We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“just for this hotel you should visit Tel Aviv” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just for this hotel you should visit Tel Aviv”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

the Diaghilev is one of those few hotels in the world where the people working there give you the impression that you are not only more than welcome, and the accommodation is also great: large rooms, fine beds, big balconies overlooking the Tel Aviv center. In short, being in the Diaghilev for a few days makes you wonder why you ever wanted to be somewhere else. Besides the location is in the Unesco declared world heritage Bauhaus center of Tel Aviv, which is not only interesting for architecture lovers, but also the vibrant drinking and eating -out part of Tel Aviv where you get the feeling that you are dragged into the people enjoying themselves and you cannot resist.
Last but not least the Diaghilev is also an art gallery showing work by interesting Isreali modern artists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanshaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    222
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
347
728
158
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Diaghilev Live Art Boutique Hotel,
It is rated #1 in Israel.

Every room is a suite,
The front desk has cookies when you need a treat.

If ever you have a question,
You will find an answer from the wonderful girls at reception.

They can set up a trip to your preferred tourist destination
Or schedule a fine dining reservation.

If you venture just a few blocks away,
You have top restaurants or a simple café.

Secure parking is available for the car,
So you don’t need to search near and far.

The wireless internet is free,
So you can upload pictures for your friends to see.

There is always a variety of fine art,
You can even buy your favorite piece before you depart.

But the best thing about the Diaghilev Live art Boutique Hotel
Is Noa, Miriam, Alex, Danielle, Zohar, Renena and Yael.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

the hotel location is very good, the suites are very big - a big living room and smaller bad room. the hotel stuff is nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: we had the Delux suite and it was grate !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Clean spacious room, friendly people and "non-conformist" decorations. It feels a bit like overnight stay in an art gallery. Recommendable if you want to experience something different from a "chain hotel". The minus point sturing my stay was The lack of bar/restaurant, which can be compensated by the lively coffeebars, restaurants, etc on The Rotschild avenue. A nice experience in The center of the city.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank M0rgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Perfect location in the city, especially if you enjoy discovering things by foot. The suite we stayed in was spacious and quite comfortable too. The frontdesk staff was always helpful, offering a cheerful advice on everything from eating out, shopping and sightseeing. The underground garage parking was very convenient too.

Now, they don't offer any breakfast, and that's good, as we have discovered later. The neighborhood has many excellent cafes and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. There is no reason to stay in!

Finding the hotel for the first time will be challenging if you are driving. There is nothing at the front to indicate the right place, not even a small plaque. Note that different English language cartography services will label their street either as MAZA or MAZEH.

Keypad doorlocks deserve special mentioning -- how silly and inconvenient.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not one to normally write reviews for hotels, but really thought The Diaghilev was worth writing about.

Picking this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and certainly wasn't disappointed. Location was perfect, just 1 minute walk from Avenue Rothschild - a really pretty tree lined boulevard with great bars and restaurants on (tried lots of them out!).

Service was bang on, all really friendly on reception - offering suggestions on where to go for dinner and places to visit in the city. Always brought us an espresso over in the morning as we were planning our day in the seating area - really lovely touch.

Our room was also great - extremely spacious with a lounge area, a kitchenette, bedroom, bathroom and balcony! More than enough space for two people and definitely great value for pricey Tel Aviv. We can with a group of friends and their rooms we're equally as nice, great space and decor. Very funky and interesting rooms.

Will definitely be staying here when I come back to Tel Aviv.

Only negative was finding it - had hired a car and had to do two massive loops thinking the building wasn't a hotel before deciding to get out and have a look. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We just returned from our trip which included three nights at the Diaghilev. I wish we could have stayed there longer. We had a spacious corner suite (#309) with a huge wrap-around balcony and floor-to-ceiling windows to enjoy the lovely tree-top view. Our suite was great for a family or friends, with a huge genuine king-sized bed in the living room. The bedroom had two twin beds pushed together to form a large bed. Not only were there washclothes in the spacious and beautiful bathroom, but washing mitts also and big plush bathrobes, big thick towels, and nice bath gel and soap. The shower was wonderful and having a nice rubber mat in the tub was appreciated. The kitchen cabinets were well stocked with attractive dishes, glasses, and mugs. Many reviewers have mentioned the helpfulness of the staff, and it's so true. We received a friendly greeting each time we entered the lobby and their recommendations for places to eat and to visit were excellent. Not having a car, we loved the location, so close to Rothschild Blvd. It was an easy walk to Neve Tsedek, the beach, the Carmel Market, and even to the art museum. We only needed a taxi for Bet Hatfutsot and Jaffa. If we'd have had time for the Tel Aviv Port we might have taken a taxi there too. I would certainly stay at the Diaghilev again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#26 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel

Property: The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel
Address: 56 Mazeh Street, Tel Aviv 6578906, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diaghilev is a bohemian boutique hotel that offers an extraordinary and exceptional cultural experience intensified by an excellent personal service. The hotel features an art gallery exhibiting over 500 artworks that change every 6 months, unique and mostly radical decor items, a collection of hand made rugs from all over the universe, most of which are ancient and therefore reflect the aged cultures they originate from. The Diaghilev has recently established a HUB for Start-ups and integrates a wide activity in such fields as design, fashion and technology. The uniqueness of the hotel brought it into prominence among internationally acknowledged artist visiting Tel Aviv and the world of technology and start-up. Many employees of the leading corporations in the world choose the Diaghilev as their base in Tel Aviv. Built in the purest Bauhaus the Diaghilev invites its guests to experience a World Cultural Heritage site rich of hundreds of Bauhaus buildings and get a taste of the “White City.” Our uncommon nocturnal concept was designed taking account of a recent scientific research that showed evidence that black beddings cause intensive production of Melatonin hormone, which results in deeper sleep, stronger immune system and increased anti-aging effect. The Diaghilev is an eco-friendly hotel, committed to a continually expanding list of operating practices that aim to maintain minimal environmental impact. The toiletries at the Diaghilev are of outstanding quality. They are produced from natural materials created from plants cultivated for this purpose in the hills of Jerusalem. These products are produced and packaged at a small factory that employs people with disabilities and integrates them into the labor market. Our creativity-support concept lead to the establishment of the HUB - a shared work environment that is more than a physical workplace for creative entrepreneurs: It is designed to nurture a community in which creators will be able to collaborate with one another in order to produce innovative projects and initiatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing