We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wow - this boutique hotel with only 54 or so rooms is an absolute gem in one of the nicest parts of Tel Aviv, next to the Rothchild boulevard. I stayed there for five nights with a friend and was really impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the room itself which came with a separate living room and a little kitchenette giving it a very welcome appartment feeling rather than the standard hotel room. The walls of the hotel host paintings that customers may buy - thus the name live art boutique hotel - and the place gives you a really nice, classy yet cosy feeling in the heart of the city. Simply fab!

Room Tip: In general I find upper floors better than lower ones.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Must_try_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
There are newer reviews for The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Firstly, I’d like to thank you to all members of the Diaghilev team who made my stay in Tel Aviv very comfortable.

I found this nice hotel via tripadvisor. After reading reviews about the hotel, I decided to contact the reservation. After exchanging several emails with Margarita, I decided to stay there. She was very helpful and, she responded to my all questions without anything missing. My trip was a business trip and I stayed at the hotel 3 nights. By the way, I also enjoyed the night life in the vibrant city as well.

About the hotel:
It’s a small boutique art hotel, centrally located just one block behind of Rothschild Avenue, where you can find many nice restaurants, cafes, pubs.

The suite I stayed in was very spacious, clean comfortable and quite. Although the breakfast is not being served at the hotel, but there were complimentary coffee, tea, cookies, orange juice in the kitchenette. There are plenty of cafes nearby as well. Internet/wifi is also complimentary at the hotel. And the most important one, it’s working very well and fast.

One night, I took my business partner and his lovely wife to my suit (better say to my little apartment flat) to offer coffee after the dinner. There was a bottle of champagne on the table. What a nice surprise!!! Really appreciated….

I definitely highly recommend this lovely hotel to everyone who wanna feel at home in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The raving reviews before me are not an exaggeration. I wish no one knew about this place, and it was left for my family to enjoy!
No pint in repeating other reviews. I loved the folkloric rugs in the lobby and rooms. Loved the "normal" coat hangers that you can mix and match, and move around. The complement of bathroom freebies was excellent. The bathrobes (yep, waiting for you), the towels and the bedsheets are all black. Personally, I loved that touch too, but some may not. I consider the total absence of a kitchen and a breakfast room an asset of this hotel. You can't actually cook in your room, but you get dishes, cutlery, and a kettle.
And the parking? Like that of an Arab emir, underground, gated, and spacious. If you don't see the point, you haven't been to Tel Aviv. Do come, and stay at the Diaghilev.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel decoration is Ikea based. In a hotel of this price is a really sad thing. Furthermore, services of the hotel are really poor. The hotel taxi, for example, spoil our last day in Tel Aviv! The most unfriendly taxi we ever take (and I think a service of the hotel is directly the responsability of the hotel). I think there will be better hotels in Tel Aviv. Really is not value for money. Better look for another option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaghilevTelAviv, Guest Relations Representative at The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear JBRF,

We were saddened to hear about your negative experience with the taxi driver, but as you might understand, such things are beyond the control of the hotel. We are calling cabs for our guests from an ordinary taxi service and therefore we are not able to take responsibility of drivers behavior. If you could advise us the name of the driver, we would avoid working with him in the future.
As to the design of the hotel - big majority of our guests comes from different branches of art and characterizes the Diaghilev as a bohemian hotel. We are sorry it couldn't meet your personal taste - as we are not a part of the mainstream, we understand that we might not be appreciated by every guest.

We always do our best to make our guests feel pleased and satisfied, but our unique concepts cannot be suited to personal preferences of each guest as we truly believe in their importance. For the sake of TripAdvisor community: It is a great pleasure welcoming any of you to our hotel, but travelers that are looking for standard accommodation, rather than experiencing something extraordinary, perhaps should better look for another solution.

Best regards,
The Diaghilev Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Last year we needed somewhere to stay in central Tel Aviv for a few nights and stumbled upon the Diaghilev Hotel. How lucky were we, it was the best experience ever. The friendly staff, helpful and pleasant was there when we needed them, and left us alone when we did not. The location couldn't be better, smack bang in the centre, yet quiet enough to relax. That's why I straight away book the place again this year, because I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. It is very refreshing to know, that there is such a place in Israel. And if you are into art, you also get a good dose of that there. Well done, and keep it up!
Gabi B.

Room Tip: room with balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently spent 5 nights at the Diaghilev. I picked this hotel based on reviews I read on TripAdvisor. Although the staff was very kind and the room was spacious, I would hardly call this hotel #1 in Tel-Aviv (I have traveled to Israel over a dozen times). The pros are the location and the free wireless internet. Truthfully, the decor of the hotel is nothing like what you see online. The room also did not feel very clean to me. The shower and bathroom were quite small.

Based on the reviews I read online, I was expecting a far more elegant experience. Overall, I would say the Diaghilev was an average experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaghilevTelAviv, Guest Relations Representative at The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear BB108,

Thank you for posting your review!

The Diaghilev hotel is being characterized by the majority of the guests, whom we were honored to accommodate, as a bohemian hotel. And indeed, it attracts attention of international art scene representatives: artists, curators, designers, architects etc.

We are sorry the hotel didn't meet your personal expectations. We accept the fact that our uniqueness cannot be appreciated by every guest, but luckily most of them feel excited about extraordinary hospitality concepts of The Diaghilev and return to us over and over again. We are sold out most of the time and there are actually guests who wish to be on a wait-list to become a part of the Diaghilev experience.

Best regards,
The Diaghilev Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For those who like boutique hotels with a special atmosphere, this place is for you. Situated in a quiet residential street in Central Tel Aviv (very convenient for the downtown business district and the trendy Rothschild / Shenkin areas). The theme is modern art and there are some very attractive works in the hotel. We had a mini-apartment which was roomy, attractive and very comfortable. No meals in the hotel but no problem to get a good breakfast at one of the many good eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlisbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#13 of 100 in Tel Aviv
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#39 of 100 in Tel Aviv
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
1.1 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#37 of 100 in Tel Aviv
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel

Address: 56 Mazeh Street, Tel Aviv 6578906, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $128 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diaghilev is a bohemian boutique hotel that offers an extraordinary and exceptional cultural experience intensified by an excellent personal service. The hotel features an art gallery exhibiting over 500 artworks that change every 6 months, unique and mostly radical decor items, a collection of hand made rugs from all over the universe, most of which are ancient and therefore reflect the aged cultures they originate from. The Diaghilev has recently established a HUB for Start-ups and integrates a wide activity in such fields as design, fashion and technology. The uniqueness of the hotel brought it into prominence among internationally acknowledged artist visiting Tel Aviv and the world of technology and start-up. Many employees of the leading corporations in the world choose the Diaghilev as their base in Tel Aviv. Built in the purest Bauhaus the Diaghilev invites its guests to experience a World Cultural Heritage site rich of hundreds of Bauhaus buildings and get a taste of the “White City.” Our uncommon nocturnal concept was designed taking account of a recent scientific research that showed evidence that black beddings cause intensive production of Melatonin hormone, which results in deeper sleep, stronger immune system and increased anti-aging effect. The Diaghilev is an eco-friendly hotel, committed to a continually expanding list of operating practices that aim to maintain minimal environmental impact. The toiletries at the Diaghilev are of outstanding quality. They are produced from natural materials created from plants cultivated for this purpose in the hills of Jerusalem. These products are produced and packaged at a small factory that employs people with disabilities and integrates them into the labor market. Our creativity-support concept lead to the establishment of the HUB - a shared work environment that is more than a physical workplace for creative entrepreneurs: It is designed to nurture a community in which creators will be able to collaborate with one another in order to produce innovative projects and initiatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing