We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Simply" the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Simply" the best”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very small hotel with absolutely no glitz or glamour but it turned out to be my favorite. The room size was adequate as was the bathroom. The walls are white and the floors appear to be a rubber-like composite in black that felt warm to the bare feet.. It has a tastefully beachy feel. All rooms seem to have a balcony. Some have stunning views of the Mediterranean and some have a view of the neighboring building. We started with a room looking at a neighboring building but changed to one that had a partial view of the Mediterranean. It's a walk up as there is no elevator. What made this hotel even more endearing was it's staff, especially Vicki and the night manager. There warmth, sense of humor and general good cheer made us feel welcome. The location couldn't have been better, as we could walk to the beach and did so daily. In fact most things you need or want are within walking distance. There's a young vibrant feel about the place and even though we are in our 60's we felt very much at home. Breakfast comes with the room as does the mini bar. Can't remember the last time a hotel gave away free drinks and snacks, if ever. And to cap off all of this good cheer, it was the most inexpensive place we stayed in our three weeks of traveling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    56
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
35
149
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose this hotel on the strength of the reviews and wondered what these people are used to. After the first night of our stay, after having had no sleep, we checked out. You should know that the hotel is squeezed between two building sites which start early and generate all the usual sounds associated with construction. In front of the hotel is a major road with an intersection which produces a horrific level of noise, night and day. Down the side of the hotel is a road which is used by refuse trucks that start their collections at around 5.30am. The windows are not double glazed, contrary to claims on this site, and some of the frames don't fit properly.
The rooms are very small, quite awkwardly shaped and cheaply fitted out. The lighting system is a complete joke and not a good one. None of the various settings produce useful light levels; simple switches would have been much better. Reading with just bedside illumination seems impossible. The floor finishes in the rooms are a rather unappealing black industrial material which are unpleasant to walk on in bare feet which is inevitable as no slippers are provided. The robes which are provided have been washed so many times that they have shrunk to a size that would not fit a 12 year old. Access is appalling; there are stairs up to the reception from the street level and no lift beyond this to the upper floors either. The breakfast is served at the front of the hotel on a terrace that is at the roadside so that the sensation is that of eating on the central reservation of a motorway. Music is played very loudly, presumably to drown out the traffic noise but the effect is to produce an even worse cacophony. In my opinion this building is not currently suited to being a hotel. If all this was at a super budget price ($95?) you feel that it might find a market. At $295 per night it is beyond outrageous.The staff were friendly & apologetic; we felt sorry that they must have to deal with so many problems constantly. We were so glad to leave. if you want the boutique hotel experience try The Brown; not perfect but way better than this for a similar price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demeter666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there in April 2013 for 4 nights (split in 2 at the beginning of the trip and 2 at the end of our trip). All the staff was very friendly and welcoming as well as helpful. The atmosphere is very informal and makes you feel as if you are at home or visiting friends. The hotel is very well located and in front of the beach. We had a full free minibar every night including wine and the receptionist gave us complementary beers.

The room we had was a bit too small and the bathroom has a glass wall facing the room so you need to be very careful with the noise when you are in the toilette ;-). Our room was facing the back which is a construction site so view wasn’t great.

Breakfast was very nice and a la carte which included, omelette, eggs, humus, salad and muesli. Fresh orange juice was also served.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room if you can. They all have a balcony facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for the weekend in this lovely boutique hotel
Situated in an amazing location – opposite the beach with great view from the room balcony/
The rooms are decorated very nicely, the small hotel is very quiet
and the hotel’s atmosphere is amazing especially thanks to the teams warm & embracing approach.
The restaurant on the premises was closed for renovations, still, the breakfast they served on the hotel’s terrace facing the sea front was great.
there is a huge variety of restaurants & pubs in the close vicinity & the amazing Tel Aviv beach front is always there either for swimming or just relaxing.
Highly recommended hotel in a great location for a very reasonable price. Shlomo

Room Tip: Ask fro the rooms with the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We traveled to Israel in February & March. It's a good choice to stay at this hotel. It was a perfect location, good rooms with terrace.
Very nice small hotel near Dizengoff street. A few minutes and you see sea or many restorans & shops.
We had only one problem - we waited our breakfast for 40 minutes.

Room Tip: The sea view's rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Romanovskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just stayed a few nights at this little gem. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the ocean view room was a short walk up the stairs on the front of the hotel, with a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean. It was furnished all very sleek and modern with great fixtures and a large, comfortable bed. The hi-tech lighting system baffled us but just amused us. The breakfast each morning was fantastic; and the bar gave us mixers and ice whenever we asked, with no charge. Very nice experience!

Room Tip: B5 and B6 are on top floor, with best balcony and view, but does overlook busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is not the cheapest, but the room, service and facilities were the best what we have experied so far in Israel. The only point needing improval was parking. But finally, by help of the friendly staff, it was solved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#54 of 100 in Tel Aviv
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brown Beach House
Brown Beach House
#30 of 100 in Tel Aviv
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#32 of 100 in Tel Aviv
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prima Tel-Aviv
Hotel Prima Tel-Aviv
#67 of 100 in Tel Aviv
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Hotel & Lounge

Property: Gordon Hotel & Lounge
Address: J.L. Gordon st. 2 / Hayarkon st. 136 | corner of Hayarkon and Gordon Street, Tel Aviv 63458, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#37 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#39 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Hotel & Lounge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building in which the hotel is located, is a Tel Aviv historical structure, built during the nineteen thirties, and identified with the Bauhaus style that characterized Tel Aviv at the time. The idea behind the hotel's design, offers a meeting point between the architectural values of the "White City" and the original and innovative design that creates a different, unique and fascinating experience. The pampered experience. The hotel's 12 rooms and rooftop suite, overlook's the spectacular scenery of the Mediterranean Sea. Much thought was invested in every detail of the rooms, in addition to contemporary Tel Avivian Art pieces, and design diversity. The rooms are equipped with the most advanced command and control systems of its kind, which allows you to control the lighting, curtains, climate control system and more, by push on a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gordon Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel And Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing