We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and cleanliness”
Review of Florentine Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florentine Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Miratejo
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Location and cleanliness”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a really good hostel with a great location and very clean.

The dorms are a but stuffed and no place for the bags and You need to be really fit to climb the bunks since they are cramped together.

Apart from that it was a weeks equipment kitchen and a lovely terrace.

Katy from Staff was lovely and unfortunately she is not the person that are All day in the hostel....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    91
    44
    14
    14
See reviews for
5
58
195
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

if you are looking for a warm and inviting hostel, Florentine is the place for you. i stayed there eight days. Almost daily the staff offered us affordable and delicious dinner which was especially helpful on shabbat when lots of restaurants were closed. The rooms had a/c. They were clean.The staff there were incredibly kind. Ron helped me get a package that took numerous phone calls. The staff there made you feel like a person, not just a random guest. They knew my name. It was the only hostel i had ever been to that had free phone calls to america which was so helpful. I have been to over fifteen hostels in my 3 months of travel and none of them were able to offer that service for free.
When the staff gave directions for restaurants they were specific. If you've ever stayed at hostels sometimes they'll just say "walk down the street and you'll find something." Hello im a tourist. thats not helpful. We had groups that went to abu hassan, one of the best chummus spots i have tasted. there are numerous awesome falafel spots near the hostel. The hostel is about a fifteen minute walk from the beach and about the same to get to jaffa. That was great too.
The night life at this hostel was also great. Talk about social. if you're looking to meet people from all over the world. This hostel creates a social atmosphere. People go out to party often.

Limit:

It feels like EVERYONE smokes and if you're nota smoker, well you and all of your clothes and your hair will smell like you are one. If you want to socialize with the group, you've got to just tolerate the carcinogens.

The hostel is abit small, but thats the norm for low priced places in tlv.

Room Tip: If you sleep on the terrace, get a mosquito net... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We got a private room, which was good, although the bathroom was inconveniently tiny (the door getting in the way of using the shower). The roof-top is excellent; a calm, friendly terrace, with people chatting and dozing on a mixture of sofas and hammocks.

The staff were very friendly and helpful on our arrival. Most of the other guests when we were there seemed to be young undergraduates or people on gap years, who were mainly nice but a bit much on occasion if you are outside of that age-bracket. The internet access was good, and the hostel is in quite a convenient place, if not a very appealing neighbourhood.

The downsides, aside from the bathroom, were the breakfast and the noise. The included breakfast really was just a supermarket bag of bread, some Nutella, and some sliced cucumber bits. I'm not sure it really cuts it as an included breakfast- there were quite a lot of people to share one sliced loaf (still in plastic bag). Secondly, the room we were in faced onto the street, and we were woken from 6.30am onwards by a consistent, very loud clunking noise. I'd assumed it was vehicles going over a speed-bump, but walking past, it turned out to be a workshop next door using a metal press. I'd be amazed if anyone could sleep through that, and I expect it is usually operational (it was a complete workshop in there), so I would be careful to find out when booking a room, as counteracts paying for a private room in order to get more sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Florentine is the perfect place for people who travel alone or in small groups. This hostel is a very social place, if you are interested in Meeting new people from all around the world you should book it. Ist all about talking, drinking and hanging out on the amazing rooftop.

The volunteers and Natalie are very helpful and can give you good hints where to go for sightseeing, restaurants and so on...

Florentine is a great area. Still a bit run down but definately the right place if you like it a little bit alternative, a little bit like parts of Berlin. You will find bars, restaurants, falafel-places nearby.

The only negative point: Not enough showers and toilets.

Keep this atmosphere! (i am back this September)

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannoi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooftop was always buzzing, the volunteers were a bit like the furniture - always there, and consequently became the social glue, if that's a phrase? Every night they gathered guests and we frequently went to some pretty fantastic bars or nightclubs, way above your average pub-crawl affair. It's a shame I discovered the renovated downstairs area only in the last couple days I was there - the dorms downstairs are cleaner, modern, admittedly I was jealous. Downside - it's really a half hour walk to any of the busier beaches, not 10 minutes... and no-one can convince me that the 3 or 4 streets in Florentine with good bars and restaurants make up for the rest of the area, which is really rundown. Nevertheless, I really liked this hostel. It wasn't Tel Aviv itself that made my trip enjoyable, it was the people I met at this hostel. Highly recommend. Actually, don't even bother reading reviews for other Tel Aviv hostels - book this one, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

my dear friends, i never wrote a review for anything, but i´ll do it for you, guys. and this is going to be an amazing review! first of all: i love you.
i had an amazing, wonderful, crazy, chilled, lovely, interesting and funny time and i wouldnt like to miss it.
i had four days and actually i planned to just stay one night in this hostel and then carry on to jerusalem and beer sheva. what happened... i fell in love with this place and gave up all my plans. so if you wanna keep your tight scedule better dont got there :D or go there and give a [--] on your scedule, you´ll have a beautiful time there. i didnt regret at all that i stayed- (i dont regret anything!:D) i met amazing people, had a lot of fun, was hanging around like a lazy [--] on the very comfortable rooftop terrace (a lot) and there were always nice people to talk or to play cards with (i basically lost, but thats also a part of life). I really felt at home and didnt want to leave anymore. the staff is great. You are lovely, warmhearted, helpful and funny people and you do your best and you do a great job! also the volunteers are very helpful and fun and do their best that you leave the hostel satisfied. cool people, i had a great time with them!
If you go to the florentine hostel then put some humor in your cool backpack and dont take everything too serious and you will have a great time that you will remember for long. to just say something about the cleaning thing: they really clean a lot and i was really comfortable with everything and didnt find dirt around me (maybe because my own home isnt cleaner :D). in my opinion its clean enough for being a hostel and not a five star hotel. there are enough bathrooms, i never had problems to find a free bathroom when i needed one. dorms are fine, not too big but you either way should be there just for sleeping and spend the rest of the time with the great people around on the terrace or wherever. still miss the atmosphere and the people. so lets end this unstructured review (i am still tired from my stay over there)- go there with an open heart and mind and you will love it! i will definetely be back soon. thumbs up guys!
lots of love

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Janka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I'll start with the good:

- The staff at this hostel were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the city. They had great tips about where to go if you had limited time, where to eat, etc. Very attentive as well.

- Wifi connection throughout the entire hostel was excellent.

- Lots of other travellers here were looking to socialize and meet with other travellers, so there was an overall friendly and open atmosphere

The annoyances:

- The dorms were quite small so there wasn't much room to actually open your backpack/suitcase and rifle through it without blocking access to the entire room.

- The only light in the dorm is the main overhead light

- The bunk beds were really light and the ladder to get to the upper bunk started very high up (ie the last step from the ladder to the floor was really large). If I stood on the ladder without someone lying on the bottom bunk (which was necessary to do things like put the sheets on my bed), the entire bed would start to tip over, so that's rather unsafe.

- No locks on the dorm doors, and no lockers (large or small) to store valuables

- Very few bathrooms. All or most of the bathrooms have a shower in them, which is nice for privacy, but it also means that during the busy shower times (ie 8am - 11am, and from dinner - 10pm) there is constantly a lineup for the bathroom as people might be in there for 2-20 minutes. The showers drain into a drain on the floor and there is a squeegee for people to direct the excess water into the drain after showering. However, a large percentage of people seem to skip this step, so although the staff mops up the bathrooms 3-4 times per day, quite often when you want to go to the bathroom, the floor is completely covered in puddles.

- The sinks in the bathrooms are teeny tiny. Very hard to wash your face or brush your teeth without getting your feet wet.

- They clean the entire hostel once a month. To do this, they lock out everyone from noon til 8pm - this is understandable and I'm all for proactive action against bedbugs and other common hostel buggers, but the annoying thing was that we needed to repack all our belongings and store it on the roof. Also, when it happened during my stay, we were given less than 24 hours notice that we would be locked out the next day - notice signs went up around 8 or 9pm the night before the lockout. Not cool. Also, the least they could have done was re-made everyone's bed after cleaning.

- They let people sleep/crash on the rooftop terrace and in the common rooms. This is very friendly of them, but what it means for other guests is that if you wake up early and the rest of your room is still sleeping and you don't want to disturb the, you have nowhere else to go except maybe the bathroom because there are also people sleeping in all the common areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsvplcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.8 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#1 of 93 in Tel Aviv
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#8 of 93 in Tel Aviv
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#2 of 93 in Tel Aviv
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 93 in Tel Aviv
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#5 of 93 in Tel Aviv
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#3 of 93 in Tel Aviv
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Hostel

Property: Florentine Hostel
Address: 10 Elifelet street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Florentine Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Florentine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing