We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fresh fish feast”

Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #15 of 1,596 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh fish feast”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Knowing a well connected local ensured that I was able to experience this fabulous restaurant which must be the best restaurant in Tel Aviv. We sat on the side terrace of this obviously popular restaurant taking in the sounds of this city. From the oysters; some of the best I have enjoyed anywhere in the world - and I know and love oysters! - to the white tuna carpaccio with crunchy fresh vegetable spring rolls, to the avocado tartare with pistachio nuts and finally the main course of a perfectly grilled red snapper on a wide ribbon pasta with wonderful flavoursome dressing. Truly excellent; will be one of those memorable meals I will recall for many years to come; one of the best. Staff attentive and friendly and it was a pleasure to meet the chef too. Don' t miss the opportunity to experience this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    240
    76
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shila shines”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sit at the bar counter and watch the superb cold kitchen chefs perform their magic. They are happy to chat to you too. Chicken livers are sublime, as well as the avo-wrapped fish tartare. Service is top-notch. Ask for their recommendations. Order a few tapas. See how much space you have left for a main course. Remember that Israeli portions are substantial. One of the best places to eat in Tel Aviv.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKittykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish carpaccio”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Wd had an excellent dinner on a sat night - great fish carpaccio : we loved the tuna carppacio with eggplant and walnut tehina as well as the crystal shrimp carpaccio - friendly service and very nice athmosphere inside terrasse o the street might be noisy - do not miss the mabuli for desert

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great dinner experience!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fresh food, originality, finest meals, good wine selection and very good staff (nice, helpful, smiling..). The 2nd terrasse is really great and quieter than inside, but it depends if you're more on a relax dinner mood or on a more party and sharing mood with great music (inside)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Titenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best meal in Israel!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had been touring Israel and it was our last night back in Tel Aviv. We asked the hotel where to eat and they said we will call and make a reservation at Shila's around the corner. My wife and I sat at the bar and watched the chef's prepare the food and this place was hopping!! Food was excellant, service was better! We both had fish on risotto, mine was a
grouper, her's was snapper. We split an appetizer of seared tuna. An absolute MUST GO!! not cheap but worth every shekel!! I would put this up against ANY resturant in DC!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shila - Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing