We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-But We Wished We Stayed Elsewhere”
Review of Mapu 18

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tel Aviv
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mapu 18
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location-But We Wished We Stayed Elsewhere”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We arrived at the Mapu 18 apartments at 1:30AM. We had no information on how to contact the apartment management so we were completely lost. Finally we managed to get into contact with them and got into our apartment. If we didn't have a cell phone with us we would have had to sleep in the street. The apartment is modest in its furnishings. You have to clean the apartment yourself if you want it clean. They don't do laundry. There is no telephone so you better have a cell phone with you. Israel does not have queen sized beds and these apartments are no different. The elevator is tiny so if you have a lot of luggage it can be challenging to get it up to the unit. The air conditioning is almost useless. I can't imagine what it would have been like if we were there in July. The bathroom is not great. The shower stall "interesting". Towels are worn. There are no amenities in the bathroom other then a bar of soap and toilet paper. The kitchen is modest but functional. Very minimalist. Once you reach the managers/owners they are reasonably helpful. The location is great!!!! Could not be better. All in all, very disappointing and pretty uncomfortable.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank selkirkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

small studio, with a bathroom that "communicated" with the room...
old and quite abandonned building
you could hear sound from other rooms
not as clean and tasteful as it looked from the site
quite central place
we could rate it better if it was at least cheaper!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Not a hotel, just a small group of apartments on the same floor. We knew that. We booked here after having seen the photos and some reviews on Booking.com. Truly, we were in shock of the condition the Suite was. Clearly, very poorly maintained and not very clean. Although we had booked for a Studio and got a free "upgrade" to a Suite, I am really wondering who wrote those "excellent 9.0" reviews on Booking.com. Very, very, small bedroom, cheap Ikea furniture, tones of mold on the shower. Obviously, the only positive aspect was the strategic location from the beach, the big space of the living-room and the good and free wi-fi access. We also got a free of charge very late departure from the apartment--very fair enough.

After having a chat with the kind owner, Amit, complaining that the photos on Booking.com had no relation with reality, he kept on insisting that this was the best he had--and we had got what we saw!!! For the money we paid, it was supposed be value for money... But, I wouldn't mind paying double that amount...if we could have avoided the mold in the shower and the general feeling of dirtiness in the apartment. All in all, if you intend to spend only 8 hours for sleeping and no frills stay for the sake of beach proximity, go for it. But If you are a hygiene freak... double check it with the manager before.

It's sad when a business relies on a certain competitive advantage--location and proximity to the beach that was--and leaves everything else on luck.To be honest, that is the case with many other hotels in TLV, too. I don't like to complain, but i hope a realistic review will only be for the better for this kind owner and his business.

TLV, however, was awesome!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

In short, we absolutely loved Mapu 18. The apartment was clean, spacious, had a modern yet homely feel and contained a full kitchen which came in handy. The apartment is located in a block of flats close to a main road but we heard no traffic. It is a short walk to the beach or to shopping options/restaurants in the opposite direction. The owner was very friendly and offered a few suggestions for food etc. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashion_victim_no_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Inexpensive and not purely. After arrival, we are washed the floors, dishes, toilet and sink.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serge777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I am frequently travelling to Tel Aviv and mostly on business. I have stayed in many hotels in the city and I must say that I had the best experience at Mapu 18 Beach Apartments.

After reserving my Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment on Booking.com website, I have received an email from the owner explaining me on how to get to the apartment and how to get my keys despite of my late arrival. Once I got into the apartment I had to say "WOW"! The apartment was beautifully furnished, completely new and very clean. They even left in the fridge 2 bottles of mineral water which was a nice gesture after a long flight!

The location of the apartment cannot be better. It is just 3 minutes from the beach, 30 seconds to the closest supermarket. On Ben Yehuda Street where the apartments are located you can find everything that you may need. From a laundrette, to convenience stores, pharmacy, bank machine, restaurants, cafes - everything at the door step of these apartments.

I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Tel Aviv! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninUKManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Mendeli Street Hotel
Mendeli Street Hotel
#16 of 100 in Tel Aviv
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#46 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prima City Tel Aviv
Hotel Prima City Tel Aviv
#59 of 100 in Tel Aviv
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dizengoff Suites
Dizengoff Suites
#62 of 100 in Tel Aviv
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
#61 of 100 in Tel Aviv
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLV 77
TLV 77
#52 of 93 in Tel Aviv
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapu 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapu 18

Property: Mapu 18
Address: 18 Mapu St, Tel Aviv, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re traveling to Tel Aviv for business or pleasure, our brand new spacious studio apartments are just for you. These units come fully furnished with all amenities included. They are located in the center of Tel Aviv, next to the city’s main shopping, entertainment and business areas, and within walking distance of the city’s gorgeous beaches.These apartments are ideal for business people, young couples, single travelers, small families or 2-3 friends wishing to share accommodation. Being a stone’s throw from the seaside promenade and close to the new beach boardwalk, visitors can easily enjoy the numerous shops and seaside-view cafes situated along those areas. As the sun sets, Tel-Aviv's exciting nightlife begins. Nearby are a variety of bars, nightclubs, restaurants, cinemas and theaters. If you’re just looking to unwind after a long day, you can always take a stroll down the promenade and enjoy the sounds of the sea and the pleasant evening breeze. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing