We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice backpacker vibe!”
Review of Florentine Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Florentine Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice backpacker vibe!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed and chilled out! On the roof terrace you can meet fellow travelers or just read your book, play guitar or sleep.
On arrival you might think it is a dodgy neighborhood, but once your in it is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    90
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
4
56
190
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I will be honest, I was a tad sketched out upon my arrival to Florentine Hostel. I arrived late in the evening and everything in the surrounding neighborhood was closed. However, upon being buzzed in and climbing up the stairs, I was greeted half way by Natalie. Natalie was prompt and efficient at checking us in (and we were SO exhausted that we really appreciated her help). All of my worries about the neighborhood were soon laid to rest as I got to know the staff, other guests, and realized that this neighborhood had spunk and an artsy feel.

On my second day at Florentine, Rafi (the owner) and the other staff put together a modest, but nice Shabbat dinner. All of the guests shared food, wine (and other drinks!), laughs and company. I was fortunate enough to meet Rafi and one of his staff, Assaf, who invited me out. I had a fabulous time joining the "locals" at one of the strangest, yet coolest clubs I have ever been to. It used to be called Penguin (and I guess everyone still knows it by that name, but it does actually have a different name). Having the opportunity to befriend the other wonderful hostel guest, the hostel volunteers, and the staff (special shout out to Assaf for keeping me entertained and making great activity recommendations!), made my stay in Tel Aviv wonderful.

On to the real details:
The beds and amenities downstairs are definitely worth their (inexpensive) price. The linens, bathrooms and rooms were all clean, and the AC was a huge help. The access to the computers (both upstairs and downstairs) were a huge help when I was having trouble connecting to the wifi.

The sell water and large beers at very reasonable prices. So really, what more could you ask for?

The terrace is cozy and available to sleep on if, like me, you didn't book a room until the last minute because you decided to extend your stay and all other rooms were booked. There is a hostel volunteer around at all times to make sure everyone and their belongings are safe. I really, REALLY appreciated this.

Tip: stay downstairs if you can.

Hope to visit you all again soon!

-Ashley

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammersmith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The quality of the room itself was completely unexpected from the fairly shabby exterior and hallway when we arrived, as it was beautifully decorated to a high standard and looked very new. We had a private double room with bathroom which was more like hotel quality but the dorms were of a similar spec and shared areas were very clean and well kept. The hostel has a brilliant roof terrace full of sofas, hammocks and cushions as well as free wifi, a kitchen and separate air conditioned living room on the first floor. Rafi and Assaf were hugely welcoming and knew everyone's names.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Place has a great atmosphere, rooftop terrace is fantastic. for a solo traveller it's really easy to meet other people and always cool people staying, room was a bit hot during the night but after spending time in other hostels around tel aviv I can say this hostel is the best. I felt some of the volunteers were quite snobby and disinterested

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived at the hostel and I was a little anxious given that the area seemed a little run down. Once inside the hostel we were greeted by a staff member who was very welcoming and friendly. The rooftop terrace is amazing and almost makes the whole stay worth it. There are kitchen facilities and a computer which you can use for free. The wifi also works perfectly upstairs in the terrace and kitchen area. There are only two shower rooms for a lot of guests to share which meant that they were in quite a state when I got there. In fact, the clothes I had taken off to shower in there caught the smell and made my whole suitcase smell like it! This, I can only assume was a once of bad smell exception!

I had read about some issues travelers had with the dorm rooms so given that it was just one night we opted to stay in a private room. This was very clean and comfortable comfortable with air conditioning.

The hostel is very small with quite the number of guests which makes it perfect for particular types of travelers but trying for others.

My big qualm with this hostel is that it is definitely overpriced. During my 2 week stay in the country we paid less for far better hostels.

Room Tip: My experience is based on private room not dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you look at the fridge or one of the doors, you will see Indian rupee notes stapled there. I am responsible for that.

I spent almost seven days at the Florentine hostel and met a crazy, fun, interesting and really nice bunch of people that seemed like travel companions that I had known for ages.

The guy who runs the hostel, Rafi, is super fun and no-nonsense. What this means for you as a visitor is that you will be entertained, but that you will also not be bothered by other guests cause Rafi lays strict ground rules about noise, partying and the like.

When I visit Tel Aviv again, I will be sure to stay in this hostel and in no other place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Excellent hostel... While I've stayed in better in terms of new facilities etc this one has the best social atmosphere I've ever experienced....within seconds you will be friends with everyone. The staff are pretty wonderful too and you can be assured it is well cleaned....the owner is even more OCD than I am and fumagates the place monthly for bed bugs etc. on the off chance they got in and is constantly steam cleaning things! Make sure you cover yourself with mosquito repellent if you are sleeping on the deck though :)

Room Tip: middle room between hall and lounge only has a fan and can get super hot in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Margosa Hotel
Margosa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaffa
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#1 of 93 in Tel Aviv
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 93 in Tel Aviv
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 93 in Tel Aviv
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#7 of 93 in Tel Aviv
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Hostel

Property: Florentine Hostel
Address: 10 Elifelet street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Florentine Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Florentine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing