We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is there a "0" Star rating?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #79 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Varies
1 review
“Is there a "0" Star rating?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Don't believe ANY positive reviews about this hotel. The location is Hell, and smells of strong urine. Parking is non-existent, and the one-ways streets in the area are maddening; it will take you at least an hour to work your way out of this area to get on a main Tel Aviv road. The reviews that state that it's close to the Sea are fakes. Period. RUN, don't walk, RUN to reserve a different hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AlSharifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    40
    13
    18
See reviews for
13
94
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at the Galileo for a week in October 2010. It is a small boutique hotel (only 12 rooms, I believe), on three floors. No elevator or restaurant, if those things are important to you. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are nice and clean, and the water pressure was great. More importantly, the staff is fantastic. They were so friendly and helpful with everything we needed. I loved the personal service. The hotel has a nice rooftop patio, as others have mentioned, which is a great place to chill after walking around Tel Aviv all day. Also, free wireless internet in the rooms which is a nice bonus for planning your day.

The Galileo is a block from the Carmel Market and right near Allenby Street. The area is vibrant, lively and urban. It's also a five minute walk from the beach. We would absolutely stay here again the next time we're in Tel Aviv. If you like big hotels with all the bells and whistles, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a lovely, intimate, comfortable and clean hotel in the heart of it all, don't hesitate to book with the Galileo.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dokchampa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

When you stay at a hotel for a month you really know if high standards are the norm. Well maintained and good location for a budget hotel in an increasingly expensive city. Staff super helpful, friendly and professional. Guy, the manager runs a tight ship! Daily coupon for coffee and a roll at a nearby good shop. Rooms, closets and baths are small though adequate--it is not the Ritz nor are the rates ! Ask for room away from first floor bar as sound proofing is non existent in the hotel. Nice roof top area to have a glass of wine and dinner. Bring your own--no service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Me and my wife stayed there for one night , it was great ! we are from Israel and we just felt like we were abroad . we travel a lot worlwide and this hotel gives you a warm feeling
none of the hotels we've been to are like that.
recomended 100%.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omri617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I was staying with my wife 10 days in Galileo hotel. We rented car ( Eldan works perfect) and were making daily trips to diffrent parts of Israel. Location of the hotel was crucial for us.
Hotel is pretty close to the main artery of Tel Aviv, so there is no problem to get out of the city even with the morning traffic. There is parking place next corner and several others places in the close neighborhood so it's easy to park. The cost should be 25 szekels.
In the evening you have a lot of places for eating. This Yemenite quarter is well known as a place that you can find good food for very reasonable price. Next good point is Carmel market full of fresh fruits and vegetables, fishes, sweets etc. Atm is on the next street (Allenby). Walk to the beach takes max. 10 min. Finally, location is perfect.
Staff in Galileo hotel is always willing to help. Nice, young people making also good atmosphere. Best regards to all of you guys!!!
You will find everything needed for living. All with specific local atmospher.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

although the standard room are small, the beds are great, and very clean rooms. the room with the jacuzzi is a really nice size. however the best part was the friendly staff and location. it is a very good travel value along with a great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

The room was VERY small, but I guess this is what you get in Tel Aviv for this money, as the city is extremely expensive. Otherwise the room was clean, A/C worked, the staff were very nice and helpful, I could borrow a hairdryer from the reception. They give you a breakfast voucher that is honored by a very nice coffee shop on the neighboring street - the pastries and coffee are great, you can substitute coffee for tea.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPelmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#84 of 98 in Tel Aviv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#86 of 98 in Tel Aviv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 75
Hotel 75
#25 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Mer
Hotel De La Mer
#77 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ness Ziona
Hotel Ness Ziona
#83 of 98 in Tel Aviv
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#69 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Property: Galileo Hotel
Address: 8 Hillel ha-Zaken, Tel Aviv 6330907, Israel (Formerly Galileo Mini Hotel)
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV, The most exciting, location oriented, budget place in town. Located on 8 Hilel HaZaken St, Only 5 Minute walk from Tel-Aviv's beach, surrounding with the newest edged clubs and hip nightlife, this location is best to sense the true vibe of the City That Never Sleeps. If you fancy to scout the hidden places of Tel Aviv, everything is a short walk away: The colorful Carmel Market, the Pedestrian zone of NaChalat Binyamin or the renewed Sheinkin St. With its boutique shops. You can also use the vast public transportation options available nearby. Each of our rooms features Comfortable bed, Working station, A/C, Cable TV, Coffee / Tea, Mini-fridge and a Safe. Our reception is manned 24/7 and our staff will assist you with anything. If you are looking for a small, comfortable, real value for money hotel with the charm and intimacy of a guesthouse, we look forward to welcome you here at THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing