We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in Tel Aviv”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I recently stayed a total of 3 nights in the Port Hotel in Tel Aviv and had a wonderful experience. Location is great: 3 minute walk to a small, excellent beach, and lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The room was small but functional, bed very comfortable, a/c worked great. Included Breakfast was limited [by Israeli breakfast standards] but did the job: salad, fruits, cereals,toast, pastries, yogurt & cheese. And I definitely want to single out the front desk staff. They were terrific! Consistently responsive, professional and courteous but also friendly and engaging - and VERY helpful, from recommending restaurants, to local directions to wake up calls, etc. In particular, Eden made my last day and night there a pleasure, going th extra mile to help me out. Overall, an extremely satisfying stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

First, the location was excellent for getting around and for being near the port and other good places to eat. It was truly great to be so close to the Mediterranean. Second, the staff were the most helpful of any of the 7 hotels we stayed in during our visit to Israel. The hotel was by far the most affordable appealing hotel in Tel Aviv, a very expensive city for hotels. The rooms were nice, although on the small size, but the bathrooms were enormous and very nice. Quiet rooms. Beds were adequately comfortable. Breakfast was a disappointment, especially after being told about how extensive Israeli breakfasts are, but of course, you get what you pay for. Plus, who needs to start off the day with an overload of food? I would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, and there was no outdoor noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellow65mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel, very warm welcoming to Tel Aviv. The room was very clean and so was the rest of the hotel. It's quite, cofortable, pretty and in a fantastic location-we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiemooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just came back from a splendid three day vacation. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel considering the reasonable rate. The lobby, dining room, room and bathroom were immaculately clean. Service was friendly, helpful and prompt. Breakfast is continental - great coffee and lacks nothing!
The location is perfect, 3 minute walk to the beach, in the center of all the chic clothing stores, beauty parlors and every type of culinary genre you are interested in experiencing. Area is young, hip, vibrant and surprisingly quiet.
Drawbacks, small room and no view.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yigmic .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Port Hotel management was very difficult to deal with and we will not return there on future occasions. They have not learned that in hospitality, the customer comes first.

We had booked, and prepaid, for one night (which was the length of our stay). Initially, we booked through the hotel's website, hosted by a 3rd party. When that failed to go through, we booked instead through Expedia. On check-in, we confirmed this with the receptionist who acknowledged the error and apologized for the confusion. After checkout, we were contacted by the Port Hotel management telling us:

"On Friday 30.5.14 you had a booking under your name, from Inisrael website.
In addition to that it appears that you had another booking, booked through Expedia under a different name: XXXXXXX - there for the Port Hotel held 2 rooms for you, each one was booked through a different website under a different name.
Under a Meticulous examination and after a review of our terms of conditions Im forced to charge you for an additional night (for the booking that was made through Inisrael). Would you like me to charge the card you gave wile booking the room, or do you prefere to provide a different card?"

We explained that this was an error due to the failure of their 3rd party provider, Inisrael. Clearly, we wouldn't book 2 rooms for 1 night. Rather than acting reasonably in that instance, the hotel, without authorization, charged our card for a second room. We had to resolve this dispute through our credit card provider.

POOR customer service, POOR systems, POOR management

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ricemm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, General Manager at The Port Hotel Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay.
The incident you mention underwent complete clarification.
The Port hotel can only be responsible for booking made directly through the hotel.
In this case you booked 2 rooms under different names from two independent online booking agents.
The Port Hotel only have 21 rooms, and the hotel save two out of the 21 at your request.
Even though you didn't comment on the hotel itself we do hope that your stay was enjoyable.
Wishing you all the best.

Hagit Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A short walking distance from the Port, this hotel provides good accommodations for budget-minded travelers. Rooms are relatively small and lack adequate storage space for more than one luggage. Ask for a larger corner room when making your reservation. A small back-yard garden behind the hotel building is an excellent place for eating breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger corner room when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Few things make me as happy as a really comfortable, convenient hotel room and Port Hotel made me downright giddy.

The staff was always polite and friendly, whether at the front desk or in the dining area. The room was small but comfortable and clean, with all the conveniences that I could have needed (blow dryer, tv, alarm, tons of outlets, good lighting, etc). The bathroom was a nice size, well-stocked, and also clean. I can't overemphasize the importance of a clean bathroom to me.

Breakfast was a nice size and I always filled up, though it seemed there wasn't much variety from day to day. However, I only stayed for two nights, so that didn't matter much to me. It was filling and tasty and I took full advantage.

Their little garden patio was a particularly nice touch and I enjoyed breakfast out there every day. In the evenings, I would take some time to read on the rooftop patio, which I found really relaxing and enjoyable.

The location was fantastic, and I walked to everything I needed.

The only negatives were quite insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but I'll mention them anyway. The window of my room led out directly into the windows of the adjacent building, so I had to keep my curtains shut for privacy. The carpet in my room seemed a bit old/worn, but then it's a dark blue carpet and would probably look a bit old/stained even when it's new. That's about it.

I'd definitely stay here again when visiting Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tns777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.4 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#37 of 103 in Tel Aviv
943 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gilgal
Hotel Gilgal
#57 of 103 in Tel Aviv
381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Peer Boutique Hotel
Peer Boutique Hotel
#65 of 103 in Tel Aviv
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#71 of 103 in Tel Aviv
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel 75
Hotel 75
#39 of 103 in Tel Aviv
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
AL Boutique Hotel Tel-Aviv
AL Boutique Hotel Tel-Aviv
#77 of 103 in Tel Aviv
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Tel Aviv

Address: 4 Yirmeyahu St/corner Od Hayarkon St, Tel Aviv 63507, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $132 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel Tel Aviv 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV, located in a prime location, on the corner of HaYarkon St and Yirmeyahu St, 1 minute walk from the renewed Tel-Aviv Port and its numerous restaurants, clubs and cafes and only meters away from HaYarkon Park, the biggest park in Tel-Aviv. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our friendly staff will welcome you here and give you the best personal service and will assist you with anything you might need. You can use our complimentary, fully equip, Meeting Room or to go up and chill in our lovely Rooftop and its Sea view. From here you can go anywhere using the vast public transportation options available nearby. Come and enjoy the best Tel-Aviv has to offer. We are waiting to welcome you here. THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Port Hotel Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing