We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness in late arrival”
Review of Old Jaffa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Jaffa Hostel
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Omer and Hanna give me a quick response for the information of my stay. And I can not forget his and her friendly reception and guidance for my late arrival. They give me a easy guidance for my late arrival, actually I arrived at 11 p.m. And they give me a perfect guidance for the tour of Tel Aviv and Yerusalem etc. I traveled Yerusalem, Jerico, Ein Gedi, Qumlan, Galilee, and Haifa etc. in this visit to Israel because of the good start at Old Jaffa Hostel.
But you can not expect the elevator in Old Jaffa Hostel for your excise to control your baggages. But you will be good if you have youth because Old Jaffa hostel is youth hostel. Thank you Omer and Hanna through this review. From Seoul, Korea.

Room Tip: Room is small, but old and romantic. It is really good for me. I don't know for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whechon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

I had a good time during my stay. The hostel is situated in a great, old building. It has two kitchen, from which on is on the rooftop terrace. The latter is a rather relaxing spot to hang out. Great view and many choices of furniture to sit on. Staying in Jaffa is definately worthwile, compared to busy Tel Aviv. During my stay it was Yom Kippur and the staff was incredibly helpful in letting me know what was or wasn't possible that day (and what I should or shouldn't do).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A very old hostel with a great terrace.the kitchen is on the terrace and you have many opportunities to sit there,you also can enjoy a nice breakfast there,hang you clothes.
the dorm rooms are very nice with old lockers,half a century old.but there are seperated in genders.
the private rooms are extraordinary,with nice little toilett and shower and wonderful furniture and a great a comfortable bed.
jaffa is a great neighbourhood,with lot to explore,you can hear the muizin in the morning and the evening.
down the street are a few very nice shops from young desingers,there are restaurants in the streets and sometimes live music.very cool place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabella_exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed there a few nights during my stay in Israel. After a terrible experience at HaYarkon 48 I had to find something else so I tried the Old Jaffa Hostel.

I stayed in the girls' dorm.where, eventhough there is room for 12 people, the guests were very respectful every time I stayed there. However, I do not recommend sleeping next to the window as you will be the first choice target for mosquitoes !

The showers are cleaned everyday but you'd better shower right after the passage of the cleaning staff as it can get quite nasty.

They have the most beautiful and amazing rooftop lounge with an openair kitchen available to all guests.

The staff aren't always the most friendly but overall I really enjoyed my multiple stays there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our room (B class) was like a little box, the walls are built around the bed. If you are more than 1.80m, forget this hôtel, Ceiling is really low. The bedding was dirty, and air conditioner was full of mushrooms and not working properly because Water were falling down from it, directly on our shoes, the only available place to put something... Bathroom was also dirty, stinky and the shower is a very small triangle where you can not wash confortably. Staff was not really friendly . The breakfast is really a joke, gelatine jam and Some slices of bread. The rooftop is nothing special, Plastic tarpaulin to cover it, and you see just a bit of the sea.

At least something positive, the hostel is located in old part of the city with nice restaurants and a nice beach not too crowdy around.

For the price (74$ for 2 people), it is really not worth to stay. To avoid, REALLY!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was staying in Tel Aviv for around 3 weeks and was staying in the dorm room. There is no air conditioning which is in summer is essential and therefore the room was boiling at night and in the day. The roof top terrace and its location are the only good parts of the hostel, the staff are very unfriendly and are rarely there. The staff are also very unaccommodating, and this coupled with their constant absence makes the hostel feel quite unfriendly. The prices compared to other hostels in Israel are also quite high and considering you do not get much for your money it seems a lot higher.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank Jamessss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have been for two nights, we arrived really tired and we have welcome in a really rude way. Bathroom are really terrible, you can't move inside so little spaces are. Room was so hot, the door on the balcon was broken and impossible to close it in order to avoid noises from the road.
And for breakfast you have to be in queue waiting so long for a slice of bread...
Staff unfriendly and rude. And moreover, if you know the past and story of this building, you unsìderstund why we MUST avoid this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thomas73Bari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 98 in Tel Aviv
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Overstay TLV Hostel
Overstay TLV Hostel
#16 of 98 in Tel Aviv
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#3 of 98 in Tel Aviv
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clock - Tel Aviv Jaffa Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#7 of 98 in Tel Aviv
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Jaffa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Jaffa Hostel

Address: 13 Ami'ad, Tel Aviv 6813931, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $23 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Jaffa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing