We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montefiore
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Cosy, unique, the real care for clients in a lovely location and trendy rooms. Impeccabile staff and a perfect location. Fantastic food at the restaurant. When in Tel Aviv why go anywhere else? The only problem is to find a free room. For advice on restaurants the staff isn't adequate. Make the choice on your own.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfieRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

The location is perfect. The service was great. The vibe is fun,young and hip. The rooms are very nice but small.another small complaint is that there is really no lobby or place to sit. It is really a restaurant with a small hotel above it. The breakfast was very good and the bar a nice place to have a drink. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My husband and I are even now returning from a trip to Israel, Jordan, and Paris, during which we spent our first 3 nights in Tel Aviv at the Hotel Montefiore. (For comparison purposes, we also stayed 2 nights in the Royal Suite at Taybet Zaman near Petra, Jordan; 3 nights in a Duplex Suite at the King David Hotel in Jerusalem; and our final 3 nights in a junior suite at the Westin Paris--Vendome in Paris.)

We generally prefer smaller boutique hotels, and we did very much enjoy the Montefiore. It was conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood with shops, galleries, and restaurants, and it was a decent walk to some sights of interest in the city (though we did take short cab rides to Jaffa and short drives with friends to the Port areas). It is a small hotel with 12 rooms upstairs and a lively chic restaurant/bar scene on the first floor. The clientele definitely seemed to be more designer chic than the city overall.

We selected the Montefiore largely for the above reasons--and because we live in a seaside location in Newport Beach, so the seaside Tel Aviv hotels were superfluous to us (and also generally more expensive and considerably larger).

Service and design were wonderful. Meals (both breakfasts and a dinner with friends in the downstairs restaurant) were great. I'd never had Turkish eggs until my first breakfast there, and they were delicious and different.

My only complaint is that the room sizes are a bit cramped for 2 tall American guys like us, who are used to junior suites and larger when at all possible when traveling together for holiday. For a single traveler, I'm sure the rooms would be more than sufficient. For us, it was the one drawback of the hotel--but not one that would necessarily make us avoid staying there in the future. I also personally found the air conditioning to be a bit on the minimal side, but to be fair it was December and few Israeli hotels even have the A/C turned on. (I am very sensitive to heat and always prefer sleeping below 68 F, and if our windows were opened we'd have suffered some street noise, so we had to deal with the A/C. For most, this might not be an issue at all.)

Our room was very nice--with a library wall stack of books on one side and a very comfortable queen bed and nightstands. There wasn't much room on one side of the bed, one of the drawbacks of our corner room location, perhaps--but we did have a nice long balcony on the backside of the hotel, overlooking a dull parking lot but still nice for taking in the cool nighttime breezes. The bath was very chic but a little dark, and lighting in the shower was largely non-existent. Sometimes, design comes with a price, but in this case it may just have been a less than stellar lighting design!

Overall, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff more than made up for these technical shortcomings. EVERYONE--from reception staff, bartenders, restaurant servers, maids, etc.--was lovely, warm, and wanting to help us at any step of the way. One reception staff member even ran down the street for me to pick up a pack of cigarettes, since I'd run out and was dying after my long flight.

In short, the Montefiore may not be for everyone--certainly not the individual or couple looking for a comprehensive luxury hotel experience with spacious rooms, grand facilities, etc. But if you are looking for a boutique property with a real flair for service and Israeli hospitality, the Hotel Montefiore is a sure bet. We most likely would always be pleased to return here on future trips to Tel Aviv, as long as we know the A/C is working properly!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Well I do travel and stay in many hotels ....but long time that I did not enjoy as much a place.
They call it Boutique Hotel !
The people are wonderful and very effective !
Rooms nice and restaurant excellent !
So ......a place to stay !!
:-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kluger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

During our 4 nights stay , staff was efficient , charming and smiling all the time.
Rooms are not big but with high ceiling, best shower ever in Israel.
Delicious non-buffet breakfast with the best bread we ever had.
A few negative points :
If you are a light sleeper ; you will need earplugs, and the beds are not King Size
No freshly squeezed juices at Breakfast.
We loved Montefiore and will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domperignon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

What a hotel. Totally 5 star. Staff attentive, quick and always friendly-nothing too much to ask. Rooms beautifully decorated, fresh gorgeous bedding, incredible bookshelf of varied books, fresh bathroom with lovely soaps/creams etc.
Breakfast, one of the best in Israel in our 2 yrs here.
Room service, quick and delicious.
Nothing to fault, would definitely come again. Worth every shekel paid!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Wow - French Vietnamese cuisine in Israel!!
The waiting staff were quite possibly the best I have ever had.
The atmosphere is just like a hotel bar in those Bogart movies (without the smoke).
Really nice intimate setting, there is also some seating outside on a small terrace,
Just about the best boutique dining experience you could imagine.
Try the beef salad - awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
The Norman Tel Aviv
The Norman Tel Aviv
#16 of 102 in Tel Aviv
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel & Lounge
Alma Hotel & Lounge
#65 of 102 in Tel Aviv
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
#18 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,022 reviews
1.3 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montefiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montefiore

Address: 36 Montefiore St, Tel Aviv 6520105, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#20 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $394 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montefiore 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Montefiore, an oasis of style. Hotel Montefiore embodies the essence of unparalleled luxury, intimacy and exquisite style in a picturesque, meticulously restored Eclectic architecture-style edifice in the heart of Tel Aviv, just steps from Rothschild Boulevard. Built in 1922, Hotel Montefiore first existed as a private residence before its three year restoration and transformation into its current incarnation, officially opening in June 2008 on Montefiore Street in the “Lev HaIr” district, or “heart of the city.” With 12 rooms dressed in elegant dark wood furnishings, a flagship Tel Aviv restaurant and a bar serving artisanal, classic cocktails, Hotel Montefiore satiates every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montefiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montefiore Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing