We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Varsano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Varsano Hotel
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family and I have just checked out of this gorgeous hotel after 7 wonderful nights.
Our 2 & 1/2 bedroom family suite with 2 large bathrooms was spacious, beautifully appointed, and exceptionally clean. But what made our trip even more special was the attentive staff headed by Sivan. This type of service does not come cheap, however when we did have a slight leak in our roof, it was rectified immediately and as a gesture of apology we were showered with gifts.
Our room did not have a laundry as I had expected, but the silver lining was that they offered to do all our washing for us for free. This was a blessing saving me hours as we had already been traveling for 2 weeks.
The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions and making reservations for us, as well as being very polite.
We loved the area and walked just about everywhere.
I was thrilled with our choice and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.
As for the roosters, after the first night we got used to it, and it reminded us of all our other travels through Asia- it was really no big deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Varsano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here for nine days; the rooms were flooded with daylight from six in the morning; one or more roosters in the yard next door start making noise at 04.45 and do not stop till 07.00.
Unfortunately, the other comments about the baby bed were correct; if your baby is really extremely small then it is suitable......
Whereas the breakfast is great, there is never somebody at the reception before 09.30/10.00 to hand you the vouchers......
We were in the family room, not the duplex suite that we were promised and looking forward to. The cafe next door has music up the roof till twelve whose lyrics you can hear word for word and you can hear the cafe kitchen's airconditioning all night long.....
Besides that, the street noise is simply unbearable as the windows are paper thin and do not close completely. My kids woke up between 05.45 and 06.45 every morning......Happy holidays!
On a good note, the service was friendly, that is except for the one girl whose concentration span made me think about the woman in the series Little Britain; 'computer says no'.......
Loads of money for a serious lack of sleep.
I would not recommend anyone to go to this place anytime.......no matter how beautiful it is (not only on the pictures but also in reality).

Room Tip: none that I know of but maybe the other reviews are more helpful
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A little piece of sophisticated heaven, in the very cool and relaxed Neve Tsedek neighbourhood. We stayed in the studio, villa number 6. The minute we entered the lavender, basil and rosemary scented courtyard we knew we were in luck. Our studio was stylish and modern, had everything, from fully fitted kitchen (and dishwasher), to ipod dock, washer/dryer - fantastic power shower, blissfully comfortable bed and plasma screen tv. I was there with my 20 year old daughter, so space can be an issue... there was plenty for us both. We stocked the fridge up and ate both in and out. The restaurants nearby are all good - we loved the bakery round the corner and Cafe Susannah on the corner, where we ate 4 or 5 times. The recommended Cafe Delall we only had breakfast at one day, but it was delicious. Well stocked grocery store nearby and a fabulous health food shop a couple of minutes away. Sea a 3 minute walk and a good beach about 10 minutes.

The staff couldn't do enough for us,and were very helpful and concerned when the air conditioning packed up - turned out to be a fuse and we got very adept at fixing it. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Varsano Luxury Suites is a small boutique hotel that is close to an apartment hotel. We stayed in a duplex Loft Suite that was very spacious with a small patio. The suite has a definitely contemporary feel and it is rather simple but nice – but do not expect this to be the most luxurious place.

The staff was friendly and trying to be helpful but they are not there 24 x 7, so you need to arrange everything while they are available.

Some minor issues we found:
- There was very little space in the bathroom to keep anything except on the floor – we would have appreciated a vanity cabinet or something.
- There was no chest or dresser where we could unpack all our clothes.

Varsano Suites does not serve any meals. Nearby Café Suzanna - just 20 meters away - had excellent meals, but we did not ask the staff beforehand where we could get breakfast at 7am and had to skip a meal.

The neighborhood is great for a casual stroll. We also were pleasantly surprised to hear a rooster in the morning – could not even remember the last time we heard a rooster…

Overall, we enjoyed the room and our stay, but we are so spoiled to expect full 24 x 7 service from hotels we stay at without making any special arrangements (e.g. stocking the refrigerator or cook meals in our apartment), so it required some adjustments on our part.
As long as you have the right expectations, this place may be the perfect hidden gem for you for your next visit to Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryOnABudgetNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife, two small children and mother-in-law stayed at #7 at the Varsano Hotel in Neve Tzedek, a very cool neighborhood of Tel Aviv and we could not have been happier. We had a spacious, up to date, chic apartment with three bedrooms each with its own full bath. The living area and kitchen were spacious and cable t.v. with those indispensible childrens shows that kept the kids entertained. The shows were the same as in America but in Hebrew and my kids were still enthralled.

The kitchen was well stocked and the cleaning crew did an excellent job each day. Also I would like to mention the air conditioning worked perfectly. May be a small thing but when it's 95 degrees F outside, it was so nice to be in our apartment away from the heat. The courtyard of the building with the seating area along with the plantings was enchanting. And the reservation staff was a delight to work with (no I am not being paid by them!!).

Each morning we had a great breakfast that was included at a local restaurant.

Neve Tzedek is in a great location - a short walk to Jaffa, a short walk to the beach (and the section of the beach with a huge park and water sprays for the kids) and even a short walk to Shenken Street and the bi-weekly art fair / flea market. And the restaurants and the shops were great.

The only shortfall I'd say about the neighborhood is that the streets are very narrow and at points the sidewalks vanish so pushing two strollers around was slightly hazardous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Varsano was exactly what we were looking for in Tel Aviv -- a stylish alternative to the big beachfront hotels. The large suite perfectly accommodated our family of five. Clean, hip, comfortable, and perfectly located in the funky Neve Tzedek neighbourhood. The Varsano isn't cheap -- comparable to the big four star hotels -- but much more suited to our tastes. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperjoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

we came to varsano for w weakend in the nd. we are a couple with a 2 years old son.
we live in israel so we knew were we are going. newe zedek is one of our favorate placed in tel aviv. vearsano is very well located in the middle of newe zedek.
the suit is brightening white, spaced, well desined. the pictures dont lie, .
but...
we ordered a crib for our son (2y. old). when we arrives they gave us a voucher for a breakfest for us only, only after we explained that a child desereve a breakfest too and demended we got an extra vaoucher.
the breakfest is served at dalal resturant and is great.but for every little they charge extra, like adding bakon or cheese to the omlet, which is usually regular in every 3 stars hotel in israel.
at the room the kitchen has everything in it, but again, you get great esspresso machine with expenssive capsules,but then you find there is no milk in the room and we had to buy milk.
the soabs, shampoo and toals are also high quallity but were also for couple only and not generous , we needed to ask for more few times in only 2 days stay. the last thing to add is the check out time. although we came only for a weekend, and asked to get a late check out in advance (as we arrive) we had to leavw at 1200. over all an excellent place but we would expect the mangmant to work on the small details that make a different for the price of one night in varsano.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzafrirsanderovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
#47 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
#19 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.3 mi away
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
2.0 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsano Hotel

Address: 15, Hevrat Shas St. | Neve Tzedek, Tel Aviv 65148, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varsano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsano Hotel is located in the unique Neve Tzedek neighborhood, making it the perfect vacation spot. The hotel itself is built on a historical ground, in the oldest part of Tel Aviv. Only a three minute walk to the beach, Neve Tzedek has a fine selection of boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and romantic bars. Our suites capture Tel Aviv's modern, Mediterranean essence, while our concierge service will care for your every need. Enjoy the convenience of a luxurious, full service home away from home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Varsano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing