We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Crans Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best value for money.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

excellent boutique hotel with personalized service .I believe it will become my new base when I come for biz in Israel.My room was tiny but design and comfy.Take breakfast at Birenbaum
a stone throw away.U will feel the ambiance of Tel Aviv of 70 years ago.Fantastic bars and restaurants all around and hype atmosphere.Go for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giora g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Giora G,

You have put into words exactly what we aim for and I thank you for it; we hope to give every guest a personalized service and stay, each matching to their unique personality. We are proud to be your home base in the holy country and welcome you to report back soon.

Could not agree more about your review of the Birenbaum restaurant, their authentic service and gastronomic atmosphere matches our vision of feeling at home even when leaving it. We have chosen three different places for breakfast, hope you experienced them all, each takes you to a completely different TLV adventure and all a minute walk away.

Be sure to mention you are a returning guest and a close friend of the Brown next time you book.

Thank you once again. We are hoping to see you soon (the weather is becoming great!)

Warm regards

Orlie D.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    228
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
55
454
166
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The last time I stayed at the Brown TLV, in the Spring of 2011, there were many details that impressed me. On a return visit in late Winter 2012, things have only improved. The hotel is on the verge of starting an in house dining program with a real American Grill concept, and all the yummy treats that a kitchen committed to a fine dining experience can provide. The previous program of a hosted breakfast in 3 nearby restaurants will come to a happy conclusion. A new and gorgeous vintage retro cabinet, an interior design adjustment carving out a new entrance and bar for the dining venue, has been installed in the lobby, heralding in such a stylish way, the exciting changes that are about to come. The back garden will be partially closed for indoor dining in a well lit terrarium like space. Leon, who leads this delightful Boutique Hotel reports that an additional 19 rooms will soon be available in an adjacent building. In addition, a restoration project next door to the Brown, of an Eclectic Architectural Gem is coming to a swift end, creating a beautiful new structure next door. Most important, a new Manager has been hired named Daniel and he's terrific with offering personal attention to the need of his guests. Note the quickly provided contemporaneous foot soaking bucket that was brought up to my room to treat a super sore calf, caused by excessive walking in the great White City. The Brown is now an established leader in Tel Aviv's fledgeling Boutique Hotel scene. Leon reports that more projects under his flagship Leopard Group will soon debut in Tel Aviv, Jerusalem and Netanya. If they are anything like the Brown, visitors to Israel and locals wishing to check into a chic and cozy hotel, will have wonderful new options. Avner Lapovsky, San Francisco/Tel Aviv

Room Tip: Any rooms ending with 08 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, General Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Avner,

What a kind review, thank you. Yes exciting times at the Brown TLV indeed!
It is always such a pleasure having you stay with us, and I am glad we had a chance to meet.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Israel

Warm regards
Danny
Danny Tamari
Hotel Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Selected Brown TLV because of its design and location and all exceeded expectations. The rooms, though small, are designed with every detail for luxury and functionality. The lobby is like an extended living room to meet with friends/family offering free wine, espresso, apples and delicious treats. The staff super friendly and helpful. The neighborhood great for wondering and exploring. The breakfast restaurants all unique and great. Highly recommend!!! So much more fun than sterile large hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, General Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. What is particularly pleasing is that you mentioned the word “fun”, something that is so important when visiting a foreign city be it for leisure or business.
You have captured in writing what we aim to achieve in our “lobby” actually being a living room to relax, read, invite friends & family and just have fun.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future

Warm regards
Danny

Danny Tamari
Hotel Manager
Brown TLV
25 Kalisher Street
Tel Aviv 65201, Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We found this hotel a refreshing experience, where nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

When chosing a hotel in Tel Aviv for a couple of nights, in our price range, we could have gone for a sea front location (but probably not a sea view) in a tatty hotel with moderate to poor reviews, or for the same money, Browns TLV, a 15 minute walk from the sea. Browns TLV was without doubt the right choice. It is a hotel with a really lovely "feel", attentive staff and great for the nearby Carmel market (5 minute walk) which is a wonderful place to browse and shop.

Breakfast at Birenbaum cafe (the kosher choice) was delicious - I really like the idea of being able to walk a couple of minutes down the road and enjoy a street cafe breakfast, watching the textiles and trimmings world rush by. Special mention to Danny who at all time was keen to go the extra mile.

We will stay here again (and hope that when they have their own kitchen up and running, the off-site breakfast option will still exist).

Room Tip: If you are after a kosher breakfast, the Birenbaum Cafe is the place. Food is great and you will ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelybaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, General Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear eelybaboon

Thank you for writing a review. It was a pleasure having you and your wife staying with us.

We strive to be very attentive to our guests and provide them with a fun and unique experience when visiting our great city and I am glad you enjoyed it. Our location is indeed fantastic: tucked away on a small street and a few minutes from restaurants, galleries, bars, ports and everything TLV has to offer.

As you mentioned, we are very excited that in the next couple of months we are going to have our own restaurant and café. You and I actually spoke in our living room about how much you both enjoyed Birnbaum. I can assure you that we will have a kosher option next time you visit us.

I thank you once more for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time

With kind regards
Danny

Danny Tamari
Hotel Manager
Brown TLV
25 Kalisher Street
Tel Aviv 65201, Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Brown hotel for 4 nights in Jan 2012. When looking for accommodation in Tel Aviv we were surprised at how expensive hotels and apartments were and how average they looked. We thought the Brown TLV was the best pick. We booked a relax (spa) suite. The room whilst not overly large was functional and had everything necessary to make the stay comfortable. The spa has a shower over and it's not the most user friendly setup. The floor tends to flood and with the wrap around curtain there's nowhere to put the soap and shampoo. The hotel lobby has a good atmosphere with an excellent selection of gourmet teas, biscuits and cake / slice in the afternoon. We found people often sitting around at night in the lobby having a drink. Whilst the hotel does not currently have a bar they have a few bottles of wine available for purchase. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel has free bicycles for use which is a great way to get around and see some of Tel Aviv. The foreshore is close by and has a great cycle path. We had a massage at the hotel. One of us had a very good massage....the other very average, so we reckon it's the luck of the draw. Brown does not currently have a restaurant or in-house breakfast service, but you get a choice of 3 near by cafe's to try. We tried all three and all were very good. Whilst we enjoyed our stay at Brown TLV it lacks that wow factor that it could achieve. A bar, restaurant and maybe some more colours other than brown might be the go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reckless_abandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, General Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear reckless_abandon8

I was glad to hear you enjoyed so much our hotel’s benefits and features: the Relax room, the attentiveness of the staff, our living room, bicycles, etc.

In terms of the hotel needing more features: I am glad to inform you that in a couple of months we will have a restaurant/café on the ground floor where guests could enjoy drinking and dining in the hotel and outside in our garden. Furthermore, at the same time we will also launch our roof-top bar where you will be able to catch some sun while drinking a fresh watermelon martini during the day and return in the evening for a night cap (or two!). The view is fantastic from up there, with the Mediterranean to your west and TLV’s urban jungle to the east.

I really appreciate your review. We listen to our guests’ feed-back and find true solutions to their needs. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future so you can enjoy all of our new features.

Thanks again and see you soon

Danny

Danny Tamari
Hotel Manager
Brown TLV
25 Kalisher Street
Tel Aviv 65201, Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel is small but very cozy and friendly. It is situated only steps away from Tel Aviv city center and some of its main attractions. It is modern and well equiped. Free hot drinks and cookies at the loby lounge and a small but nice SPA too. Nice terrace with views on the roof.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small but well equiped and clean, ask for the north facing rooms or west at higher le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uri_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Staying at an intimate boutique hotel in the heart of Tel Aviv with personalized attention has been a great experience. The staff were friendly in a genuine way and most helpful. This was a dramatic change from the old style customer service that we experienced in Israel many years ago.

I arranged a dinner meeting with old friends in the nearby Neve Tzedek area and was able to walk there in 5 minutes to enjoy a fabulous evening at a first class restaurant. Easy walks to the Carmel Market and to Sderot Rothschild give access to some of the unique aspects of Tel Aviv life during the day and evening. Also enjoyed two great breakfasts at nearby restaurants to get the day off to a good start. I even walked to the Habima Centre which has just re-opened after an impressive renovation.

The hotel itself provides a warm atmosphere with modern touches. The Brown Hotel seems to be helping to lead the way to an exciting redevelopment of Old Tel Aviv and creating a new centre for tourists and business people to enjoy. This development is solidifying Tel Aviv's reputation as one of the most exciting places in the world to enjoy a multi-cultural experience. To enjoy this in an intimate and personalized manner was a great pleasure. For my purposes, forgoing some of the amenities of a large hotel was not a hardship. I am sure to return there for my next visit to Tel Aviv.

Ken S.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brown Beach House
Brown Beach House
#30 of 100 in Tel Aviv
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown TLV Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Property: Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Address: 25 Kalisher, Tel Aviv 6516505, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#4 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown TLV Urban Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new color in town. In the heart of Tel Aviv's urban scene, at the crossroads of the charming Neve Tzedek quarter and trendy Rothschild Boulevard and a ten minute walk from the beach, the Brown TLV Hotel is an ideal choice for the seasoned business traveler as well as the lifestyle-driven individual eager to access the vibrant city. Arts and culture, dining and nightlife– are all outside our door. The Brown boutique hotel caters to the value-minded, yet stylishly discerning guest. Combining unique retro design, stylish ambiance and personalized service, Brown TLV is an award winning hotel recommended by international magazines such as NY Times, Wallpaper, Conde Nast Traveller, Vogue and Time Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brown TLV Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Tlv Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing