We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tel Aviv
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Understanding Israel

Our group of 5 spent over a week with Assaf and he was by far the best tour guide we have ever... read more

Reviewed yesterday
ready2travel1
,
Sanatoga, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Amazing guide, amazing experience

Assaf was an amazing guide who really brought the Masada experience to life for us. Inspiring and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
jkusmanoff
via mobile
Read all 535 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tel Aviv
from $1,510.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $117.00
More Info
from $927.84
More Info
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
535
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
535
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food recommendations his knowledge tour guide in israel birthright trip answered every question biblical sites holy land life changing day trip an amazing guide dead sea israeli history deep knowledge west bank an amazing trip spent days great sense of humor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got back from an amazing family trip to Israel, and choosing Assaf to guide us was the best decision we made in planning the trip. All the glowing online reviews? Believe them. We’ve traveled all over the world, and I can say with confidence that Assaf was the best guide we have ever had.

This was our first visit to Israel; our main goal for the trip was to more deeply connect with the roots of our Catholic faith, but we also wanted to gain a better understanding of the rich history of this land and peoples, and of the longstanding conflicts that have beset the region. Food was also an important focus for us. And Assaf delivered on all counts. The trip was everything we hoped it would be — eye-opening, spirit-lifting, thought-provoking, and palate-pleasing.

Over five days we explored the country from the Golan Heights in the north to the Dead Sea in the south, and driving around with Assaf was like being shown around by a friend – a brilliant, articulate, thoughtful, funny friend. Everywhere we went Assaf provided historical and sociopolitical context for sites we were visiting, highlighting recurrent themes and tying together things we had learned at other sites. He is a lively, passionate, engaging storyteller, and his narrative was supplemented by personal anecdotes, scripture, humor, and even music. He was always ready with thoughtful, frank answers to our many, many questions. And at holy sites he gave us time and space to reflect and pray on our own. We really appreciated that he arranged for us to spend an afternoon in Bethlehem with a Palestinian guide he works with, Noor, who brought us to the Church of the Nativity and also the security wall, and gave us valuable perspective from one living on the other side of the wall.

On the practical side, Assaf made the planning of the trip very easy; he was great at communicating via email, and helped us craft an itinerary that covered everything we wanted to see. During the trip he was always professional and punctual, and was flexible in adjusting the itinerary if we had special requests that came up. We were very happy with his hotel and restaurant recommendations, and the Jerusalem market tour we took with him was a sumptuous and memorable way to cap a special journey through a fascinating country, led by a remarkable guide.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank habiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920assafb, General Manager at Boker Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Homer for such a detailed testimony of our experience together! I'm so happy that your tour was successful and eye opening. Thank you for these compliments :) Stay in touch assaf@bokertours.com and I hope to see you here again for another journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Assaf led my coworkers and me on a 1-day tour of Jerusalem, leaving from and returning to Tel Aviv. He was extremely knowledgeable and engaging, and did a great job providing both historical information and contemporary context. Would absolutely recommend to friends!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank meganlN3381HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920assafb, General Manager at Boker Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Megan, I'm so happy that your tour was successful and eye opening. Stay in touch assaf@bokertours.com and I hope to see you here again for another journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for the best tour guide in Israel, you need to hire Assaf Boker. We just returned from a two-week tour with Assaf throughout Israel. He is highly professional, incredibly knowledgeable and extremely personable and well-spoken.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank KNBG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920assafb, General Manager at Boker Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Ken. I'm so happy that your tour was successful and eye opening. Stay in touch assaf@bokertours.com and I hope to see you here again for another journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This was our first trip to Israel and we had the good fortune to be guided by this spectacular guide over the course of several days. We are a family with two children and toured Israel both as a family unit, and as part of a bigger group for a special occasion. Assaf skillfully led us through the country with his vast knowledge of Israel and the many historic sites visited. Assaf is a true gem. He is extremely knowledgeable, easy to listen to, funny, smart, personable with flawless English. Equally valuable, he is highly responsive and completely reliable. We exchanged several emails ahead of our meeting, and were so impressed by his timely follow through to any of our needs. It was a true pleasure to have met him and we wouldn't hesitate to work with him again. We have traveled to almost 50 countries and have worked with numerous guides before. Assaf stands out as one of the best guides we have met. It is absolutely no surprise that he has well over 500+, Perfect, 5 * reviews on this forum. He is the real deal, and you will be in excellent hands with him as your guide.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Wanderful808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920assafb, General Manager at Boker Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, I'm so happy that your tour was successful and eye opening. Stay in touch assaf@bokertours.com and I hope to see you here again for another journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

I've been on 20-25 trips to Israel and Assaf was one of the finest guides I have experienced. He is charming, very intelligent, extremely knowledgeable and his English is perfect with no accent! Our group was from 11 years old to 82 years old and everybody loved him. He made the many activities and sites interesting and informative for all. Anyone who uses him as a guide will be most fortunate.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank adaapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920assafb, General Manager at Boker Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Aada, I'm so happy that your tour was successful and eye opening. Stay in touch assaf@bokertours.com and I hope to see you here again for another journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews