We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique hotel but lousy service and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Montefiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montefiore
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Montefiore has all it takes to be a superb boutique hotel, but the staff reek of pretentiousness and they lick up to all kinds of Israeli faux celebs, they forget us the ordinary people. Nothing justifies the room or restaurant exorbitant prices (except maybe to keep the proletariat away). They are by all means way too expensive for what this place really is worth. Being trendy does not justify rudeness or neglect and the high prices scare people away, (well at least me).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchLgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

I love this hotel. It is in a fantastic part of Tel Aviv (the White city). The restaurant is one of the best in Tel Aviv. The rooms are very comfortable. But most importantly, the staff is wonderful. They treated me like one of the family. I really never felt more comfortable in a hotel. I was on my own for five days in Tel Aviv. I know the city pretty well and have many friends and staying at the Montefiore made me feel like I was really living in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Montefiore on the last leg of our tour through Israel. What a great base in Tel Aviv. We walked everywhere! And when we weren't out and about, the Montefiore was the perfect respite. The hotel achieves the feel of a 1930s European hotel without compromising any of the modern conveniences and services guests expect. Even better, the hospitality was the best we had in Israel. Not to mention the coffee and the Tunisian eggs.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bryanfuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

In my mind they get everything right in this hotel. Lovely accommodations. Comfortable bed. Very nice bathrooms. Excellent food. Personal attention. Nice atmosphere.

A boutique hotel with just the right balance of everything.

Liked: Almost everything about it.

Disliked: No bathtubs. A little out of the way.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitzantagansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Montefiore for an extended period and really loved it. The rooms are very well designed - large comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms, nice little touches like treats waiting in the room when you arrive.

The staff were amazing - always welcoming, friendly and ready to assist with all requests, including going to the post office for me! The restaurant in the hotel is excellent - the design is modern, classic and food scrumptious. Again, the wait staff were so helpful and friendly.

The location is perfect, close to great restaurants, bars, attractions and quite close to the beach as well. And, if you're going to the beach, the hotel provides a beach bag with towels - nice.

An overall excellent hotel, I will stay there the next time I'm in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Montefiore in May 2010. We spent 2 great nights in the hotel. It is located in a very nice area of Tel Aviv, away from the mass tourism on the boulevard. The district is packed with great restaurants where stylish Tel Avivians go themselves. It is also close to Shinkin street, the premier shopping street of Tel Aviv with great boutiques.
The hotel offers services such as shuttle to the beach (including beach bag with sunscreen!), free DVD rental, valet parking, free WIFI (the only hotel we have stayed in in Israel offering this). The staff is helpful.
The room we stayed in was spacious and luxurious, with even a bookcase filled with all sorts of books.
The restaurant is very nice and has a cozy but stylish vibe to it. The outside drinking area is great, but be there early because space is limited.
Although not cheap, a stay in the Montefiore is definitely worth the pennies.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdbE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Best boutiquie hotel in Israel and on a par with anything ,anywhwere, No expense has been spared on the 12 rooms which are furnished to the highest degree,The thing which really stands out however is the service,absoluteley first class .The restaurant is top quality. All in all if you want a small ,hip.hotel,centrally located and you dont need a large lobby or a swimming pool,this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caronset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
The Norman Tel Aviv
The Norman Tel Aviv
#16 of 102 in Tel Aviv
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel & Lounge
Alma Hotel & Lounge
#65 of 102 in Tel Aviv
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
#18 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,023 reviews
1.3 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montefiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montefiore

Address: 36 Montefiore St, Tel Aviv 6520105, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $393 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montefiore 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Montefiore, an oasis of style. Hotel Montefiore embodies the essence of unparalleled luxury, intimacy and exquisite style in a picturesque, meticulously restored Eclectic architecture-style edifice in the heart of Tel Aviv, just steps from Rothschild Boulevard. Built in 1922, Hotel Montefiore first existed as a private residence before its three year restoration and transformation into its current incarnation, officially opening in June 2008 on Montefiore Street in the “Lev HaIr” district, or “heart of the city.” With 12 rooms dressed in elegant dark wood furnishings, a flagship Tel Aviv restaurant and a bar serving artisanal, classic cocktails, Hotel Montefiore satiates every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montefiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montefiore Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing