We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but didn't meet the expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but didn't meet the expectations”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

According to the reviews I expected something better that what I found. The hotel is conveniently located but there is no load/unload parking area. I´d suggest them to reach an agreement with any of the nearby parking lots to give such service to their guests.
Rooms are small but comfortable; however, those facing the street are noisy and cold. The windows are not well insulated and blankets are missing so you may be cold. Also I felt like towels were missing as I only got a small towel as a bath towel.
The staff is friendly and helpful, they helped us on every request we made. The breakfast is just ok but enough according to the price you pay for it. I missed more fresh fruit. The person who takes care of the breakfast room is helpful and very kind.

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the street or the construction building close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at The Port Hotel Tel Aviv, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Firstly please accept my apologies that the Hotel not meeting your expectations.

Let me also apologise for the blankets and towls were missing These are certainly not acceptable in our Hotel and both issues have now been rectified.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be well located.

I thank you once again for your comments and I do hope that you will return to the hotel.

Best Regards

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    167
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
166
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days for the first time during Dec 2012.
I had a great time, the stuff was nice and the hotel looks new with very nice rooms.
On top of that it’s a great location close to the biggest shopping centers and the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We looked for a good value near the Tel Aviv action, and found it in this cute boutique hotel. To sum it up:

PROS: Great location right near The Port, very comfortable beds, clean room, quiet. We also enjoyed the rooftop porch for reading and relaxing in the December sun.

CONS: Breakfast is included, but was very disappointing. Israeli hotels are known for their breakfasts, and this was a bit too basic...not even boiled eggs. We also had a view of an empty lot with garbage....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalileeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were looking for a clean, small friendly hotel in Tel Aviv for a 2 week stay.
Port Hotel is an excellent choice. The price was right; the staff very accommodating; the location is excellent and parking at a reasonable price was close by.
It is small in size but an excellent choice for us.

Zevi

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zevi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

location is great, service was efficient. It was very clean.
good bargain.
I enjoined the stay very much and I will recommend it.
Had a lovely time in hotel and local amenities.
This hotel is still well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moses l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at The Port Hotel Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments; I am delighted that you found the hotel suited to your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
352 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Reception was efficient and courteous.

The lobby is a few chairs in a hip setting, black carpet with white highlightshighlights. Rooms small but clean.

Location is in a dead part of town far from the beach. Found the new port complex for dining and walks a few hundred meters away to the north.

Free bicycle to use and could reach Carmel in 20min.

Girl night duty clerk was on phone most of the time. Could not get her by phone. Needed to go down to the lobby.

Pleasant morning breakfast attendant made up for the chatty clerk.

Ok for short stay but not comfortable for longer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at The Port Hotel Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the hotel.

Please be assured that your comments have been noted and action has been taken to resolve these issues.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel was not in a "downtown" area, per se. But the location was still very good. The port area has lots of restaurant choices. Free bicycle rental is really appreciated, but they look a bit ill-maintained. We actually rode our bikes along the shore line all the way to Old Jaffa. Took us about 35-40minutes. Not too bad, but it can get a bit tiring under the mid-summer sun. Just be sure bring plenty of water. Our room was very clean. Decor is a bit plain though, especially the washroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avonord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at The Port Hotel Tel Aviv, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Best wishes,

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.4 mi away
The Embassy Hotel
The Embassy Hotel
#36 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#71 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
#51 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port and Blue TLV Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Center Chic Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Tel Aviv

Property: The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
Address: 4 Yirmeyahu St/corner Od Hayarkon St, Tel Aviv 63507, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel Tel Aviv 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV, located in a prime location, on the corner of HaYarkon St and Yirmeyahu St, 1 minute walk from the renewed Tel-Aviv Port and its numerous restaurants, clubs and cafes and only meters away from HaYarkon Park, the biggest park in Tel-Aviv. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our friendly staff will welcome you here and give you the best personal service and will assist you with anything you might need. You can use our complimentary, fully equip, Meeting Room or to go up and chill in our lovely Rooftop and its Sea view. From here you can go anywhere using the vast public transportation options available nearby. Come and enjoy the best Tel-Aviv has to offer. We are waiting to welcome you here. THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Port Hotel Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing