We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

a beautiful boutique hotel in a bustling, up and coming area of Tel-aviv. we stayed 3 nights and loved the decor, the eccentric shop ,the interesting bar, the lobby but most of all the service ! the staff is really getting out of their way to give the guests all they wish for. the only draw-back is the size of the room and the bathroom, they were clean but tiny and are justly called bedrooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear A K,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your lovely review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our style, location and service. We are glad that you had the chance of visiting the pop up shop that we are currently hosting and our newly opened Garden Lounge bar.

Our bedrooms, although beautifully designed are indeed urban in size. We will be happy to reserve for you one of our larger rooms on your next stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back soon to the Brown TLV.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest relations manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    223
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
54
439
163
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'm happy to have stayed at Brown TLV -- I enjoyed the experience. However, if I returned to Tel Aviv I might pay a little more to try some of the other boutique properties the city offers.

PROS
- More favorably priced than the other Tel Aviv boutique properties
- The hotel has character: the design is contemporary and quirky without being kitschy
- Complimentary (high quality) chocolates (no wine)
- Nice location. As mentioned by other reviewers, it's close to Neve Tzedek, the hip neighborhood. Additionally, Carmel Market is practically next door and Brown is convenient to the Promenade: Jaffa is a 30-minute pleasant walk along the sea
- Changing my plans in advance of my stay was easy
- Comfortable bed (my nap turned into a coma)

CONS
- Ridiculously small rooms (no space for my suitcase)
- Rigid about not accessing my room until 2:00 (I had to kill five hours in the heat after having flown through the night). If a room's not available early, it's not available early, but I did not detect any sort of empathy or openness to finding a solution from the front desk agent
- Booking through the website didn't work

I liked Brown TLV well enough, but did not fall in love with it. I would recommend it to others, but if money is not an issue I would suggest also checking-out some of the other one-of-a-kind hotels Tel Aviv offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Esme_Travels,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you dedicated to it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your entire experience in Tel Aviv was a pleasant one.

We are glad that you appreciated the hotels design and location which indeed is an optimal one. Thank you for mentioning our beds. The sleep and rest of our guests is very important to us.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that our front desk was not empathetic to you upon your arrival. Please note that our check in time is 15:00 and as we are a small hotel we cannot always guarantee an early check in. Should the room be available upon arrival we are always happy to offer it with no early check in charge.

Regarding the size of our bedrooms, I do not know which room you stayed at but we have different room sized which we will gladly reserve for you on future stays.

We thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Reservations Managers
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the location is ideal- the local nightlife is fantastic and the restaurants on Rothchild Blvd are a short walk away. I stayed for a week and was so sad to leave- the staff here are amazing- it's nice to stay at a smaller hotel where the staff know your name and greet you personally everyday- I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Tracy L,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found you can recommend us to others.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are glad that they made you feel at home with us.

We are happy that you had the time to explore our wonderful surroundings and we hope you come back soon to keep getting to know Tel Aviv.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel and the only comment that might be not so positive is that I heard a lot of noise from people walking around until 4 in the morning, but I guess it's the guests fault not the hotel. Everything else was really good!
The service is probably the best I've had in all hotels I've stayed - in general Israelis were all very nice- and they create a young&cool atmosphere in the hotel.
There is a small shop inside with Israeli designer pieces - I regret not buying some!!
The bar/esplanade has a good vibe, really good music and is the perfect place for a sunset with friends!
The breakfast is great - I went to the vegetarian option and the ladies are super nice - kind of your aunt who in the second day already knows how do you like your tea, coffe, eggs etc

The best in this hotel is really the cool vibe - you feel really welcomed!
If I ever go back to Israel this is where I want to stay!!

Ps: the shampoo and conditioner which are usually a nightmare for women are better than some well known brands - and it smell great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Margarida N,

We would like to thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate very much the time you dedicated to writing it.

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel's atmosphere as well as our bar, vegetarian breakfast option, Dead sea bath products and cool pop up store which we are currently hosting.

We enjoyed hearing that you felt welcomed and also found the hotel great for hosting your friends. We always strive to make our guests and our guest's guest feel at home.

We were sorry to read about the noise you experienced. I hope you informed us at the time as the rest of our guests is very important to us.

We look forward welcoming you back soon at the Brown TLV.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at a number of hotels in Tel Aviv and this is definitely up there with value. The hotel is very modern and has a great vibe to it (bar/lounge seems to always be happening but not loud). Our room was on the small side but had everything it needed and was super clean and if we wanted a larger room I am sure they would have upgraded us without a hassle (it also came with a big bottle of champagne and some awesome chocolates!) The staff is super friendly and always seemed happy to help. Location wise it is right in the middle of everything that makes Tel Aviv so great. We stayed during the winter and felt that the price was very reasonable for the value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Fhz,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we provided good value. It is extremely important for us to provide our guests with quality products and service and we are very glad that you noticed that.

We are happy that you liked the relaxed and warm vibe of the hotel which is also felt in our recently launched garden lounge as well as in all other spaces of the hotel.

Our staff is indeed always happy to help. All of them are local Tel-Avivians who know the best locations to visit, including the newest and hottest bars, restaurants and sights.

We hope to see you back soon and help you keep exploring this amazing vibrant city.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is fairly new and is ideally located between Neve Zedek and Rothschild quarter with lots of restaurant options - a perfect starting point to explore the city. Not the cheapest option in town, yet the price is fair for what it offers: nice rooms (yet not spacious) with wonderful beds and rain showers and Dead Sea bath products. The lobby offers goodies (coffee, water, cookies, etc) and you get sparkling wine and a bottle of Israeli merlot as a welcome gift, the best part by far is the friendly staff that will make your stay special. They took excellent care of us (special thanks to Su!) and had great restaurant recommendations - they even mailed our postcards! Something to improve: definitely the slow wifi connection. Complimentary breakfast at a choice of three cafes nearby - a neat idea! If you have a car you have the option of leaving it in the parking lot behind the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guatepolitica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guatepolitica,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and chose to stay with us on your next visit to Tel-Aviv.

We are glad you enjoyed our location, bed rooms and amenities.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff who are all amazing and do their best to assist and make our wonderful guests feel well taken care of. It makes us proud that you felt you were in good hands.

Thank you for advising us regarding the Wi-Fi. We have taken this matter under our care.

We hope to see you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok,
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Sparkling wine, coffee/tea and biscuits available 24/7 in the Lobby area. Rather dark lobby but we had a lovely room - we did pay for one of the larger rooms with a sofa bed for the 3 of us. My daughter loves this hotel, it is her favourite among the 5 hotels we stayed in during our 11 days trip. There was a bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived, the beds (both the King and sofa bed) were VERY comfortable, nice smallish bathroom, ALL modern amenities.
Nice rooftop bar, but no restaurant. Breakfast served in several nearby restaurants, so you just tell them you are from Brown's - we tried two and loved the food at both restaurants.
Location is wonderful, a few steps from Carmel market and less than 10 mins to the beach. Overall experience very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkok_10900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Bangkok_10900,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It's is an honor that your daughter chose us as the better hotel from the 5 that you visited.

We are happy that you enjoyed your room, our amenities and breakfast options.
Our location is indeed great and we are glad that you had the chance to explore our wonderful neighborhood.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.7 mi away
Brown Beach House
Brown Beach House
#28 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown TLV Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Property: Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Address: 25 Kalisher, Tel Aviv 6516505, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#4 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown TLV Urban Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new color in town. In the heart of Tel Aviv's urban scene, at the crossroads of the charming Neve Tzedek quarter and trendy Rothschild Boulevard and a ten minute walk from the beach, the Brown TLV Hotel is an ideal choice for the seasoned business traveler as well as the lifestyle-driven individual eager to access the vibrant city. Arts and culture, dining and nightlife– are all outside our door. The Brown boutique hotel caters to the value-minded, yet stylishly discerning guest. Combining unique retro design, stylish ambiance and personalized service, Brown TLV is an award winning hotel recommended by international magazines such as NY Times, Wallpaper, Conde Nast Traveller, Vogue and Time Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown TLV Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Tlv Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing