We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Delicious”
Review of Benny Hadayag

Benny Hadayag
Ranked #247 of 1,637 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Cuisines: Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun & Delicious”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

By the sea it has a very nice atmosphere. Staff is quite friendly, appetizers are free of charge if you order a main course and very tasty. We've ordered a grouper for 4 as the main course and it was delicious!!! Vine menu was adequate. I would recommend it to anyone:-)

Helpful?
Thank Nilay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    78
    29
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

7 of us wandered in and had dinner here without reservations and thought we had landed in heaven. The fish was wonderful, the salads plentiful and the service could not have been better. In deference to those noting they did not speak Hebrew, we had one of us who could so perhaps that matters, who knows, but our server was pretty fluent in English anyway.

My experience here was awhile ago, so take my comments with a grain of salt. II mostly wanted to note that TA also lists ":Benny the Fisherman" in the Old Tel Aviv Port as a separate, and much higher rated restaurant. Check those postings out too, because its the same place, just translated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rappongi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Value at the Tel Aviv Port”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not the best restaurant by far that we ate in Tel Aviv. It is very serviceable, and located right at the Tel Aviv port. Good salads to start with and some well prepared fish as well. We had grilled sea wolf and it was very tasty. Great view of the port, excellent people watching, and good value. If money is no object, go to Market Kitchen. If you are seeking value, Benny Hadayag certainly fits to bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant, right in the Old Port.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I were staying in a hotel a short distance from this restaurant. A friend had recommended it to us, and luckily it was in walking distance, so we decided to give it a try. It was a busy Saturday night, and we had to wait a few minutes for a table, but it was worth it. We sat at a table outside, right on the water. It is a very busy area, and there was a constant stream of people walking by (good people watching). The waitress was not so friendly, at first, but you could tell she was swamped. When we told her all of the good things we'd heard about the restaurant, she warmed up to us. She explained the menu, and said that you get 10-14 different salads (on the house), and that ordering appetizers really wasn't necessary. She was right. They gave us so many different dips and salads, along with bread. We couldn't get over the amount of food. For our mains, I had a grilled whole fish, and my husband had a mixed seafood plate, with shrimp, mussels and calamari. All of the seafood was PERFECT. It was the best grilled fish I'd ever had in my life. The menu said all entrees were accompanied by a baked potato. Ours were not, but we were so full, it really didn't matter. The wine list is mainly comprised of Israeli wines, and our waitress helped us select a nice bottle. We also had some nice mint lemonade. Overall, we were very pleased with this restaurant, and would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food good, service awful!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food was great! Some of the staff had no command of the English language and when we asked our server if she could get us an English speaking server, she was beyond annoyed. We do not speak Hebrew so the language barrier was a problem. Once we got someone that spoke English, we were able to order our meal. The other server was beyond rude, actually ignoring us. The service leaves a lot to be desired and personally even though the food was great, I would never go back. Bad service is inexcusable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benny Hadayag also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Benny Hadayag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing