We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal we had in Israel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar

Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #12 of 1,563 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Israel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I had dinner at Shila on the last day of our vacation in Israel. We decided on Shila based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor but the restaurant also happened to be conveniently located just a block from our hotel. Apparently we were very lucky to get a table for the same night, as the place was really crowded at 8 pm on a Sunday night. Both of us loved not only the high-quality seafood but the lively, relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant as well as the attentive, friendly service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marjokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    229
    73
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh fish feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Knowing a well connected local ensured that I was able to experience this fabulous restaurant which must be the best restaurant in Tel Aviv. We sat on the side terrace of this obviously popular restaurant taking in the sounds of this city. From the oysters; some of the best I have enjoyed anywhere in the world - and I know and love oysters! - to the white tuna carpaccio with crunchy fresh vegetable spring rolls, to the avocado tartare with pistachio nuts and finally the main course of a perfectly grilled red snapper on a wide ribbon pasta with wonderful flavoursome dressing. Truly excellent; will be one of those memorable meals I will recall for many years to come; one of the best. Staff attentive and friendly and it was a pleasure to meet the chef too. Don' t miss the opportunity to experience this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shila shines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sit at the bar counter and watch the superb cold kitchen chefs perform their magic. They are happy to chat to you too. Chicken livers are sublime, as well as the avo-wrapped fish tartare. Service is top-notch. Ask for their recommendations. Order a few tapas. See how much space you have left for a main course. Remember that Israeli portions are substantial. One of the best places to eat in Tel Aviv.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKittykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish carpaccio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Wd had an excellent dinner on a sat night - great fish carpaccio : we loved the tuna carppacio with eggplant and walnut tehina as well as the crystal shrimp carpaccio - friendly service and very nice athmosphere inside terrasse o the street might be noisy - do not miss the mabuli for desert

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great dinner experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fresh food, originality, finest meals, good wine selection and very good staff (nice, helpful, smiling..). The 2nd terrasse is really great and quieter than inside, but it depends if you're more on a relax dinner mood or on a more party and sharing mood with great music (inside)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Titenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing