We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a place - an experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Florentine Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Florentine Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than just a place - an experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent 4 nights total at the Florentine Hostel, and very much enjoyed my stay. Managing to lose my passport my second day in Israel, the staff were very understanding and helpful (e.g. pointing me to the nearest police station, letting me leave my bags in the room when they really should've been on the luggage rack, and a free room upgrade!), and the eclectic, international mix of fantastic people I met on the communal terrace were a welcome distraction. To reiterate what other reviews have said, it's a very "homey" feeling place - relaxing, but with something always going on. Miss it already!

Best wishes to the Florentine staff, volunteers, and my fellow travellers.
Natalie

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    89
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
4
55
176
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We phoned around a few hostels upon arrival and decided on Florentine, phoned them back, booked a room and told them we would arrive in 30 mins. When arrived the girl told us they had sold our room to someone else because we hadnt confirmed our booking with a credit card payment - she didnt tell us we needed to do this when we phoned - TWICE. She did help us to find a room in another hostel, but its not really what you want at 10pm at night after a long day travelling. Glad we didnt stay there in the end as its located in a really run down, dodgy looking part of town. If you do have to stay here make sure your booking is paid for, but really you would be much better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a really wonderful place. We were only there for a night but wished we could have stayed longer. The street it’s located on is a bit run down but the area around it a really nice. A short walk to the water, Old Jaffa and some bars and clubs. The staff was great. They gave us maps told us everything we needed to know about the area, and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted. The rooftop was amazing! Such a nice atmosphere. We were there for Shabbat and they cooked a Shabbat dinner for everyone and others brought stuff. It was very nice and welcoming place to be and it made our travels so much more enjoyable to be is such a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeLafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has good and cheap double & private rooms, and a comfy, relaxing balcony. The atmosphere is really sababa, but Ron and Natalie, the guys @ the reception, are warm and friendly and just the ideal hosts.
The only thing is the neighbourhood - i wouldn't recommend it to women travelling on their own; and the mood of the area, generally speaking, is rather shallow.
So i advise this place warmly if:
- you're very laid back and open-minded
- you're looking for easy, international company
- you are on a budget
And i do not if
- you are women travel alone.
- you don't mind to look for new people
- you are very fussy and love to get all the comforts (why do you travel to a hostel, then)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireene84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was here for 2-3 weeks, about a year ago. I had an excellent time, made many friends and it really, really, felt like a home away from home for me.

I would highly recommend this place for people looking to camp down in Tel Aviv for a week or two, and slowly get to know the place while making some friends at the same time. For shorter stays, might not be the best place though as the charm of this hostel is its warmth, friendliness and security, and none of these are automatic or even really possible in any hostel in just a 2 night stay.

Very cool style, generally speaking, great collections of people (medium and longer term guests) amazing facilities. A little spartan, but more industrial chic than urban camping [if that makes any sense!]

Room Tip: Get to know the owner, Raffi. He's an awesome guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ-520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Upon checkin they point you to a large map of Tel Aviv on the wall and let you know where some of the best places to visit are and how to get there. In the evenings they party with the guests as well as take them out on to the best nightlife locations. The atmosphere was excellent and the rooftop terrace was the perfect place to hang out and meet other travellers. On my first night there I made a whole new group of friends that I was lucky enough to experience the city with every night. I already look forward to going back and spending more time in Tel Aviv and at Florentine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The kind of place where you love to be if you visit a unknown city. Nice people working there and also nice people who visit this hostel. There is a nice rooftop area where everybody likes to meet fellow travellers.
We arrived at 4am, but everything was arranged perfectly well.

I would return to Florentine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmerroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Margosa Hotel
Margosa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#1 of 92 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 92 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#3 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Hostel

Property: Florentine Hostel
Address: 10 Elifelet street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Florentine Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Florentine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing