We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Israeli Fast Food”
Review of Yotvata Ba Ir - CLOSED

Yotvata Ba Ir
Cuisines: Thai, Israeli
Restaurant details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Israeli Fast Food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Israeli chain of fast food. Healthy but not particularly interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    14
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoresh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fresh and healthy”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

we had breakfast and it was good, fresh and a feeling of heath. nice place in fron the sea

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DavidSzeinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full and big breakfest”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

U know 2 branches. on the beach and in Azriely Center. good breakfest, croudy, net that begin in arestotant in Yotveta kibutz on the way to Eilat. nice but not excellent.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackYavne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Yummy food at a bargain price”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Tel Aviv isn't cheap....but my daughter and her boyfriend who live there know the secret of using Groupons and we feasted on our last visit to Yotvata. The food was plentiful...excellent pasta and salad dishes. Make sure to leave room for dessert....the waffles and ice cream dishes are to die for. This one is in the Azireli shopping center...there is also one near the American Embassey on the beach....we went there for breakfast and couldn't finish it. Very Israeli offerings. Make sure to hit one of these places on your trip to Tel Aviv...your wallet and stomach will both be happy

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The worst service I've "enjoyed" in a very long time. Poor food as well”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The first sign of a mistaken choice was the unpleasant cheap cafeteria food smell when we entered the place. We chose this place because of its reputation as a decent kosher dairy restaurant. Wrong!

The waiter was so incompetent I was sure there were hidden cameras and that we were being filmed for a comedy show. The first sign of trouble was when he brought three menus for a group of 7 and when I asked for more he said that there weren't any. It's a huge restaurant which was mainly empty so how likely was that? He intimated that people must have taken menus (as souvenirs of a crappy meal?). When I insisted, he scrounged up a couple more English menus and some Hebrew ones.

We asked for water all around and three beers were ordered. The beer came but the water didn't until ten minutes later I asked for it again (now, please). Our poor waiter seemed frazzled and had a hard time taking our orders which he wrote on a placemat (don't they have order pads?) folded into four (which he did clumsily in front of us). He read back our orders and still managed to get them wrong. (It would be much to complicated to go into the incredible confusion that reined inside of his poor head causing him to get so mixed up with our orders.) Salads with no dressing trickled out over the course of the next 15 minutes and the water also came eventually. When we asked for dressing he seemed surprised and professed to being a little too busy to deal with us promptly (there were two other tables of customers in our section). Salad dressing eventually came as did our orders, again, trickling out at the speed of slow mud. Perhaps they have a cook like the doormouse in Alice, who has to constantly be woken up to do some work. Half of us were finished our meal before the last person was served.

Most of us were too polite and exasperated by the service to complain about the food. My dish of pasta with sweet potato and cream sauce was floating in a sea of very thickened cream (go easy on the cornstarch, cook) and few sweet potatoes. There also seemed to be some cucumber peel that fell in, presumably by accident when the somnolent cook was making the salads. One of my companions had a mushroom lasagna which came in a boiling hot dish but the food itself was cold in the middle and overly salted. The onion soup came without the traditional topping of baked bread and cheese and when we asked about it, the waiter offered to bring out some cheese and croutons. The soup, which was just a broth, came last. Go figure--all the drowsy cook had to do was ladle it out of a pot.

The waiter apologized for the service and promised to treat us to something at the end of the meal. When the end came and no offer was made, I asked what he wanted to treat us with. He asked what I wanted. No, I replied, it's up to you to offer something. One of the diners ordered cappucino and a cake--this it seems would be the treat. One dessert for one diner. When I pointed out the inappropriateness of this offer, since we all suffered from the bad service, the manager came over and was surprised that we all wanted some small compensation. He asked what we wanted. Again I pointed out that it was up to him to offer. (How much brain power does it take to offer coffee or tea and dessert to a disgruntled but still polite group of people?) In the end it got so complicated that no desserts were ordered, no treat was forthcoming, and we asked for the bill. When it came, there were mistakes, (we were charged for four beers when only three were ordered). The waiter wanted us to pay and then he would somehow discount us. We insisted on receiving a corrected bill. At the end of the meal the heavily pierced and tatooed shift manager came over and gave us a mini lecture on the necessity of leaving a tip because the staff are not paid salaries and earn only tips (an illegal practice in this country). Since gratuities are divided among the entire staff, he admonished, the entire wait staff would suffer if we didn't leave a tip. Those of us who understood Hebrew (the staff spoke no English!) were totally floored. One of our party paid the bill and two of us left some tip at two different places on the table. When we got up to leave the waiter came over the check to make sure we left a tip and complained when he saw some coins at one place (but not at the other). Just to top off a less than stellar restaurant experience, two chatting, oblivious busboys standing in the doorway blocked our path and didn't even move aside when we said excuse me and tried to pass through. The sound of the staff laughing behind our backs followed us out of Yotvata Ba Ir.

Don't go there.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haifasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yotvata Ba Ir also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing