We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to meet a lot of backpackers”
Review of Florentine Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florentine Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you don't expect much luxury, this is the best place to stay in Tel Aviv. Because of the nice terrace, the shared dinners, cheap beers, the shisha and the trips to pubs you'll meet a lot of backpackers from all over the world. This hostel is often either the first or last stop of people's journey and so the best place to tell/hear where to go and what to do. The hostel is on walking distance of the beach. It's only hard to find the first time, since the sign is not very eye catching.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 444 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Okay so Florentine is rad for the following reasons:
1. The workers: Incredibly helpful, approachable, all with a zest for life and super positive energy. They treat each other like family which contributes to a warm, inviting and safe atmosphere.
2. The other travellers. My favorite thing about hostel travelling is meeting fellow adventurous souls and Florentine was full of people from every walk of life, all with unique stories to tell. Although this is likely true for any hostel, the environment of Florentine made it especially easy to connect and share.
3. Accessibility: Although you may walk by the door a few times before actually finding the hostel, once you're there it's totally home-base with easy access (on foot or by bike) to Tel-Aviv's attractions, as well as the Central Bus station (15 min walk) and Train station (20 min walk). There's a very decent grocery store not even 5 mins away which is open late and has an atm. A great shopping district with several restaurants and bars is just 10 mins away on foot or if you're looking for something quick, delicious and cheap there are options practically next door.
4. The neighborhood: I haven't looked into it but I was told on arrival that Florentine is the only area where Graffiti is legal - probably owing to the young demographic. Lots of fantastic street art awaits you just seconds from the door. I felt safe here, even walking alone at night. I never witnessed or heard anything to make me feel on edge.
So those are some great aspects of Florentine. I'll also say I'm a bit of a clean freak and this place was definitely up to par - way beyond what I've seen some places consider satisfactory). The wifi and computer access was great. Also, the layout of the hostel was fab, whatever your mood there was a zone for it. The kitchen set up was great, although I can see it getting pretty crowded in high season!
The only negative I can think of is the noise in the morning. It's an industrial area with a garage next door that starts up about 8am.
Florentine is a fun, lively place and you're guaranteed an awesome time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

In 2013 I travelled extensively through the Middle East and Europe. Of all my accommodation, this hostel was the best. The managers and volunteers at Florentine were pivotal in making my stay in Tel Aviv unforgettable - showing me, my friends and the other guests the best night spots, cafes, restaurants.. Really any place or destination we sought knowledge for, they were able to help, and oftentimes join. As such, the staff of Florentine become more friends than employees, making guests feel right at home during their stay.

While the rooms are clean and the beds comfy, travelers will often choose to spend most of their time on Florentine's rooftop terrace. By daytime, guests lie in the many hammocks or comfy day beds, reading books or perhaps enjoying a game of chess. Come dusk, the terrace transforms into a vibrant social affair where volunteers, managers and guests alike share cheap beverages from the hostel's bar fridge, smoke a communal shisha and partake in friendly banter. When night falls, the cohort will almost always head to one of Tel Aviv's many amazing bars and/or clubs, receiving discounted or free entry/drinks, courtesy of the manager or owner's connections.

When my friends and I arrived at Florentine we booked for two nights, after which we knew we couldn't leave. Although all the beds were taken, we were able to pay a discounted price (I recall about AUD$20 per night) to sleep on the terrace. Contrary to our original thoughts this turned out to be a wonderful sleeping option. Awaking in the morning to the poetic lines of Bob Dylan, or a mellow reggae tune playing softly over the terrace speakers was blissful!

While it may be a little out of the main drag, there's categorically no doubt in my mind that Florentine Hostel will offer you the best experience available in Tel Aviv for open-minded travelers. The area itself has some excellent and cheap food options and many trendy bars. As another reviewer of Florentine says... Don't bother reading reviews of other hostels in Tel Aviv.. Just stay here!

Room Tip: As mentioned, if all the beds are taken don't be afraid to ask to sleep on the terrace. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked a double private room. Rooms are located next to the street so it gets a bit noisy at night. They have a lot of staff and the location is great. We enjoyed the rooftop terass a lot. Breakfast is very simple, we did not use it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife & I visited this place for a couple of nights - the staff & vibe here are out of this world! On arrival we had people helping us with our bags & a staff member going through a recommended walking trip itinerary for the next day. We had some work to do & the hostel was a great mix of party vibe/peace & quiet if you needed to sleep or get work done. Located right next to the amazing Florentine Street & close to the downtown, this place is a gem. Free shisha & shots plus going out every night helps too! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for 3days, it was a best time ever. The staff in the hostel were really friendly and helpful, made my stay special. Each night they took out the travellers to different pubs. The common area is cozy, u can meet people easily :). The hostel is located in the center of Tel Aviv (10mins walking to Jaffa). Would recommend to everyone, u will have no regrets at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erus128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The terrace is great place to chill, and it is good that they have city tour tips every night or so.
But that's about it...
People who work there are "american style" of kind. In Israel you want to feel local style of kindness. It is hostel for party travelers, all other tourist are meant to feel like they don't belong there.
I didn't get some sleep any of 4 nights that i was there, actually i couldn't find a place for sleep 3 of 4 nights because the "tent bed" on terrace is a actually question of luck - shall i find i sofa to curl up when i get back to sleep?!
Good thing is that they gave me discount one night because i guess that saw mine bags under the eyes...but i prefer to get some sleep.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank enina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.8 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#1 of 98 in Tel Aviv
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#9 of 98 in Tel Aviv
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#4 of 98 in Tel Aviv
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#3 of 98 in Tel Aviv
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#13 of 98 in Tel Aviv
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Hostel

Address: 10 Elifelet street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $17 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Florentine Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Florentine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing