We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredibly small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
St. Ives, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“incredibly small room”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a small boutique hotel that, I was told, recently had a good write-up in the local press. The author of that review possibly had not stayed there. We were shown into our standard grade room. I think that they had abbreviated the category from (sub) standard. We had been on the road for almost four weeks and when I saw the room the answer was ‘No, definitely not. Either upgrade us or we move out, across the road to the Hilton’. My call to the local agent was unsuccessful, possibly due to the fact that it was a Friday afternoon, and after waiting about 30 minutes for their promised return call, the reception found another slightly bigger room. True, we were originally offered a bigger room – a room that was 1 square metre bigger. What is 1 square metre to a cell? Obviously size is the main criteria in room rate and 1m equates to possibly 20cm along the length of a room, or a wider entrance passage. Creative architecture is used in the room design to make it bigger. The wardrobe is not as deep as the clothes hanger supplied and, if used, the clothes hang at a 45 degree angle, but it makes the passage usable
This hotel, Like it’s sister hotel – The Harmony in Jerusalem, seem to have tapped into a supply of courteous and very helpful staff. The breakfasts, in the lobby area, good. Unlike most of the other hotels that we have stayed in, the bathroom is equipped with a clothes line – very useful if you are away from home for a long period, and we were approaching the fourth week away. The bathroom is microscopically small so it is appropriate that you can was your ‘smalls’. They have a happy hour in the lounge – tea, coffee, wine and light snacks. Very comfortable when returning from a day of sight seeing or museum mooching.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dojies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    293
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
271
573
109
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a new hotel, with better rooms from the typical standrad business hotels ofTel Aviv.
Room is good, clean and quiet, but no mini bar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

A really relax we got on the "Shalom & Relax" in Tel Aviv. The calm and homely hotel is newly renovated, good situated with short ways to the beach and the city. All foods are prepared kosher and homemade.
But - and this is the most important - the "Shalom" has very friendly and competent stuff with excellent services.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backside with overview TLV cityline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShimonRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Completely satisfied!! Great location. Courteous, attentive, helpful and friendly staff. Nice breakfast and dinner meals/snacks. Cool & trendy, can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Loveley hotel, well located near the sea.
Offers a wonderful roof view of the sea.
The hotel has bikes to lend.
Back facing rooms much less exciting.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel our last night of 9 in Israel. We wish we would have known about it sooner, because we would have extended our stay (we had stayed at the American Colony in Jerusalem, which everyone raved about...I liked this one even more)! Our room was small, but new and clean with a sea view. The service was awesome- they arranged for someone to come and give us massages before bed. In the afternoon they brought up cookies and bottled water. Morning breakfast was one of my favorites during our entire trip. Loved the atmosphere- the roof was so cool! We borrowed bikes in the morning for a long ride on the beach- it was so great. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicholeClaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed five nights at the Shalom. It was a pleasure from start to finish. The staff here are amazing, helpful and you feel like you are among friends. The rooms are beautiful with lots of little touches to add to the experience. The breakfast is super - in a country that excels in breakfast , this is the best. There is always tea and cookies available. The happy hour could be dinner if you weren't tempted by all the great restaurants within a few blocks.
The location is excellent. A short walk to the sea, port and city shops.
We borrowed the hotel's bikes and had a wonderful ride along the seashore.
Atlas does it again with a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oregontraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel

Property: Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Address: 216 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6340514, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#2 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalom Hotel & Relax offers 51 rooms designed to pamper guests that want to enjoy the resort atmosphere of Tel Aviv, Israel. Some rooms feature attractive sitting areas; others feature bathrooms with a view of the beach, while unique romantic spa rooms welcome guests with an indulgent Jacuzzi facing the magnificent view. All guests are welcome to enjoy the amazing rooftop lounge: is the perfect spot for an afternoon of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalom Hotel And Relax Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing