We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florentine Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$351
$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Tel Aviv(Tel Aviv)
$446
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$370
$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$411
$390
Atlas.co.il
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$410
$369
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Rothschild 71(Tel Aviv)
$422
$375
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$458
$431
Atlas.co.il
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$430
$387
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
282
97
45
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
97
45
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracehummusevery eveningfree breakfasthappy hourvolunteersbackpackersjaffahammocksdormisraelnatalievibesnightlifetelshabbattlv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 455 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I absolutely loved it! Great atmosphere. Fanatastic terrace with hammocks and couches - a great place to meet others and make new friends. From all hostels i have seen this one offered the best and more friendly atmosphere with people naturally meeting each other and starting a conversation on the terrace. Rafi, the owner, does a lot for the atmosphere and he is definetly doing his job well! I liked all those messages placer here and there, telling you that all guests are here together and have common interest: To spend great time here. Rafi also organised some evening party for us, but i unfornutally could not join.

To make a long review short: i would DEFINITELY stay here again when i am in Tel Aviv.

The only drawback is surroundings, which feels a little uncomfortable when you gou this way for the first time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JendaWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My friend and I arrived there in the evening and it looked scary: very dark, no signs, run down.
Inside, very simple backpacker hostel, clean, very nice terrace where people hang out (and sleep as well).
It was nice to have a beer there before heading out. Guests can cook and eat all together if they wish.
The owner/manager seems friendly but wasn't too helpful overall. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Florentine Hostel in Tel Aviv was great! Rafi, the owner, does a great job of making it a "backpackers" hostel. It is located in a cool area (Florentine) of Tel Aviv, about a 25 minute walk from the Central Bus Station and Hahagana train station. It is also located about a 20 minute walk in the opposite direction from the beach on the Mediterranean. Florentine has an adequate kitchen, free internet, free tea and coffee, free breakfast (bread with several spreads...it's not big, but it's enough to fill you up to begin your day...and save money!), laundry service for a small price, clean bathrooms, showers with GREAT water pressure, clean dorms, he sells beer!, and a large balcony with a kick-butt common room making it easy to meet other travelers and have fun. And on nights (when it is not raining), Rafi will organize...and usually join in...crawls to bars, clubs, and local restaurants. I enjoyed my time at Florentine's so much that I came back to stay twice more during my travels throughout Israel. A friendly piece of advice from a fellow backpacker who has stayed in about 45 hostels the past 2 years...if you are a backpacker or you have a backpacker's mindset/personality, then you will probably really like this place. And if you are not, then you probably won't. John

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falkj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed two nights at Florentine. They were eventful to say the least. First off when you arrive you get greeted by very unhappy and rude staff. They charge you in advance, take your passport number (normal), ask which hostel you've come from.. if you come from a hostel they don't like they'll tell you they're not sure if you should stay there... because they have a network of hostels they trust etc... basically not a very nice welcome.

They'll then take you through a long list of rules.. show you your quarters and you're then free to do what you want.

Florentine has a kitchen. You get free tea, coffee and there is often food in the 'free food' basket.

The terrace is very communal.. people sit / lie around, are very chatty and friendly.. it's easy to make friends and to spend a great time either with them, going out of the hostel with them, going out on your own and what not.

On my second night however a member of staff got very drunk... we went out to get some pizzas and he started arguing with the shop-keeper for a long time.. we had to politely accompany him back go the hostel. Out of nowhere in the corridor he started play-fighting with me. This is all good and well though he threw me a small punch into the eye. I punched him straight back into the eye, he went flying back and opened his head on the electric box behind him.

I've _never_ been punched by hostel staff before.. and found the experience rather unpleasant. I'm an non-violent and this was really just wrong.

The next day 4 people (including me) got told the hostel was full and they had to move out. The owner "yofee" said that basically he wants people to just come, stay a few days, follow the rules and move on.

I had a discussion with the owner about the experience and he said that now he definitely wants me to leave right away. He also told me that if I did not leave he would call the police.. to which I told him to do so right away. When my two witnesses had a chat with him he calmed down and I was able to wait around for the other people who were leaving, and leave with them.

Based on my experience I would thoroughly NOT recommend Florentine. But maybe you'll have a better experience than mine.

8  Thank shyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews