We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty bakhlava& shrimps”

Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #15 of 1,614 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty bakhlava& shrimps”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Tasty bakhlava& shrimps. We read about this place, that it's one of the perfect resto in Tel Aviv. Actually, this is good place both lovely atmosphere, tasty food, but not so delicious, as we expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yulia_Yulia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    246
    76
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Israel!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely meal. The appetizers included a delicious beef carpaccio (dark red) and raw tuna salad. Both were lovely. My beef fillet was cooked to perfection, as we're the accompanying veggies, all cooked together in the skillet. The daily fish (snapper) prepared with pasta was ideal, and my wife much enjoyed the tortellini on a bed of lamb stew. The squid ink pasta was equally delicious.

We didn't make a reservation, so they squeezed us in with 90 minutes to eat. We didn't feel rushed at all, although I'd recommend a reservation at this lovely Ben Yehuda restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly the best foodie restaurant in Tel Aviv, BUT….”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We "live" in Israel 3 months each year, and eat at Shila's several times. The food is OUTSTANDING, the service, although sometimes unreliable, is fine, when the restaurant is not packed (come early). This used to be our favourite restaurant.

But our BIG complaint is that the establishment is FILTHY. The glasses are always dirty, the tabletops filthy with old food..Staff give tabletops just a cursory rag clean..same rag for all tables, no soap or other cleaner used…often old food remains on the table from previous customers. UGGHH! We have brought this to attention of staff, who do not seem to care.
Too bad., because the food is truly innovative and outstanding
As well, tables are positioned so near to each other, that in some cases, you're practically sitting on the lap of people seated next to you. It's unpleasant.
The food is great…the experience less so.
Woiuld be nice to contact the restaurant by email, but e address not readily available.
Danny B

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurants should not become too famous”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It used to be a great restaurant and I wrote so a few months ago. How things have changed! The food is good, but not outstanding. The menu is the same but (at least at lunch) there are many items that are absent and you are invited to replace missing items for more expensive alternatives. Staff is pleasant and efficient. Prices not have gone down as the quality of the food falls.
What a sad state of affairs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robertozach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was better than average for Israel.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife had fish that she enjoyed, I had a risotto which was good, but not great. Make a reservation, this place is packed every night of the week. If you are kosher, skip this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing