We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Italian gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucina Tamar - CLOSED

Cucina Tamar
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A hidden Italian gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to this place with two of my sons for a Friday evening meal. The place is small and somewhat hidden in an old part of Tel Aviv. We found it to be a great culinary experience - wonderful food, fine wine and spirits selection, very good service. I can recommend the Sardines and Artichokes salad for appetizer. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, intimate atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant is one of my favorites in Tel Aviv. Good italian food and attentive service, in a non pretentious easy going place. The space isn't grand or 'designed', but the fresh ingridiants and authentic tastes are excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isik s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best italian meal we had,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

even in comparison to Italy..
we ate almost only first dishes - every one of them were excellent.
very nice atmosphere. the location doesn't fit the place...
don't miss it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dana2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good food, as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had been at Cucina Tamar before, but it was a while since i went again. Not because the food was bad - on the contrary - but because it was overly priced. So this past Thursday (11 July) I decided on the spur of the moment to go again. As always, the food was very good, and the prices are still somewhat high but not as exorbitant as they were couple of years ago.. I guess they didn't jack them too much... Now they also have an English menu which they didn't have in the past, although the wine menu in English is not up-to-date.... All around, this is a highly recommended place. You'd probably need a car or taxi to get there, 10-minute drive or less from the beach area (off rush hours).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, VERY good deal at lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

You have a good deal for lunch - free salad buffet, with mineral water, lemonade and sparkling white wine as much as you want, at the price of the main course. We had the Ravioli and beet Pasta, both were really good!
Everyone was really nice, it's a small restaurant and Tamar (the owner) was actually there, and spoke Italian to one of the guests, which means that she really is connected to the Italian food, and that Italians come there to eat :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Tamar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing