We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding tour and guide”

Rent a Guide Israel Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv
Ranked #6 of 182 Tours in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour and guide”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I highly recommend the Dead Sea and Masada tour and the tour guide Sylvia. The drive from Tel Aviv to the Dead Sea and Masada and back was incredibly informative, safe & comfortable thanks to the drivers and excellent tour guide. Sylvia was very knowledgeable of the history of the area and had a knack for giving just the right amount of information at the right time. She was both interesting and entertaining and had the driver slow or stop at key locations along our route so that we could take pictures. The tour of Masada was amazing, learning of the historical events and walking through the archeological sites was an opportunity that I will never forget. Stopping at the Dead Sea & having the opportunity to "float" in these historical waters and enjoying the spa made for a truly remarkable day. From Kirk

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    159
    44
    25
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Silvia is awesome!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

While I had less than terrific experiences with Rent a Guide on other trips within Israel, my tour with Silvia to Masada and the Dead Sea was AMAZING.
She was a wealth of information, responsive to questions, took the time to get to know each of the 17 people on the tour personally and generally made us feel warmly welcome.
Best of all, she made each commentary sound new and fresh, as if she were telling the story for the very first time (instead of the 100th that week!).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tezajovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalllas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Avoid Rent-A-Guide”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rent-A-Guide was the low point of our trip to Israel and Jordan. To of us did the "Business Class" tour of Masada and Dead Sea. We departed from Jerusalem and finished in Tel Aviv.

Just about every aspect of the trip was disappointing. Our tour was in English. But the tour guide could barely speak understandable English and knew little about the sites we visited. The only way to learn about Masada was to listen to other tour guides in the area. In reality, the guide was not trying to do any more than the bare minimum required to collect his paycheck. The van was supposed to be VIP. It was an old, cramped vehicle with 18 people stuffed in. Picking everyone up at the hotels took more than an hour circling around the city. Finally, we were pushed to buy products at makeup stores, gift shops, etc. It was an incredible waste of time.

There are some great tour companies in Israel. Just make sure not to use this one.

At the end of the trip the guide came up to us and demanded a tip. He did not get one, this was an aweful e

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank hbsseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rent-a-Guide, Public Relations Manager at Rent a Guide Israel Tours, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear traveler
As part of our effor to provide the best quality service we promise, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our tour.
We checked your complaint about the specific tour guide's level of english and knowlage. this specific guide has been working with us for years and we never had a complaint about his low level of english or knowlage.
Our guide takes part in our national program tours therefore his level of english is more than fine.
Again, were' sorry to hear that you didn't enjoyed the tour because this is the most important issue for us.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I booked a Jewish Heritage Tour through a broker who used rent a guide Israel. Wow is not enough to describe our tour guide Meni and our driver Adman. Meni was passionate, knowledgeable, easy going and most of all uniquely qualified. He gave 110% at all times and made each day special. I have only the highest regard for Meni. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pocono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dangerous driving - don't risk it”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked two tours with rent-a-guide. The first one was to Nazareth and galilee. On this tour the guide was also the driver. This tour was interesting and the guide informative if a little overly patriotic.

The second tour went to cesera and acre. The locations were interesting, but the guide seemingly knew very little about any site and the visits were rushed. However, the main problem was the dangerous driving. Our driver was very aggressive, tailgating cars in front, swinging between lanes to overtake, driving far too fast, answering his phone repeatedly and even running a red light. It was the worst driving I have ever experienced on tour. The driver is going to have a serious accident very soon. I would never get in a van with the driver ever again.

Helpful?
9 Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rent a Guide Israel Tours also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Rent a Guide Israel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing