of all the other people in the hostel and as such extended my booking and returned for a night after a further trip to jordan but all things considered if i was to start my trip again i would look into different accommodations.

with that said, the location is great, only a short walk to the beach and in the centre of the happening part of town, the internet is free, including wireless and markets are nearby, also a supermarket across the road. they are doing some refurbishment work so maybe in the future it will improve

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 510 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hostel has a good location and is pretty clean, but be prepared to pay more than you book it for. They nickel and dime you for everything!! You book the place then they charge you for your sheets (13 ILS), towel (7 ILS), coffee or tea (2ILS). If you want to charge the room you get hit with 4%. The "free" breakfast is only if you pay the "full inflated rate". I If you want to leave your bags that will be 10 ILS and late check in which is not late at all on Fridays will cost you 35 ISL. Its obvious that the owners is more concerned about his bottom line than providing value to his customers. The bathrooms in the dorm are extremely small also.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Same experience as reviewer JohannesR: The manager took out his domestic problems in front of all the guests with lots of drama. And yes, he does sleep either in one of the rooms or in the lobby. However, the place was clean and the location is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hereandsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is my second stay at the Chef Hostel. It has become my home away from home. The owner Roy, his Mom Ester and Dad Felix are always ready to help you with advice about your stay and traveling in Israel. They really make you feel at home. The decor is "Modern IKEA"; not luxurious, but clean. There is a small kitchen to fix meals. The Chef Hostel is a work in progress, constantly improving. With enough people Roy will cook up a great breakfast or Friday night BBQ. Here you will enjoy a pleasant and peaceful stay while meeting quality travelers from all around the world. I have met fellow educators, students, professionals, researchers, volunteers, pilgrims; young and old. If you are interested in the history of Israel and Tel Aviv, Felix will charm you with stories. If you want to find the best spices and cheeses, Roy will steer you to the best markets. If you want to hang out with Israelis in the heart of Tel Aviv, this is the place to stay. It is off the beaten tourist track. If you want to hang out with genuine people with no pretense, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need more privacy and a place to lock up your bags, select a single or double room. The Host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrtle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have been traveling in Israel for over three months now, and everytime I go to Tel Aviv I stay at Chef Hostel. It's simply the best, in terms of location, price, cleanliness, and atmosphere. Wifi works everywhere, the kitchen is amazing, the clientele are respectful, and roy (the owner) and his parents really make you feel at home. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soleiltravelor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My stay has been full of good surprises. The owners have a deep sense of hospitality and they share their knowledge about the city as well as the delighting food of the neighborhood. It feels like home and the garden is the most enjoyable thing for breakfast.
They speak several languages, which makes the contact even easier.
This is probably one of the most welcoming start to discover all the good things that Tel Aviv has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

i don't know why this place keeps getting high reviews - there's something up with that. When I was there at the end of Sept I discovered there were bedbugs! I was there for 4 nights and though I had bites from the first night I thought they were just mosquito bites but by the 3rd night I realized they were bedbugs. My first experience after staying at over 40 hostels in the last several years. Plus one afternoon I had to experience the owner and his girlfriend having an argument in the common room, ending with her leaving in tears. The location is great but the owner is really not a very nice guy. The outside is not well marked. The kitchen is small for anyone to cook in though they argue they serve 10+ breakfast that's because it's only the owner cooking. You would NEVER get 10 people in that tiny kitchen cooking at once. There are only 2 showers and 2 toilets for the common rooms to share and they are very small. Anyway, if you decide to go, good luck! Tel Aviv is a great town!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank skyman_marko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Overstay TLV Hostel
Overstay TLV Hostel
#16 of 97 in Tel Aviv
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 97 in Tel Aviv
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#8 of 97 in Tel Aviv
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#1 of 97 in Tel Aviv
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#4 of 97 in Tel Aviv
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#7 of 97 in Tel Aviv
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore

Address: 19 Montefiore, Tel Aviv 6516406, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Hotel Class:2 star — Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We found the nicest roomy house in the true city center(financial cultural historical dining, drinking and night life center) renovated it to be a lovely place with great common area, sparkling showers,fast free wifi, beautiful huge patio. We bought the best beds and mattresses, put AC in all rooms, built open kitchen for me,the chef,to cook you simple high quality meals or snacks with products from the Carmel market which is 200 meter away.my kitchen is open for you to teach me and the rest of the guests your tasty creations.grab a cheep beer, chill in the garden with high quality people. feel comfortable We clean 24/7. We speak 7 languages, and will help you plan your city stay and your Israel trip.We also the operator of the TLV hostels tours(revolutionary cost price day tours to dead sea or the northern coastline) chef roy is the founder the slow bed movement that promote good clean and fairness from all sides. Our guests are young European professionals our place is chick but still cheep offers unbeatable location where you will never need a taxi cause all the cool local bars and clubs are 1 min away. beach is 10 min walk and you are dead in the city center . we have a strict set of rules and conditions since it's first of all our home.and we want to keep it nice and tidy. so you feel happy coming back home.Papa Felix, mama Esther,our intimate team of residents and,chef will welcome with to our fun family Mediterranean warmth and unbeatable knowledge. This is a family business, not a plastic faceless cooperation.we like the personal touch and we enjoy our work therefore we hope you are coming to be sociable and have a good time !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing